We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, ambiance, charm, history, it doesn't get any better.”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Our friends go here every year and we were lucky to go with them for our first time. If you are looking for a Marriot/Hilton type stay where everything is brand new and modern, then this is not for you. The craftsmanship in the Stanley is amazing, built in 1906 with only hand tools, it is easy to see the pride and workmanship in every beam. The history behind the Stanley is rivaled by no other, and thanks to our tour guide, Kevin, we got an in depth, entertaining hour and a half tour telling all. The entire staff was great and eager to please. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant, WOW, the filet mignon and scallops were the best I have ever eaten, and what a better way to start the day than with an elk sausage omelet! The only down side is we didn't book for at least two nights, but there is always next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirkman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like you enjoyed the perfect getaway! Come stay longer next time! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,590 - 2,596 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

For the age and local of the place, very clean and well maintained. If you do stay in certain rooms, expect the unexpected. And don't think things only go bump in the night. We had quite an early morning experience. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Thanks, Stanley.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srvfndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Excellent service and Fantastic Food is a wonderful compliment. We enjoy offering a great experience- hurry back please! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was our second trip to the Stanley Hotel and it was even better than the first time we went. We got a really good rate through Groupon from the Denver area. The entire experience was professional and very friendly. Reservations were a breeze. The front desk people were excellent. The Cascades restaurant was wonderful. The scallops and the fillet mignon were done to perfection and the wait staff were wonderful. Everything we asked for was given with a smile. Shout out to Kevin our ghost tour guide. He really had a lot of info and you can really tell he loves his job an the Stanley Hotel. Loved the trip an will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sithsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

We take great pride in offering the best in historic lodging. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My wife and I travel to the Stanley at least once a year, usually more. It is our Anniversary Favorite Get-a-way. Don't be concerned about things to do in the area. It's hard to NOT find fun things if you enjoy History, National Forest, Roaming Elk, and Small town feel.

I don't know if Ghosts are your Cup of Tea, but they are to us. We have had many contacts with unusual activities and have taken pictures of apparitions (not merely Orbs). The Hotel has a great Ghost Tour as well. We can assure you that any time you spend at the Stanley and Estes Park Colorado, will be well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichDeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Exploring Estes Park can be a wonderful time! So happy to hear you enjoyed our history. We love to share our story !
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience- we appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We checked in on Thur had the entire front veranda to ourselves, enjoying a beer and beautiful weather. The lil town of Estes Park is not entirely inhabited this early in the season. The only drawback was that in the lobby of The Stanley stood an advertisement for several different ghost tours of the properties, the problem was that even though advertised, we were told the tour we wanted to do was not being given until summer! RUBBISH! Should not advertise what is NOT available, We would have paid the price for the tour or even did the standard ghost tour with additional 'Concert Hall' tour that was advertised but not offered. This time we responded to an offer of stay with us and receive an 'EMF' detector, even with this premium the stay was less expensive than the last 2 stays since we did not request a 'haunted' room. We have stayed in 217 and 401 each of which cost double what our stay this trip cost. The haunted rooms are a treat if you are into that sort of thing, after being in a normal room I'm a bit partial to the haunted rooms and will plan on staying in the Manor House's haunted room next time. We spent 3 nights prior to the night at The Stanley in a hot-tub cabin for 2, shopping and eating at all the fine establishments that were open this time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon_Plonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

Thank you for your continued business. The early spring is a great time to visit Estes Park. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to your 4th stay with us! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The Stanley is absolutely amazing. From the friendly staff, comfortable rooms, to the beautiful mountains views from the large porch. Ive been to the Stanley 6x now& plan to go back once i visit CO again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexi3443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

We are so happy to hear about your AMAZING stay! We appreciate your feedback and your business and can not wait to serve you again soon!

Thank you,Thank you,Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I love this place. The staff was wonderful and went well beyond their line of duty. The hotel was fantastic and made me feel at home. I wish I could have stayed longer. That is why I am going back in June! I would highly recommend this place to everyone. We went with our 3 girls; ages 9, 12, and 13. They were highly entertained and welcomed there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

Thank you for the kind review- See you again in June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £131 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing