We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I would give this 3.5 stars if possible. I really enjoyed my stay here mainly for the experience of the old historic and "haunted' hotel experience. The views and location are fantastic for a Rocky Mountain National Park adventure. The rooms were comfortable but old and maybe not what some would expect for the price and experience at other luxury hotels. The service was very good and really went out of their way to help me out with specific requests. It is a busy hotel and there are lots of ghost tours happening during the day. Anyway, as long as you know you are staying at an old/historic hotel and not a new, all the bells&whistles modern hotel you should be very pleased. It's hard not to enjoy what Estes Park has to offer in general in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    705
    396
    219
    100
See reviews for
590
1,134
75
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

There were several weddings on the weekend and even on a Monday when we were there. In addition to those many tourists, perhaps hundreds of people a day take the ghost tour at this hotel which was a good tour, but led to an uncomfortable number of people wandering the hotel halls day and night. I was glad I had requested an upgraded, quiet room where the tours wouldn't pass by as I think there might be a security risk with all those ghost hunters wandering around with cameras and recorders. The gym was useful for bodybuilding and card, the pool quite nice but some shade umbrellas would have allowed one to lay out and rest for a spell without fearing sunburn. Staff was attentive, however I had a problem at check in where I had reserved the most expensive room and then been assigned a much lesser room. When I returned to the desk we were promptly moved to the quality of room I expected and had paid for. Also, the hotel is extremely noisy, could be the famed ghosts, could be the wind hitting a very old, creaky building. Whatever it was it was difficult to sleep due to the noise.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade, request it and make sure you are getting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for your helpful comments about our hotel. We are sorry to hear you had a hard time sleeping. We discourage people from wandering our halls after a certain time and our security guard is very prompt in answering calls from concerned guests. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed in the Stanley around Christmas when the hotel was essentially empty. I don't know how to describe the beauty of the grounds in winter but it was surreal. The hotel's lobby will have you gazing at the decor until someone at the desk kindly offers to help you. The rooms are antique and furnished in 19th century style. It's like going backward in time.
The restaurant is top-notch and there is nothing I would critique.
My only warning is: Watch out driving around the parking lot! Steep gradients and polished ice are no joke. 5 MPH is way too fast. If you choose to ignore my caution, bring a shovel and tow rope.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steel-N-Water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
We do have beautiful and generally mild winters here in Estes Park. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antiquebeak
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

From the pics of the hotel I assumed it was atop a mountain all on its own but it's actually the centerpiece of a very busy area. The grounds are beautiful but the rooms not so much. For the price (over $300 a night) the hotel is lacking in basic amenities like hair dryers, coffee makers and full length mirrors in the rooms (I had to stand on the toilet to see myself) and the bathroom lighting is very poor making grooming a biit tricky.The beds were VERY comfy and the lack of A/C wasn't a problem as it cooled down nicely at night. Internet was included but breakfast was not - not even coffee - so we walked down to the village Cafe each morning. We didn't experience any haunts but did receive excellent service from the staff. A beautiful hotel to be sure with great views but not sure it's worth the price.

Room Tip: Be sure to go into town early as the traffic is terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed the during a week of extreme heat and humidity. The rooms are small, and we were lucky, as we had 2 windows to help provide ventilation, along w/ a ceiling and floor fan. The screens did not stay very well in the windows, and we had to prop one window open w/ a 2" board. However, no one gave us any advice about the west sun/heat and the rooms. We discovered on the 2nd day, that if you close the room darkening draperies late in the AM, and leave them closed until after the sun sets behind the rocks in the afternoon, that you can keep your room somewhat comfortable. Also, keep the ceiling fan running all of the time! The bathroom had something to be desired, but it was functional. Some basic caulking and maintenance would be nice. The staff was very nice and accommodating on all requests. The spa-keep in mind that this is a "world renowned historical hotel"-does not have the ability to take care of acrylic nails. I had to find someone in town who could help me. Inconvenient for the guest. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are well-kept, and it appears that weddings/functions are run well. We ate in the dining room only once, and the food was good- albeit, expensive. Overall, I'd stay one night for the experience, but would find a more modern hotel that is a bit more economical. If you are into architecture, history, or ghosts/Shining, then you definitely have to stay at least one night, and do a Ghost Tour.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, and one toward the end of the hall, near the outside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. So glad to hear you enjoyed our history and architecture. We are having a hotter then normal summer up here in Estes Park, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Hope to see you up here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

First time staying at the Stanley Hotel - got teased at work about staying there with all the "ghosts". We had no ghost stories to report. The hotel is old, creeky but very cool looking. Elevator was old fashion, small and a bit creepy but fun. We stayed on the second floor and had a view of the lake and mountains. Very pretty. No air conditioning and yes a ceiling fan but it was still a bit warm in the room. Had trouble opening the windows and called for assistance, guy was in our room within 5 minutes. Bathroom was actually very nice, beds were very comfortable (we were in 2 queen room in main building). We did eat at the restaurant Cascades twice, once for dinner which was okay - and again for breakfast which was amazing. People were very nice and overall enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Advance reservations - they book up in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My wife and I went for a couple days to relax. Hotel is old and we expected the rooms to be small. The outside of the hotel and the hotel lobby are very nice. The rooms are OK. From your room, you can hear all conversation in the corridor but did not hear any noises from adjoining rooms.
The hotel obviously makes its living off "The Shining" and ghost tours. Hotel staff were pretty good. Unfortunately, I can not make the same statement for the restaurant and bar staff. We had dinner which was OK and spent 30 minutes for our bill afterwards. Went to bar to find out what happened and the bartender was a complete jerk. DONT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of your recent visit. We take pride in our quality service in all areas of our hotel, including the restaurant. Your concerns will be addressed with the restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing