We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at the Manor at the Stanley Hotel!”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
C Springs CO
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great stay at the Manor at the Stanley Hotel!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent two nights in the Manor at the Stanley Hotel and had a great experience! The Manor is a building east of the main hotel and it is just as nice as the main hotel but has a more intimate feel. The rooms were recently remodeled, in fact they were putting new carpet in the hallways while we there. A continental breakfast is included with your stay at the Manor, but it is not included if you stay at the main hotel. The breakfast is fantastic! Midge, the resident host is also a chef and specializes in pastries. She makes fresh pastires every morning and they are awesome!.

We had room 10 on the second floor and it had the best mountain views in the building. The room had a very comfortable king size bed, an arm chair, a work table, a full closet and a nice bathroom. There was a new flat screen TV hidden inside an armoir that also included 8 nice size drawers. The room was quiet and very comfortable.

I have stayed in the main building of the Stanley several times and I prefer the Manor. It is quiet and the views are just as spectacular.

Room Tip: The rooms on SW corner and on the SE corner on the 2nd floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COscubalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    716
    403
    228
    107
See reviews for
604
1,159
78
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is beautiful with lovely surroundings. Plenty to do in Estes Park and of course you're at the gateway to the Rocky Mountain National Park. The only issue we had, and I don't know whether it would be an issue to others, is the bed sheets were very coarse and uncomfortable. And, the room was very warm, we went in the beginning of May and our room was on the 4th floor. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a nice time and we will visit The Stanley again.

Room Tip: Bed sheets were coarse and uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend and we had a great time. The staff members at the check-in desk were all very friendly and helpful when we had questions about tours, restaurants, etc. We took the Stanley History/Ghost tour and really enjoyed it. The cost for the tour is $15/pp and we thought it was worth it, as our guide had a ton of interesting information and stories. For those of you who ghost hunters, they also have a 5-hour long ghost hunt tour for $50/pp. We were told that the 4th floor is the most haunted in the hotel, and of course there's room 217 where Stephen King got his inspiration for the Shining. The only complaint I had was that the room was a little warm, so we had to leave the window open all night, which caused the door to rattle until we shoved a towel under it. Other than that is was a really cool hotel and we had a great time staying there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are a little smaller, but a little less expensive. We didn't care ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMore1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

The staff was a little stuffy and its a little pricy but overall a great experience. Very vintage and sometimes enjoyably creepy. The shining plays 24/7 which awesome. I've been there twice.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JP90106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This historic hotel is a must see for anyone visiting Estes Park, Colorado - the gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park. There is even an old Stanley Steamer car in the lobby! Definitely sign up for the ghost tour - it is well worth it! Dinner in their restaurant after the tour was very delicious and it is nice to see elk on the hotel's property! You will spend several delightful hours doing something unique by your visit. Definitely turn on your Ghost Radar app while visiting - you may encounter some strange experiences! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel - but took the ghost tour and ate lunch in the restaurant - both excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I visited the Stanley Hotel during the weekend of April 13th-16th, 2012. We were there for a large event and the hotel was full. We ended up staying in the Manor House which is just steps from the main hotel. Our room, 1309, was a small suite. The living room area was nice with a sofa, chair and large flat screen tv. The bedroom had a king sized bed and another large flat screen tv. The bedroom was on the smaller side but the extra space in the living room made up for it. My only real issue was with the bathroom. It was very small which didn't bother me but the lighting was completley inadequate. A small desk or vanity with a mirror added to the living room would make a big difference.

Most of the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only excetion were the young women working in Steamers Cafe who on two separate occasions seemed to be bothered that they had to wait on us. We also overheard them making comments regarding the event and some of the guests and speakers which probably should have been saved until they were in private.

We didn't eat at the hotel because the menu didn't appeal to us and the prices seemed a but high but it was nice to have th option if we chose to stay in. The bar is well stocked and a nice place to relax with a drink.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the beautiful and historic Stanley Hotel and the ghost stories made it all the more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend staying there a least once for the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. If you're more adventurous, request a haunted room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a great getaway weekend, enjoyed a ghost tour and learned a lot of history about the 100 year old hotel. In spite of a wedding happening as we checked in, our registration went smoothly, and the festivities did not interfere with our experience. Our hotel room was clean and well cared for. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was helpful and courteous. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a quality experience.

Room Tip: Haunted rooms 212, 428, 401 and 407 may or may not produce chilling experiences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
463 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing