We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and comfortable”
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
denver
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rustic and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Ponderosa's willing, friendly staff and homey accommodations make this a nearly-hidden gem. Lots of pines, hummingbirds zipping by, a fair amount of history and low highway noise allowed us to get some great nights sleep. Their hot tub is ready, coffee in the morning is hot and a smile is for you whether you have a request for a recommendation or you're just checking in. The cool temps in the morning make waking up a treat.

Room Tip: Consider upstairs in the main lodge, with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldmustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    45
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
42
54
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Happened to stay here by accident. Needed a room for one night; only place available. Elizabeth at the check in was very helpful. All staff was very nice. Overall it was a nice lodge experience. Remember this is a lodge within a country atmosphere. Water pressure was good, and hot water was plentiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devileye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We just spent one night at the Ponderosa Lodge almost by accident. Everyplace else was sold out and this was about our only choice. Room was very clean, Murphy Bed was comfortable, shower pressure was good, and falling asleep to the sound of the water from the river was beyond relaxing. The room was a perfect size for a couple. There was a comfy chair and a table and chairs.

Staff was super friendly and helpful. We didn't use the hot tub, but did sit out on the patio chairs outside our room to enjoy the view of the river. The in-room mini fridge and microwave make bringing leftovers home easy.

We're headed back with our daughter for a long weekend in August and we will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllisFan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I visited while we were in Estes Park for a wedding party. We had visited with our Kids and my parents about 20 years ago and had great memories. The great experience was verified! Our host, Josh, could not have been more accommodating. We had a beautiful room with a balcony right on the Fall River. Many of the resorts are in the Fall River Canyon and can't help being near the road. The Fall River runs between the Lodge and the road, so the road noise is drowned out by the sound of the cascading river - a beautiful sound of nature. The rooms are well appointed and a nice size, with a sitting area, refrigerator and microwave. We had a wood burning fireplace, which added to he ambiance. Everything has been renovated since we last visited. Estes Park downtown, restaurants and Rocky Mountain National Park are all within 5 minutes. It won't be 20 years again!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a regular bed - some have Murphy beds. they are all on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I loved staying at the Ponderosa. Josh was a great host and gave us tips on where to eat & visit. The room was very clean and had 2 windows overlooking the water. The room was good sized. The bed was comfortable, heat worked well. Bathroom towels were nice and thick - Laura Ashley brand if I recall correctly.
Next time I am in Estes Park, will most certainly stay at the Ponderosa. I had a great experience. I'm not sure where all the negative reviews are coming from, I have no complaints at all.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This "lodge" is a mix between an OLD roadside Motel 6 and the Bates Motel. It is close enough to the highway to hear and see all the traffic. The room was super tiny, with the worst mattress I had ever slept on. The sheets were old and of poor quality, which did at least match the quality of the room. The room was very warm and stuffy but we were not allowed to open the screen at night, due to the invasion of wildlife...no AC either. The owner is a strange little man, who brags of his "advanced degrees," which is great but all he really needs to run a lodge in Estes is a cheerful personality...which is apparently not taught in College. Now, none of this would be so bad if we hadn't spent $120+ per night to stay there. Check out time is 10:00am which seemed early when I made the reservation over the phone, but we were packed and ready to go by 8:00am....since we hardly slept a wink on the worn out mattress. Paying anything over $50 per night is overpaying...There are lots of choices in Estes..think long and hard before staying at the Ponderosa Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank maountaingirl914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

First of all I was checked into a room other then the one I paid for, when I was checked into the room the room was filthy full of trash, dirty toilets, dirty linens. The kitchen wasn't fully stocked with coffee, cream, sugar and necessities, etc. The evening was very unpleasant I have children sleeping on the floor and there was mice running all over the place. I was promised a discount for being put into the wrong room and the commitment was never fulfilled. As far as the front desk, owner and staff goes they were very rude because the owner and representative Josh never fulfilled their promise on the discount, Josh was very rude and discourteous and just kept saying the person that I made the reservation with should've never did what she did instead of just taking the initiative to correct mistake and fixing it and apologizing for their actions a company and as a whole. I strongly recommend that no one stays with PONDEROSA LODGE They are very distasteful and don't care how much money and time a person puts into researching different motels, lodges etc and come to a decision that includes them in your stay my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponderosal, Owner at Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Though this review was written a year ago, I thought it was time to respond. In the 22 years I have owned the lodge, I have overbooked a unit three times. Unfortunately, this was one of them. When the conflict was identified, the group was offerred their money back, or the choice of another unit. The unit which they selected was a cabin, larger than the one they had booked, and recently remodelled. The remodel had been completed just a week or two before, and thus was "nearly new". The statements about the condition of the cabin are inaccurate. Further, they received a gift certificate, though mailed a day or two later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#18 of 78 in Estes Park
224 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park
Ponderosa Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing