We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous, friendly and luxurious place to stay”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A gorgeous, friendly and luxurious place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed two nights after a family reunion in South Dakota. Would loved to have stayed longer and plan to come back one day. The historical aspect alone makes the trip worth it and if you like ghost stories, even better. Stephen King was inspired to write The Shining after his stay in Room 217 and the Stanley Kubrick version plays in the room 24/7 (although it wasn't filmed there - the miniseries was).

The hotel though is not at all spooky. It has the most welcoming, friendly feel. It is not air-conditioned but the mountain air is so delicious you do not need it!!! At night it gets cool so bring some warmer clothes. Days are hot and sunny with a lovely breeze. You can leave the windows open at night and just let the mountain air cool the room.

The food at the restaurant is delicious but a bit on the pricey side. The town of Estes Park has many nice choices for food if you don't want to pay hotel prices.

While I was checking out someone came up and asked for a rate card. The receptionist told him that there were 20 kinds of rooms - from the smallest up to the Presidential Suite and rates change depending on when you stay...so make sure you ask questions when you book. The 4th floor rooms are smaller - they were originally used for nannies and children (it is also said to be the most haunted floor). It seemed to be a little hotter up there.

The pool is nothing fancy but it was heated and has an 8' deep end, which my boys liked.

It is also pretty hopping on the weekends when there are weddings going on.

If you like a Grand Hotel in exquisite surroundings, history and ghosts...this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask questions about all their available room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverlight99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on our history and that welcoming, friendly feel that you describe is what we hope to give to each of our guests. Please come back and visit anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    705
    396
    222
    101
See reviews for
592
1,135
75
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hotel needs a major overhaul from the inside. There is no A/C. You can hear people walking because the floor sqeaks. Sink does not drain well. I expected way more for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thanks for sharing your concerns. We are currently undergoing a large renovation project and hope that you will plan to make another visit with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have lived in Colorado for 30 plus years and make a visit to the Stanley every few years. The Hotel is about the best now that I have ever seen it.
Here are my positive observations: Staff is trying very hard and succeeded in being professional and helpful during my visit. Good interaction with room service, front desk, bellman, key repair man and observed a lot of staff cleaning porches etc. around wedding reception.
Had a room on the the third floor facing East. Incredible sunrise and view of the lake and full moon over the lake that took my breath away. The views from the Hotel such as the front veranda looking at Long Peak are to remember all your life! Room very clean and everything in working order. Huge deep bathtub, with very hot water! Loved it!
Downside: Parking lot very crowded with wedding guests in addition to tourists. At check in time there was NO place to park. Finally after driving around for 15 minutes getting desperate, a Hotel employee came and directed me to park in an illegal zone. From my window, I could see that parking was a challenge for guests until about 7:00p.m.
No airconditioning and room was extremely hot with no breeze blowing which is kind of unusual for Estes. Finally started to cool down around 8:00 p.m. but was heating up next day by 9:00a.m. Ceiling fan helped but the temperature of the room could be an issue for some.
In summary, The Stanley has an aura of its own. Some aspects will be irritating. Its not like a 5-star Resort. There are quirks like the doors that don't always work with the key card. But for a visit to yesteryear, creaking floors and all, it can't be beat. And at night with all the lights glowing, it appears like a cruise ship on the side of the mountain. I will keep going back even with the flaws.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacaranda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us what you liked about your stay! We are happy to hear you make it a point to return to our hotel every so often. We know that parking can be a challenge during our busier times at the hotel and are currently attempting to find a solution for that concern. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

It was definitely worth staying once to take in the history and picturesque views. Take a tour if you are so inclined, look at the Stanley Steamer in the lobby, check out the door of room 217 and watch the Shining (which shows 24 hours on a channel of your in room TV). But be aware it is an older hotel, without air conditioning, noisier rooms with less soundproofing than most hotels and sparely finished rooms. If you can adapt to these type of things, and haven’t been to the Stanley before definitely go. The next time I'm in town I probably won't stay here, but I'm glad we did at least once.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crescoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for visiting our hotel. Although our historic property does not have air conditioning, the cooler temps that we typically have in the mountains often make it unnecessary. We hope that you will consider another visit with us sometime, maybe in the fall when the temps have cooled down and the scenery is breathtaking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were disappointed with the room. We travel extensively, and know what a $330 room should provide, and this was not even close.

-- Door latch is flawed so that door key did not work most of the time.
-- Room is unappealingly decorated and arranged. Faded black bedspread does not match anything. Furniture is oddly placed. No place to sit other than the desk chair. Huge room which lacks an armchair and ottoman. Weirdly placed picture over the bed. Looks like an 8yr old decorated.
-- A/C was nonfunctioning.
-- Bedsheets are cheap and do not fit or stay on the bed.
--Only 3 towels for 2 people, of barely adequate quality.

This is more a $130 room, so we figured $200 is the premium for general Stanley upkeep. And the hotel is nicely kept up. We enjoyed dinner and sitting on the veranda for drinks. But we could have done that without staying there, and will never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay with us. We are currently completing a large renovation project which should address these concerns. We hope you will consider giving us another try in the future. Your opinion, and your business, is very important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was my second stay at The Historic Stanley Hotel, and I intend to stay again when I am in the area. The hotel itself is just gorgeous with all of it's history and charm. The property is lovely as well and the surrounding area of Rocky Mountain National Park is breathtaking. The staff at The Stanley go out of their way to pamper their guests and make you feel welcome. The restaurant is wonderful too. For those of you interested in the history or the paranormal...the ghost/history tour is a must. Lots of fun!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babeinpalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to give everyone an unforgettable experience at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to tell us we did a good job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We had read about the Stanley, but never stayed there. What a rush! The setting is idyllic and the service is first class. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lock219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing