We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July at the Stanley in the Manor. The rooms were newly renovated, so were clean and fresh, a little on the small side and no refrigerators, or ac, so it can be hot in the summer since there was not a breeze on the side out room (314) was on. I enjoyed spending time reading on the veranda on the plush seating, much nicer than the seating on the hotel veranda. The continental breakfast included in the room price was excellent, I think there may also have been an afternoon tea included but not sure. Was set up the day we checked in but they didn't mention it so was not sure if it was included or not. They also did not mention that the continental breakfast was included so we went to the restaurant the first morning, and I had the thing as I got the second day for free - fruit, yogart & granola. Nice experience for one or two night but for a longer stay would look into a condo unit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dld_honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,137 - 2,143 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Stanley. I was a little apprehensive about staying there. Since its a historic hotel, I wasn't sure how comfortable it would be. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was very recently updated and comfortable. The entire experience was very relaxing. The Stanley provided a very peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hfavazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We recently stayed one night in The Stanley Hotel during our trip to Estes Park. I would have liked to stay longer, but it is pricey compared to other places in the area, and it doesn't offer the ammenities needed on a long vacation (kitchen, fridge, coffee maker). However, if you go knowing you are staying in a historic hotel, all of those things would seem out of place! The hotel is beautiful and clean, and the updated bathrooms are really nice. None of the places we stayed in Estes Park had air conditioning, including The Stanley, but with the windows open all night it can cool down nicely. We took the ghost and history tour, and it was great! Book ahead of time because they sell out. After hearing all of the history, I have a new respect for F.O Stanley and the hotel itself. I don't mind paying to experience this nice piece of history. As far as ghostly experiences, our door shook in the middle of the night and woke us up, but it turned out to be the mountain air blowing through the open windows. My daughter claims to have heard a piano playing in the middle of the night, but no one else did. All in all, a great time! I would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I spent a very long night in the Stanley on July 1. This was among the worst nights we have ever spent in a hotel. Previously we have experienced bed bugs in Columbia, SC, a broken door lock and single bare bulb light in Lima, Peru, and a mattress that seemed to be made out of saw dust in Lake Placid, NY. We have added the Stanley to our bottom ten list.

At the Stanley our top floor west-facing room was over 90 degrees at late afternoon check in. We went downstairs for dinner while it cooled off. There were no available tables in the dining room. We took a walk downtown and stumbled back to the hotel because there was no lighted footpath.

Returning to the room after 10 PM, we found it was still over 80 degrees. The small fan could not reach the bed or suck cool air into the room. The ceiling fan was not over the bed. The single small window was screened only on the lower half. The TV could be viewed only while lying in the bed, away from the window. There were no vents in the door to permit ventilation. We hardly slept.

After a long night. It took 10 minutes to get a cup of coffee in the unattractive basement cafe at 7 in the morning. We complained about the overheated, stuffy room to the front desk at checkout and received a perfunctory, indifferent apology.

The Stanley is living off its reputation. Guests who are treated like this are unlikely to return. If this happened in a $50/night hotel, it would be understandable. For $200/night, it is unforgivable.

Room Tip: Check the assigned room for ventilation and temperature. Avoid top floor and west-facing rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I personally love old historic hotels and homes, buildings, and sites. I know myself well enough to also know that I like modern conveniences. That being said, I have no desire to stay in an old historic hotel that is maintaining it's historic feel (i.e. no air conditioning). However, we did walk the grounds and wander inside this old hotel which is supposedly haunted and influenced Stephen King to write "The Shining".

We decided to visit the Stanley Hotel and treat it as just another historic site and enjoy that part of it. Unless you are a guest, It costs $5.00 to park your car. In my opinion that was a great deal compared to some other historic homes. Granted, we did not have a tour guide nor did we take any of the offered tours. A tour may have added to the experience and the prices were reasonable but since this was a last minute stop we decided to just explore on our own.

Throughout the main building, there were old photos, historic displays, and even a Stanley Steamer in the lobby. The architecture of the buildings and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and fun to photograph. I especially enjoyed the old fire trucks in the back. You don't have to be a guest to eat or drink there either.

The Stanley Hotel would be a beautiful venue for a wedding or other special occasions. The outdoor covered seating area is a great little spot to just take a break, have a cocktail and/or meal, and people watch. The lunch menu was actually pretty impressive but you will also be paying "impressive" prices. The average lunch meal was $18.00. If you just want a quick snack there is a cafe that serves pastries, coffee, and ice cream.

Overall, it is a beautiful old historic hotel in a breath taking setting. It would be a great stop after visiting Rocky Mountain NP to have a good meal or cocktail. I definitely recommend it if you enjoy old historic buildings and architecture. We enjoyed our couple hours here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

No air conditioning and no warning. They "had a glitch in the system" and we ended up being switched to a shoebox on the highest (hottest) floor. And it doesn't look like any of the original Shining was filmed here, which many people come here believing. The service was barely average. There is "old and charming." and there is just old. This is closer to just old. To end on a good note, the view from the front porch was beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here in July with our kids and really enjoyed it. It was kind of hot the first night, no air conditioning at the Stanley! The Ghost Tour was very interesting as well as the history of the Stanley Hotel. We loved our trip to Estes Park. If you like history and historical buildings, you will love the Stanley Hotel. Mr. Stanley was a very very interesting man!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £157 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing