We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historically Good nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historically Good nothing special”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great for historic reasons and views but overpriced for what it is. Thin walls, can here your neighbors and no real amenities. If you want to stay there once so be it but not again for this couple!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We certainly appreciate your feedback and your business. We would absolutely love to have you return to our hotel, and should you choose please contact me directly so that I may esnure a great stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    687
    378
    205
    96
See reviews for
574
1,090
74
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went to The Stanley via a groupon, Well worth the trip, I would recommend heading out to the National Park and walking through the town. Ghost Tour was ok, more entertaining than scary. The room we were in was hot with no AC but opening the windows made for a comfortable sleep. The Whiskey bar was expensive but that's to be expected. Would go again just for fun.

Room Tip: Next time I might try spending the extra money for a "haunted room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for visiting us! The groupon and living social deals that we have provide for great value. It is great to that your visit was successful, and we look forward to your return! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had our Optimist District 2nd Quarter Conference at the Stanley again this year. Can't possibly recommend this facility highly enough! EVERYONE is professional and friendly. We ended up staying in a Stanley condo this year. Gee, it's rough staying in a gorgeous, luxurious, 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath half million dollar condo instead of a hotel room...... Absolutely the best stay ever. We will be back......as often as we can. We live in Colorado Springs, so it's not too far to go for a great weekend! Love the elk grazing in our yard!

Room Tip: If you want absolute luxury, see if one of the condos is available. If you want to take a pet, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! It was a pleasure hosting you and the entire group this weekend, everyone seemed to have had a great time! We will see you for the 2015 Optimist Conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We live in Colorado so whenever we go up to visit the park we always think about visiting the Stanley just to see what it's like. So this Valentine's Day we decided to have a little overnight adventure. I love old historic places and so it was fun exploring the hotel and learning about the history. It was also fun to turn on the TV and see The Shining playing. I think it runs 24 hours a day. It was really cold and windy out so it was a good night to stay under the covers and watch the movie. My husband had never seen the whole thing so with the wind howling outside the setting was perfect. The only problem was our room was cold. I didn't mind too much but by the middle of the night I was freezing and didn't want to wake my husband to mess with it.

Room Tip: If anything is wrong with the room, make sure you get the front desk involved. I wish I had called t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable Valentine's Day with us! We do have additional space heaters available for guests who do like it a little warmer in the rooms; absolutely always call the front desk as we can assist with anything. Thank you again for your business, we look forward to another special day with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had a great time visiting for the day and recieved wonderful service from April in the whiskey bar. Will definitely come back.

Comments on bar service - April was personable, attentive and memorable. The first guy that initially greeted us was not. Will request to be seated in April's area in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We appreciate you coming in for some spirits! We have shared your comments with April and the rest of our restaurant team; we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

There was a paranormal retreat that a friend of mine and I went to located at the Stanley. The front desk staff was fantastic! They originally put us into a room that was so small my friend, me and our two suitcases could not fit in there. I wish I was exaggerating about that. However, I went down to the lobby and told them we had an issue and they quickly put us into a 3 bedroom condo on the premises. The new lodging was FANTASTIC! Full kitchen, fireplaces, two dens and a hot tub MORE than made up for the original room. There was nothing like getting up in the morning and drinking your coffee on the upper porch with the view of the majestic mountains!

You have to understand when you get a historic location like this, the rooms are not going to be large....at all. Luxury then is not the same as what we consider luxury now. It is a beautiful place with a great history. The view alone is worth a trip there! I hope you enjoy! Watch out for the ghosts! Make sure to take the haunted tour!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Some of this hotel seems antiquated - and with good reason - it is an 'antique!' If you go expecting ALL of the modern conveniences or that the old Otis elevator will be working all of the time, you may be surprised. As with any genuine, authentic slice of history, there are what some consider to be drawbacks. ....Is the Stanley a majestic, unique taste of Americana? Does it have a beautiful setting, nestled into the mountains, with it's fountains and sculpture garden? Is it the inspiration for Stephen King to write the novel and for the subsequent movie 'The Shining? Is the city of Estes Park worth the out-of-the-way drive to go through to get to the Rocky Mountain National Park? Did I see wildlife? Yes to all of the above! One of my favorite memories will probably be of the elk munching the grass out in front of the Stanley Hotel.... There is a lot of hoopla surrounding this hotel as far as the paranormal. Have I personally ever experienced anything 'unusual?' Well, in a word, yes. Have others I know experienced anything that could be considered out of the realm of 'normal?' Ah....yes. We didn't see anything that looked like a gauzy, white-clad figure glide across the courtyard at midnight or anything. But I don't wanna talk about it.... Whether you're 'ghost-hunting,' looking for an ideal place to get married or want a picture with a Jack Nicholson lookalike, there couldn't be any more peaceful setting....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing