We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanley Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak To Peak Lodge(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haber Motel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appenzell Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,764)
Filter reviews
2,764 results
Traveller rating
1,106
814
457
258
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,106
814
457
258
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourstephen kingcascades restaurantwhiskey barbeautiful hotelthe main hotelfourth floorhaunted roomghost huntersparanormal activityhaunted hotelscary maryconcert hallgreat historybucket listnight tourhotel tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,429 - 2,434 of 2,764 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My fiance and I live in Denver and after visiting The Stanley for the first time decided we wanted to make it our wedding destination. We took a tour on a Saturday, loved the hotel and wrote the event planner on Monday to say we wanted to book and ask for the contract. All along, we had informed her that every single one of our guests would be coming into town for the wedding (less than 10% of our guests are local) and we would need to reserve a lot of rooms on Friday and Saturday as well as their Presidential cottage. I asked during the tour and following if we would be ok taking a little bit of time to decide the number on our block and I was assured that would be fine. TWO weeks later I received our contract with a nonchalant side-note in the email informing us that the hotel had been sold out to a group on Friday, so we would not be able to have any rooms. When I said this was a huge problem and asked what our options would be, we were told we could have guests stay at a different hotel Friday and then move over on Saturday. Unfortunately due to limitations beyond our control we are restricted to the date and in the three weeks it took to receive a contract and this information and realize it wasn't going to work, some of our other venue options had booked.

Even if this buy-out came completely out of the blue and booked in a matter of time that was too short to notify us, which I doubt was the case, there was still zero compassion for our situation. We did not even receive a proper apology and a real look into some other options until we got the manager involved. We do now, however, feel this was a blessing in disguise. After telling our story to others, some just familiar with the hotel and some in the hospitality industry, we were informed multiple times that The Stanley is notorious for their lack of customer service when it comes to weddings. Not the feeling you want to get when planning one of the most important days of your life and hopefully a place you can go back to visit year after year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Stanley Hotel and we assure you that our intentions are always to provide the best possible service to each and every one of our guests. We apologize for the unfortunate situation with regards to the guestrooms you requested. I apologize for any inconvenience you received during the event negotiations and contract processing. We want you to know that we take each review very seriously and will strive to better our policies and procedures going forward. After further negotiations, we were able to release the standard allowance of guestrooms for your event, as we discussed. It is very unfortunate to hear that we will not be hosting your special day, as we understand you have decided to chose another venue after this consideration. We have adopted a new verbiage to explain and discuss our Event Space and Guestroom Release Policy that will be implemented immediately to ensure that we can accurately communicate the policy to all potential clients. We wish you all the best for a wonderful wedding day and hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your trust again. Thank you! Carrie Carter, Catering Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our 2 night stay at the Stanley was exceptionally pleasant. We stayed in room 219 next to room 217 where Stephen King stayed. Room was comfortable, room service with fresh coffee in the morning was very prompt. Champagne and truffles with our hotel stay along with dinner at Cascades. Five stars!

Great place for taking photos...

Room Tip: Room 219 sits next to the famous room 217 where Stephen King stayed. If selecting one of these rooms be prepared for the daily tours that stop at this location of the hotel. On a second note, the tours end early to give guests their privacy in the evening. So the only pitter patter of feet you hear after six are from the guests exploring the floors of the hotel and the ghosts.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KgRose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the positive comments. Your feedback has been shared with our team members.
We look forward to welcome you back

Joe Batshoun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

While this hotel is quite picturesque and in a lovely location, spending the night is another experience. We made our reservation months ago for the main house and upon arrival were told we were "upgraded" to the newly remodeled Lodge. We wanted to stay in the main house, but the upgrade didn't seem to be optional as they were booked up. So we were ready to make the best of it and enjoy ourselves. The Lodge common rooms were nicely decorated with chairs looking out onto glorious mountain views. Our 3rd floor room was nicely decorated also, but very hot. We put the provided fan on high (no ac) and went out for the rest of the day thinking it would cool off by evening. Big mistake! By evening all the heat from the old building rose and it was BOILING on the 3rd floor and remained that way ALL night. Maybe first floor would be fine, but beware of the higher levels even when temp outside is fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing constructive feedback about your stay at The Stanley
I would like to confirm that you have been upgraded to The Lodge during your stay. Neither the Lodge rooms nor the Main Building rooms have air-conditioning.
The climate at Estes park is such that air-conditioning is rarely required and as such, has never been an issue at this hotel. However, the weather over the past few days has been unusually warm and we are now seriously considering to install a system for the next season
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback
We hope that we would be given a chance to regain your trust

Joe Batshoun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at The Stanley's The Lodge. Midge Knerr is the Inn Keeper every room was clean the staff very helpful and friendly. Every morning we awoke to fresh coffee and the best homemade pastries ever. The Lodge is a smaller Stanley. F.O Stanley did not believe single men should stay the night in the same place as single women so he built them The Lodge.

Room Tip: Because there is no A/C the corner suite was perfact for me large windows that you can open and get a wonderful cross breeze. Also the view was amazing. 2nd floor corner room facing the Town.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at the Stanley Hotel for 4 nights. (June 15-19)
The room had a mountain view. The proximity to Rocky Mounatain National Park was great. The hotel is the one Stephen King stayed in and was inspired to write "The Shining". The best part of all was the woman (Midge) who was the director of all things food. The pastries and breakfast were wonderful, but the welcome she extended to us made us feel like family. We plan to go back during winter for snow shoing and more pastries. We can look forward to having a friend at the Stanley.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room in advance. Staying in the Lodge was quieter than the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews