We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This historic hotel is much nicer than others we have stayed at during our tours of USA PARKS. We stayed in the Lodge which offered a B&B experience and did not allow children so it was nice and quiet. The main hotel offered a nice restaurant and bar. Staff at the lodge was very helpful. The breakfast at the lodge was wonderful with homemade baked goods. We loved our stay and particularly that this very nice hotel was so close to the national park.

Room Tip: If traveling without children, definitely ask for the Lodge. This might not be the best hotel for m...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,466 - 1,472 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beware if you opt for the ghost package when you make your reservation. Having never stayed at the Stanley I guess I was a little naive in thinking the ghost tour was part of the ghost package ... it's not. The frustrating part for me was, we called several times in the few days before our stay to find out when our ghost tour was scheduled. Since the tours are not associated with the Stanley, and no one ever seemed to be in the tours office, no one could give me any information. I was not told in any of these calls to the Stanley that we likely did not have reservations for the tour, though I explained each time that we had purchased the ghost package.

The ghost package does guarantee a room on the 4th floor, supposedly the floor with the most paranormal activity. So, imagine my surprise when I checked in and was told very cheerfully we had been "upgraded" to a room on the 3rd floor! After getting a supervisor involved and her doing a lot of talking to herself, they finally "found" a room on the 4th floor for us.

The hotel is a lovely historic hotel and maybe it was just the unusual heat for that region that soured the experience, but we won't be planning any more stays at the Stanley for several years.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ihearteureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked 2 nights with the ghost package which guarantees a room on the 4th floor and some Stanley ghost souvenirs. The room was a decent size, clean and somewhat updated (bathroom a little outdated). There is no AC but the room had a fan unit, ceiling fan, and a portable fan which we put the dormer window. With only one window, air circulation is a challenge and found ourselves opening the hall door while chained to create flow. That helped immensely. The property was very beautiful as a classic old hotel.
We did have an experience on our first night. There was a heavy thud at 1:45 am (I was awake) and upon further inspection, found a feather pillow in the middle of the floor in the hallway to the bathroom. Since we had photos of the room upon check-in,we realized that it had "fallen" off the open closet shelf and landed about 4 ft away. The next am we tried to recreate the falling and each time we tried, the pillow hit the hangers, jingling them (not heard that night), and fell within the closet, never rolling out (if feather pillows could roll!). If we go back, it will not be on the 4th floor!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel in CO tourist town. No ghosts showed in each of two of our "haunted rooms" we paid a premium for, however, we did awaken to a drunken groom on the floor one night who was promptly arrested in the wee hours of the morning (but felt bad for his bride-perhaps someday she will haunt the place!) Staff was friendly and courteous with excellent patio service. Only one queen in each of our haunted rooms (407 and 428) and as the hotel is old, no air conditioning. Nevertheless, a lovely stay. The exercise room is wisely located in an upper floor with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jauntingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved it and all of the history. My niece got married there and the reception dinner was perfect. The condos were not as clean or maintained very well. The lighting was very poor. The T.V. in the bedroom did not work and was not repaired upon reporting it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My two daughters an grandson and I spent a night at the Stanley. We. Got a last minute reservation which we were told was the last available room for the night, it was a perfect room with 2 queen beds an ample room to get around. This was our third year of spending our vacation here. Yes it is expensive but you are paying for the experiences and the history, if your staying " just because" or not into all of the history and hauntings, then this isn't for you, a room next to us last year was very noisy an windows banging and doors opening and shutting, next morning found out nobody was even staying in that room. We love the Stanley and will stay there again, our visit this time proved to be eventful, but didn't keep us up all night this time!
This is definitely our favorite place to go!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Stanley Hotel!! Our room was big and beautiful and the staff were courteous and helpful! We even had a "strange encounter" which was awesome!!! Our stay was perfect and we home to be able to stay again in the future! Estes park is a magical place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £159 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing