We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking View”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Views from the hotel are incredibly captivating. For an older hotel, the amenities and room decor are updated, but so tastefully done that the charm of its earlier days is still felt throughout the hotel. Estes park is also home to beautiful lake and also The Rocky Mountains National Park (A must see)!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for the comments on your recent stay. It is definitely quite the breathtaking view from the hotel and we are glad you were able to come up and enjoy it!

Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Stanley Hotel in November 2013 on a recent visit to Colorado. We had been in Vail for a wedding and my husband really wanted to drive up to Estes Park to stay at this iconic hotel for the night. We were not disappointed. First, the drive up to Estes was beautiful and the roads were safe. When we got there, check in was easy and friendly. This is a charming old hotel rich in history. We had small room on the 4th floor, which is the supposedly "haunted" floor (although we didn't hear or see any of these alleged ghosts!)

We did take a formal tour of the hotel and they take you into some of the roped off formal parlors and rooms that you cannot otherwise access. I loved hearing about the history of the hotel and the Stanley family. It was pretty cool if you are a history buff. The tour was a little heavy handed on the "ghost stuff," which was sort of silly (for example they take you to the supposedly haunted rooms, but they don't let you inside them, so you are standing in the hall outside some poor guest's room, so we felt a little foolish...) But seeing the cool billiards room and other rooms on the tour was worth it.

Also, we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was really good! Very friendly service and nice atmosphere. Overall, we definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you had a good time while you were here and had the chance to learn more about the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just spent the weekend in Estes Park and stayed at the Stanley Hotel for the first time. The hotel is historic and very nostalgic with awesome views of Long's Peak and Estes Park. Rocky Mountain National Park is about 10 minutes from the hotel, which is great for those outdoor enthusiasts.

As far as the hotel, we had a King Bed room that was spacious and the bathroom was simple, but nice as well. The king size bed was nice, but the sheets were stiff (maybe too much starch). I especially like the creaky wood floors throughout the hotel, which accentuates the history of the hotel, as well as the unexplained paranormal/ghost stories that makes this hotel very unique. The hotel staff were nice and very helpful during our stay!

The hotel restaurant, Cascades, is a bit overpriced and going to one of the local Estes Park restaurants would be a cheaper alternative. However, we had breakfast at the Cascades, and the food and service was pretty good.

Finally, I definitely recommend taking the Stanley tour ($17/person) to hear and see the rich history behind the hotel and Steven King's 'The Shining.' Hanna was our exceptional tour guide and made the tour fun! One last thing, if you are use to a 5-star hotel where everything is pristine and modern, then you should go to an all-inclusive resort in Mexico or Hawaii. If you are looking for something rugged, and at the same time, elegant and beautiful, then I would highly recommend the Stanley Hotel!

Room Tip: Due to the creaky wood floors, I would recommend staying on the 3rd or 4th floor if you are a light...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willman80027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for the comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback. I was glad to here you were able to make a weekend of it and experience all the different elements of the Stanley Hotel.

We look forward to having you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Both my husband and I love old historic buildings with interesting stories and antiques so this hotel was perfect.
This hotel (resort) opened on July 4 1909 and has had quite a few changes, obviously including owners, being seasonal for many years and closed due to bankrupts, since its opening on July 4 1909. We stayed in a superior king room with a beautiful view of the mountains (room 323) having three large windows. The room was clean, nicely decorated with lots of storage. Wifi was excellent. If we stayed another time I would be sure an book earlier so we could get a cheaper room. The hotel is quite popular, largely due to being the inspiration for Stephen King to write the Shining.
We took a tour, the history of the Stanley hotel ($17 extra per person but well worth it) The tour was quite interesting and informative with Scary Mary. She was a great tour guide.
I can see why this hotel (resort) gets some negative reviews. If you're looking for a perfectly polished soundproof resort, you probably won't like it. If you're interested in history,or The Shining, but most of all an old building with lots of character, chances are you'll really like The Stanley.

Room Tip: If you want room 217, the room Stephen King got his inspiration for The Shining, be sure and request...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countdown6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for the comments regarding your stay. Glad to hear that you learned some of the history and had a good tour while you are here.

We hope to have you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff was very friendly and professional. However, our room was very dirty! (Dust on everything, mold in the bathroom, drink stains on the walls and baseboards that could have easily been wiped off, beer bottles under the bed (not from us), the room was extremely cold (set on 55 when we got there, it took a whole day just to heat up to 65!) The bar was great, but other than that, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone (especially for the price). We paid $200 a night and that was with a discount!! My husband and I were very disappointed with this hotel, and will never be going back. We enjoyed everything about our trip to Estes Park, except for the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asapp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. I was very disappointed to hear of the condition of your room. Please know that this is not the standard for our hotel and we do not expect this type of experience. Please feel free to reach me personally at jfreitas@stanleyhotel.com.

We hope to have you back again in the future to improve the experience.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Only problems were those expected of an old, historic building. Walls thin and creaking floors. It didn't bother us all that much. Bed was very comfortable, which is rare for me to say because I have a bad back that hates pretty much all beds. Room was small but completely adequate for my needs and very nicely appointed. Service was lovely. Tub was slippery, which could be a problem if you are unsteady on your feet. Nice water pressure and hot water. Lovely views from just about every window. Hotel itself was wonderful and inviting, especially on the cold, windy nights when all the fireplaces were lit. Went on one of the night ghost tours. No ghosts were spotted, but it was a really fun tour regardless. A lot can be said for having an entertaining and energetic tour guide. I would definitely stay again in the winter time. Summer prices are out of my price range. It was a great place to spend a cold, snowy winter weekend!

Room Tip: 4th floor is probably the quietest because there is no-one to walk over the top of your room. That...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittinkatdjinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for the comments about your recent stay. Glad to hear you had a great time and had some fun on one of our tours.

We hope to have you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Decided to stay at this hotel after buying a living social escape. The scenery was perfect in mid Jan and it felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves. We ungraded to a Lodge room and received excellent service and accommodations. The breakfast was great. Would go back with another living social deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txbrownings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for the comments regarding your recent stay. Glad you were able to take advantage of our Living Social special and make a good winter escape out of it!

We hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £159 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing