We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley Hotel”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and they have made great improvements in all areas! Our room was well appointed and the bed and bedding were as good as any Four Seasons we've stayed. Dinner was very well prepared and the staff was friendly and timely. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The lodge is where we stayed
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

We are very pleased you had a fantastic time; Midge, our Innkeeper, provides a wonderful experience in the Lodge. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,482)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,482 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel is beautiful and the setting in Estes is breathtaking. I have stayed in nicer places in Estes and will not be staying at the Stanley again. I was looking forward to a jacuzzi and when I turned the jets on, some disgusting black, rather large pieces of something came shooting out. I immediately got out. When I reported this to the front desk, the lady's comment was that happened at her jacuzzi at home sometimes. Sure she was not paying what we were to use her jacuzzi. Then said she would notify housekeeping. How any of this helped me, I do not know. I would have at least expected her to say how sorry they were.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you for your business and feedback regarding your recent stay. I do apologize on how we handled the situation with your tub, rest assured this is not the norm. We would like to win your business back and I ask that you contact me directly at the hotel should you like to book a future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

No matter what my complaints are, the Stanley will always be amazing! I just wish that we could have slept better. Our room (226) was right above the wedding that was going on, which of course was really loud, and then we got to have all of the cigarette smoke drift into our window, which wasn't pleasant. I could go on and on, but won't, the point was, there was way to much noise and we hardly slept. My advice is to ask if an event is going on, and to not be placed above the party room if something is going on. Would I stay here again? I'm not sure. I might give it one more try sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelattes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were lucky enough to be placed in the same room that Steven King stayed in when writing The Shining, which was pretty cool. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and an open window and ceiling fan made up for lack of A/C (we were there in August). Staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dswanson30, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for your comments! We're happy you enjoyed your trip to our haunted hotel and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

First time visit. Pulled up to the man at the entrance and he instructed me to drive to the parking lot behind the hotel. Parking lot was packed, seems a wedding was booked that day. Went to the second tier parking lot and the only space was in front of these small white buildings. Lugged our luggage down a flight of stairs to what appears as the entrance with a canopy. Aha! leads to the busy restaurant which we had to walk through to get to the main desk.
Apparently, we parked our car in front of the "condos" where we weren't supposed to park and I had to move my car. No signs posted. Had to walk through a tour to get to our room, key wouldn't work and bags of dirty laundry in front of our door. No air conditioning so we had to open our windows and listen to the loud wedding party until 2am.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel and sleep somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dsignbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dswanson30, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

We are extremely sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations and understand your frustrations regarding the signage. We are in the middle of changing the signage and are working to provide better direction around the property. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

No air conditioning. Very loud in the rooms with all the ghost tours going on. Pool was great, and the scenery is awesome. I recommend checking out the Stanley but sleeping somewhere else. Restaurant was just ok, ghost tour was so so also.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Don75505217405139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dswanson30, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you very much for your comments on the property. We are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and will make every effort to correct the areas of concern. The newly remodeled Lodge at The Stanley does not have tours going through the property and is ideal for a relaxing stay on your next visit to Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is truly a beautiful hotel in a stunning location. It's historic architecture and lobby are a genuine pleasure. The bar is worth a visit alone. However, the room we were originally assigned was a shoebox and into this we were expected to fit a fold up bed for our 11 year old son. This made the room totally unfeasible (ie, having to climb over one another to get to the bathroom. This could also have had far-reaching consequences in the event of an emergency). The staff, however, redeemded themselves by assigning us a much larger room the next day. It must be pointed out, however, that all rooms on the forth floor do not have air conditioning, therefore it was impossible to sleep in the 89 degree heat!! In contrast, the swimming pool was freezing cold and impossible to use. Hot water in our bathroom was intermittant and the shower tepid, at best. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room. We would recommend this as a hotel for a dinner and one night stay but find a more modern hotel for a longer stay in Estes Park.

Room Tip: Do not book a "classic" if more than 2 are staying. Do not expect modern hotel convenienc...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarthaMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dswanson30, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Hello and thank you for your email. As you pointed out, our Classic Rooms are some of the smaller rooms in the main building and ideal for 1-2 people. However, we do feature larger rooms that can accommodate additional people for the next time you stay in Estes Park. We are truly sorry for your experience with the pool and hot water and will make sure to fix those going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £160 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing