We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DONT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We checked in on a Saturday night the hotel had several weddings that night there was no place for us to park we had to park along way away and tote our luggage ourselves because they didnt have a bellman on duty then we were kept up till after 3AM by all the drunk wedding guests screaming,yelling and throwing up outside and since there is no ac we had no choice but to leave the windows open. then the next afternoon there was another wedding and the bride was taking pictures on the main stairs(for over half hour) and we were told to go around to the second floor entrance to get to our room at that entrance we had to wait for all the TOUR guest to come through before we could get to our rooms, I thought the rooms were a little pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjung-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. We do our best to ensure a quality guest experience and regret that we did not meet your expectations. If there is anything we can do, please do not heistate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    681
    375
    202
    95
See reviews for
566
1,084
72
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
correctionville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at to Stanley on Aug. 2 and took the ghost tours which I would highly recommend the person giving the tour (Wayne) was very entertaining. As for the Hotel it is a overpriced property for what you get for a room, I have stayed in much nicer Hotels for far less. If you are coming to the hotel to just visit it will cost you 5 dollars just to park, Here a hint to bypass the charge, instead of turning right and coming thur the main gate and stopping at the gate keeper to pay your 5 dollars, drive the other way thur the service entry drive to the left to the parking lots, you won't be charge or checked. We did dine the night in the dining room very nice but still very overpriced food, the service was slow, and the food was cold and undercooked, we complained to the server and to the front desk with no avail, small portions
big price. We ended up going to the Mcdonald's down the hill after supper for a cheese burger, and I hate fastfood, but it filled the void. The Stanley is a great place to take photo's but till they bring their price's down we will not be back. Thanks for your time Tim

Room Tip: Book 7 nights in advance to get 25% rate, or stay on the weekdays which are 15% off the rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
It's good to hear you enjoyed your tour. Wayne is one of our best tour guides. Sorry to hear, however, that you did not enjoy the rest of your stay. If there is anything we can do, please don't hesitate to contact us. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I thought the Stanley was a cool place to visit with the history and nostalgia but a ghost tour can get you more than a $400 stay. Be warned there is no ac at the Stanley and guest rooms ate on the upper floors...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
So glad you enjoyed your tour with us. We are sorry to hear that the lack of air conditioning in the hotel was an inconvenience. We are having a hotter than average summer up here in Estes Park. Typically, a couple of open windows and a mountain breeze solves the problem. We hope to see you for another visit during one of our cooler months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I have been to the Stanley a few times over the years. The last time I went it was from a Groupon offer and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is always very busy. They do a lot of weddings and people from all over the world come to stay there. The property is old so things like air conditioning would ruin the integrity of the building. The walls are thin so you here people coming and going down the hallway. That being said, the architecture is really amazing. Yes the prices are high b/c it is touristy but they take good care of the hotel at least. The restaurant is very expensive but there is nice looking strip mall within walking distance that has a safeway grocery store, subway, mcdonalds, etc and lots of elk hanging out in the parking lot. We always go downtown in estes park to one of the local restaurants and get dinner. It is really not that far and Estes park is beautiful if you where ambitiousness enough to walk. When you stay that the Stanely, make sure you get a room that is not over the bar and restaurant. Try and get a room on the third floor on east side (away from the front desk and bar at any rate). The tour is fun and some tour guides are better than others. Each tour guide approaches the tour in a different manner- some tell ghost stories and other focus more on the history of Stanely family. It is a great place to stay for history buffs and just taking in the architectural aspects.

Room Tip: request room away from bar and restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cotravelfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thanks for your comments! We're glad to hear you liked the architecture and historical ambience of the hotel. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Room was very stuffy; no closet/hangers (or hooks) for clothes; no hooks for towels (missing on back of bathroom door, and only one across from sink; no holder/caddy for soap, shampoo, etc. in shower; no screen on window; no cover plate on sprinkler in bathroom; bathroom door hinges need oiling, and door does not latch; only one thin rug in bath, which was stained and snagged - same was true for several bath towels; you advertise internet access in the rooms, but there is no place to set a laptop; lighting is poor (only one lamp)... need I say more? I've traveled extensively in the states and Europe - this hotel barely ranks as a 2-star hotel... I dare say a Ramada Inn has better amenities. This is a complete rip-off for $250/night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wagonerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make this better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were excited to be staying in the beautiful and historic Stanley Hotel. Upon arrival we were pleased to be greeted by such a friendly and professional hotel staff. When we checked in, they recommended visiting the tour desk to sign up for a Ghost Tour. Callie was very helpful and our tour guide, Connor, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Our room, 238, was clean, comfortable, well decorated & had a great view.

We had breakfast in the downstairs café and Liza went out of her way with her service.

The reason we can not give the Stanley Hotel a 5 star rating is strictly based on our server and her failure to show equal respect and courtesy for all patrons of the Cascades Dining Room inside & part of the Stanley Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 238 is front side, 2nd floor, and has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDeadVWBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The grounds and building are beautiful. For the price I would stay just one night for the experience. There is no air conditioning, and we paid $50. for two people to eat pancakes for breakfast and that was the cheapest meal! Coffee wass $4.00, no complimentary coffee here. Historic? yes, Interesting? Yes. Expensive for what you are experiencing? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amber5151d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We are sorry to hear that you wer not comfortable during your stay. We do our best to ensure that each guest has a wonderful stay, but it has been a very warm summer so far. We hoe you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Appenzell Inn
Appenzell Inn
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing