We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, mediocre service”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, mediocre service”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beware if you opt for the ghost package when you make your reservation. Having never stayed at the Stanley I guess I was a little naive in thinking the ghost tour was part of the ghost package ... it's not. The frustrating part for me was, we called several times in the few days before our stay to find out when our ghost tour was scheduled. Since the tours are not associated with the Stanley, and no one ever seemed to be in the tours office, no one could give me any information. I was not told in any of these calls to the Stanley that we likely did not have reservations for the tour, though I explained each time that we had purchased the ghost package.

The ghost package does guarantee a room on the 4th floor, supposedly the floor with the most paranormal activity. So, imagine my surprise when I checked in and was told very cheerfully we had been "upgraded" to a room on the 3rd floor! After getting a supervisor involved and her doing a lot of talking to herself, they finally "found" a room on the 4th floor for us.

The hotel is a lovely historic hotel and maybe it was just the unusual heat for that region that soured the experience, but we won't be planning any more stays at the Stanley for several years.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ihearteureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    726
    411
    233
    115
See reviews for
624
1,176
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked 2 nights with the ghost package which guarantees a room on the 4th floor and some Stanley ghost souvenirs. The room was a decent size, clean and somewhat updated (bathroom a little outdated). There is no AC but the room had a fan unit, ceiling fan, and a portable fan which we put the dormer window. With only one window, air circulation is a challenge and found ourselves opening the hall door while chained to create flow. That helped immensely. The property was very beautiful as a classic old hotel.
We did have an experience on our first night. There was a heavy thud at 1:45 am (I was awake) and upon further inspection, found a feather pillow in the middle of the floor in the hallway to the bathroom. Since we had photos of the room upon check-in,we realized that it had "fallen" off the open closet shelf and landed about 4 ft away. The next am we tried to recreate the falling and each time we tried, the pillow hit the hangers, jingling them (not heard that night), and fell within the closet, never rolling out (if feather pillows could roll!). If we go back, it will not be on the 4th floor!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel in CO tourist town. No ghosts showed in each of two of our "haunted rooms" we paid a premium for, however, we did awaken to a drunken groom on the floor one night who was promptly arrested in the wee hours of the morning (but felt bad for his bride-perhaps someday she will haunt the place!) Staff was friendly and courteous with excellent patio service. Only one queen in each of our haunted rooms (407 and 428) and as the hotel is old, no air conditioning. Nevertheless, a lovely stay. The exercise room is wisely located in an upper floor with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jauntingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved it and all of the history. My niece got married there and the reception dinner was perfect. The condos were not as clean or maintained very well. The lighting was very poor. The T.V. in the bedroom did not work and was not repaired upon reporting it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My two daughters an grandson and I spent a night at the Stanley. We. Got a last minute reservation which we were told was the last available room for the night, it was a perfect room with 2 queen beds an ample room to get around. This was our third year of spending our vacation here. Yes it is expensive but you are paying for the experiences and the history, if your staying " just because" or not into all of the history and hauntings, then this isn't for you, a room next to us last year was very noisy an windows banging and doors opening and shutting, next morning found out nobody was even staying in that room. We love the Stanley and will stay there again, our visit this time proved to be eventful, but didn't keep us up all night this time!
This is definitely our favorite place to go!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Stanley Hotel!! Our room was big and beautiful and the staff were courteous and helpful! We even had a "strange encounter" which was awesome!!! Our stay was perfect and we home to be able to stay again in the future! Estes park is a magical place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Stanley is clearly a one-of-a-kind hotel that offers a unique, interesting, and scenic lodging experience. In an apparent attempt to retain the historic nature of the hotel, our room lacked many amenities you come to expect in any hotel (especially one that costs this much). The room also had a multitude of small maintenance issues that, taken individually, didnt amount to much but, taken together, gave the impression of poor maintenance. The ghost tour was fun and should definitely be taken after dark.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank itineraryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing