We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Being big stephen king fans my husband & I had to stay here! It was very fun! We took the Ghoust & History Tour (very fun). I recommend staying here just one night for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thanks for the nice comment and for the recommendation. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    682
    375
    203
    95
See reviews for
568
1,085
72
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

very cool and kept up well hotel. great tour. very interesting and SCARY

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you! So happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. Please come back for a visit anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our stay at 'The Stanley' was to be the highlight of our recent trip to the USA, but it turned out to be memorable for all the wrong reasons. We arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday after an 8 hour drive to find 3 weddings in full swing, nowhere to park & NO Valet service! I checked in whilst my husband waited in the car at the back of the hotel, after about 20 mins a parking space became available, we then got into an argument with another 'guest' over said space who verbally insulted & threatened to 'catch up with us' later. We spent the whole of our stay worrying about this & what he might do to our Hire Car. We did inform the hotel but they weren't really interested... Parts of the hotel were of limits due to the 3 weddings and 'Ghost tours' filled the corridors at every turn! We did find a quiet corner in the bar where the food & service were good. NO air conditioning in the rooms, there was a ceiling fan but it wasn't very effective. Noise in the corridor from the wedding guests till 2am!! (no,it wasn't ghosts!!) So if you still wish to visit this Historic Hotel, go in winter, on a weekday, & don't take a car!

Room Tip: Not on the top floor in summer, too hot & no air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank californiadreamer204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
It's good to hear you enjoyed your quiet little corner, but unfortunate that you did not have the quality of experience you expected. We are aware of the parking concerns and are taking steps to correct the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We loved the historic nature of the hotel and the location. It was unfortunate that the weather was quite warm, as our very small room was stifling. The hotel does not have air conditioning. We switched to another slightly larger room, only to be in the middle of the "tours". We'd open our door to find 30 people standing outside it. Additionally, there was only one bedside table. So no reading light or place for a glass of water on one side of the bed.

Our service on the porch for drinks and snacks, and in the restaurant for breakfast was slow but friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We are glad you enjoyed the historic atmosphere of our hotel. Sorry to hear the warm weather caused an inconvenience. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here with 2 girlfriends. We planned a long weekend getaway to this beauftiful hotel based on the history of the hotel and also hoping to get a little ghost hunt in as well. We stayed on the top floor and our room was very charming. We took the ghost tour which was filled with a lot of great stories and information and history about the hotel. We didn't see any ghost or have any of those types of spooky experience but it was well worth all the fun and hype to our weekend. We had supper in the hotel restaurant. The spa services were fantastic. if we ever are able to return, we would definitly book another massage! The staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed there assistance. which on our first night we did- we had left our bathroom window open and to our suprise we had a raccoon climb into our room. We were very scared, hide in the closed and called down for help. The staff member saved the day by shooing the raccoon back out the window. Tip: keep your windows closed :-) The Stanley Hotel is a beautiful hotel and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thanks for the kind words. Glad you had a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We checked in on a Saturday night the hotel had several weddings that night there was no place for us to park we had to park along way away and tote our luggage ourselves because they didnt have a bellman on duty then we were kept up till after 3AM by all the drunk wedding guests screaming,yelling and throwing up outside and since there is no ac we had no choice but to leave the windows open. then the next afternoon there was another wedding and the bride was taking pictures on the main stairs(for over half hour) and we were told to go around to the second floor entrance to get to our room at that entrance we had to wait for all the TOUR guest to come through before we could get to our rooms, I thought the rooms were a little pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjung-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. We do our best to ensure a quality guest experience and regret that we did not meet your expectations. If there is anything we can do, please do not heistate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
correctionville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at to Stanley on Aug. 2 and took the ghost tours which I would highly recommend the person giving the tour (Wayne) was very entertaining. As for the Hotel it is a overpriced property for what you get for a room, I have stayed in much nicer Hotels for far less. If you are coming to the hotel to just visit it will cost you 5 dollars just to park, Here a hint to bypass the charge, instead of turning right and coming thur the main gate and stopping at the gate keeper to pay your 5 dollars, drive the other way thur the service entry drive to the left to the parking lots, you won't be charge or checked. We did dine the night in the dining room very nice but still very overpriced food, the service was slow, and the food was cold and undercooked, we complained to the server and to the front desk with no avail, small portions
big price. We ended up going to the Mcdonald's down the hill after supper for a cheese burger, and I hate fastfood, but it filled the void. The Stanley is a great place to take photo's but till they bring their price's down we will not be back. Thanks for your time Tim

Room Tip: Book 7 nights in advance to get 25% rate, or stay on the weekdays which are 15% off the rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
It's good to hear you enjoyed your tour. Wayne is one of our best tour guides. Sorry to hear, however, that you did not enjoy the rest of your stay. If there is anything we can do, please don't hesitate to contact us. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing