We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best anniversary we've had.”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This was the best anniversary we've had.”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I booked our rooms at a substantial discount during the free National Park Week promotion. We were upgraded to a nicer suite and the service we received was amazing. To stay at the Stanley was on my bucket list and it was well worth the dream I had.The ghost tour was a hoot. Those who fail to enjoy it just need to do it again with a new perspective and enjoy it for what it is....a RIOT! We had a great time. Loved Rocky Mountain National Park, the beautiful city, the elk roaming around everywhere. I'd go again tomorrow....and yes, during the middle of the night my husband's computer bag went flying across the room. Haunted? Maybe!

Room Tip: Go during a special event time in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coloradoknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Happy Anniversary!
Thank you for choosing the Stanley Hotel to celebrate your special day! We are so happy to hear this was your BEST anniversary ever and that you enjoyed amazing service- makes us all smile from ear to ear here at the Stanley. We hope to see you again next year!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    706
    397
    222
    101
See reviews for
592
1,137
75
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My girlfriend and I had a delightful "girls" retreat while our respective husbands were out of state. I had always wanted to stay at The Stanley and it was NOT a disappointment! Would do it again in a heartbeat and have already told my husband we need to go there for our anniversary. The historic charm and ambience create a fabulously relaxing atmosphere and we particularly enjoyed lounging in the oversize chairs that evening by one of the fireplaces in the lobby. I highly recommend the ghost tour as well. That was very informative and fun. If possible, request "Scary Mary" for your tour guide. Nothing scary about her. She is lovely, knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor!

Room Tip: Request a corner suite on fourth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victorian923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Thank you for sharing your "wonderful experience" with us! What a great idea for girls night out, we are so happy you had a great time! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We recently spent one night at the Stanley and had a great time! We stayed in the Manor House and had a great room with amazing views of the mountains. The property was well kept, and beautifully restored. We had room service breakfast which was great! We felt like everything was a little pricey, the room, drinks at the bar and breakfast, but it was worth it for a special occassion. I look forward to going back to the Stanley in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Looking forward to seeing you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2011

My Grandson and I go to the Stanley Hotel for his birthday each year. This year was even better than last. Our stay was perfect and t food in the restaurant was outstanding. I am already looking forward to next years stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Happy Birthday from The Stanley! So glad to share your special day with you!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

If you are looking for a posh hotel and a restful night sleep, don't go here. If you are looking for adventure and just being a bit scared, this is your place! We decided to go to the Stanley for something a little different. Seeing this historic hotel on Ghost hunters, youtube, and featured on the travel channel, it sounded like an experience. I highly recommend taking the ghost tour BEFORE you stay. You will learn a lot about the history, how The Shining was inspired, the "sightings" and the Stanley's who seemed like great people. If you want a large room, pay the higher price; if you don't care, stay on the 4th floor. It's the floor with the most "complaints" of children playing, voices, the feeling someone is there, etc. yet the rooms are really small. The beds are really soft and the hotel is pretty noisy mostly due to the creakiness of the floors and the fact it is old! Overall, it was a great experience and something I recommend you do at least once. The architecture is hand-carved, most is original, and is amazing! You might be scared but you won't be disappointed! If you dare, stay in room 217, 403, or 401. Happy haunting : )

Room Tip: Call 1-3 months in advance to reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoHiker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
We love our amazing history as well ! We are so pleased to read about your positive experience.! There is so much to experience at our historic hotel! Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We recently stayed the 17th & 18 of March. Upon arrival there was a small problem with the room we had reserved. The staff (Jessie) was very accomodating and gave us keys to look at different rooms. After discussion, we settled on room 1302 in the Manor House, and had a great stay, even though the room seemed excessively hot. It was manageable by having the windows open.
The Manor House is very charming, room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. It seemed as though we were the only guests, since we didn't hardly hear anyone during the entire stay.
Walking through the Stanley Hotel and seeing the great care taken to restore/keep it preserved was breathtaking and appreciated. We had a Ghost/Historic Tour on Saturday before we departed and Conner was a great tourguide! He was engaging and made the tour fun as well as provided quite a bit of history.
All in all the stay was enjoyable, and I fell in love with Estes Park. Seeing Elk in the front lawn was fun, and around town. Walking downtown and visiting all the shops and stores is a must.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Hello from Estes Park!

We are pleased to learn of your enjoyable stay with us a few weeks ago. It sounds like you had a great tour, excellent service, and enjoyed exploring Estes Park! Thank you for the review and the valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravois Mills, MO.
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

From the time you go around the curve and see this magnificent hotel you are in for an experience. The staff very accomdating, food good, and view is wonderful. The rooms are exactly what you would expect for a historic hotel and nicely decorated. We were on the 4th floor and the view was great. Room service was fast for your morning coffee. The ghost tour was good but the Ghost Hunt was the highlight of my 3 days there. The 5 hrs for the hunt went by rapidly and so much fun. I'd do it again. Hopefully we, my daugher and I can go back and do it all over again. We went middle of March, would like to go in summer to see all the greenery. What a great time we had.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you !
It sounds like you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed yourself! Nothing makes us happier than to hear " Best experience I have had in a long time". On behalf of the entire staff we are pleased to have served you, thank you for choosing our hotel, and please hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
451 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing