We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time!”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My two daughters an grandson and I spent a night at the Stanley. We. Got a last minute reservation which we were told was the last available room for the night, it was a perfect room with 2 queen beds an ample room to get around. This was our third year of spending our vacation here. Yes it is expensive but you are paying for the experiences and the history, if your staying " just because" or not into all of the history and hauntings, then this isn't for you, a room next to us last year was very noisy an windows banging and doors opening and shutting, next morning found out nobody was even staying in that room. We love the Stanley and will stay there again, our visit this time proved to be eventful, but didn't keep us up all night this time!
This is definitely our favorite place to go!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Stanley Hotel!! Our room was big and beautiful and the staff were courteous and helpful! We even had a "strange encounter" which was awesome!!! Our stay was perfect and we home to be able to stay again in the future! Estes park is a magical place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Stanley is clearly a one-of-a-kind hotel that offers a unique, interesting, and scenic lodging experience. In an apparent attempt to retain the historic nature of the hotel, our room lacked many amenities you come to expect in any hotel (especially one that costs this much). The room also had a multitude of small maintenance issues that, taken individually, didnt amount to much but, taken together, gave the impression of poor maintenance. The ghost tour was fun and should definitely be taken after dark.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank itineraryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked the RMNP package in Feb for a Jul stay. At no point during the booking process or on our reservation did it mention a 'Package Total' fee. This was not mentioned at check in either. Today we received our invoice, and there was a $310 'Package Total' Fee - in addition to the room rates/taxes. When I inquired what this could possibly be, I was advised it was either because Saturday night should have been higher (not my problem) or that it was for the RMNP/dining credit. So I was to pay $310 for a $20 admission ticket and $25 dining credit? And keep in mind that this was not mentioned until THE END OF THE STAY. We had incredibly wonderful memories of our time here until this came up. Be warned if you book a package.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank BlueIsNotAFlavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We reserved the presidential suite (upper and lower) as well as 3 condos for a family reunion. From the beginning the staff were not helpful with providing information about the rooms we rented. Having floor plans that can be shown to guests would be very helpful, particularly for the presidential suite (which is not described online). Even though the check-in is late for the Stanley - 4pm - we were not able to check in until 5pm. In addition, our rooms were not cleaned each day. The kitchen of the presidential suite had only on coffee cup and the filters for the coffee maker were too big and difficult to find. For a 'stocked' kitchen other essentials were missing such as a measuring cup, a strainer, and an ice maker (or at least more than one ice tray). I also was put off by a wedding planner who did not want us to exit our hotel room because it might interfere with the path of the bride. This was at 5pm on Sunday which was when we were leaving for dinner. We were paying customers too, so why should we have to avoid going out at certain times into a public area?? Overall, you can see from my comments that I was not entirely pleased with our stay at the Stanley (even though it is in a prime location), particularly given how much we paid for our rooms. If we plan another family gathering for Estes Park we will definitely find an alternative place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

What to say about the Stanley but WOW!! What a beautiful hotel in a wonderful place!! Or stay was quite and relaxing! We stayed in room #401 a haunted room!! (So they say....) We didn't have real paranormal experience but had a blast trying!! Even better was the fact that our room was an attraction so we freaked other guests out just by opening our door!! Our room was simple but nice. It was not a cheap stay by any means! But when you consider that you are staying at one of the most famous Hotels on the planet it really is affordable. The history and heritage are unbelievable! The ghost hype just makes it that much better!! Redrum

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tommylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed with a group at this hotel and were very impressed. The restaurant was very good. All service personal were great. If we needed anything it was supplied very quickly. The rooms were clean and updated. No A/C so midday was a little warm but nighttime was comfortable. Easy walk to downtown (10 min).

Room Tip: Ask for a luxury king. They are corner rooms and larger than the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GLENN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
486 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £137 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing