We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Hotel with great view”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel with great view”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First, yes, there is no A/C but hardly a cause for the amount of wailing in some reviews as temps are in low 80s (at most) with no humidity during the day and low 60s or high 50s at night. Being from the South, it was very pleasant. We had good service (even checked in early) by both hotel and dining staff. Of course, the hotel is very interesting with great views. My friend said it was his favorite place we stayed during our WY/CO excursion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    699
    384
    208
    98
See reviews for
583
1,109
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stay at historic hotels frequently and don't mind the quirks (e.g., in the Stanley's case: no A/C, bathroom doors that don't close properly, among others). But the service at the Stanley is absolutely horrendous, which was particularly frustrating during our stay given the expensive rates for peak season. Some examples: (1) We arrived at 3:45 for 4:00 check-in, but our room wasn't ready. The desk clerk said he would call when it was available, which never happened. (2) The hotel has no complimentary newspapers, not even at the restaurant during breakfast. The general manager sent a welcome e-mail on our arrival, which said that guests should contact him should they need anything. I responded with a comment that newspapers are a common - and appreciated - hotel courtesy, but he never replied. (3) We bought a breakfast package, and I asked twice (front desk clerk and restaurant hostess) about how it worked. Both told me that all breakfast charges would be reversed upon checkout. Of course, I only was told at checkout that there is a $30 limit. (4) This is minor, but the room didn't even have a Do Not Disturb sign; I had to order one from housekeeping. As noted by other reviewers, the Stanley Hotel appears to value its day visitors far more than guests who actually stay at the hotel. Tour guides seemed knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The other hotel staff were anything but. Two exceptions: Bartender Jimmy, who knew his whiskeys cold, and Leo in Cascades Restaurant who made a special trip to the coffee shop to get me a muffin, which wasn't on the restaurant menu. In summary, the glamor of the hotel compensates somewhat for the miserable service. But people who expect to get something for $300+ a night in hotel costs will find their money poorly spent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ontheroadoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Stanley Hotel in July, using a gift certificate given to us by friends. At check in, the gift certificate was taken from us. At check out, the gift certificate was no where to be found, and the clerk charged us the full price of the room. The clerk did correct this mistake (without ever locating the gift certificate). When our visa statement arrived, we found that we had been charged for the full price of the room! We are still trying to reach someone at the hotel to correct this (hold times are very, very long).

The room was very nice, but there were very large group tours being led through the hotel all day long and into the evening. This hotel seems far more interested in serving their tour groups and maintaining the hotel as some type of museum than serving their guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanchon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This historic hotel is much nicer than others we have stayed at during our tours of USA PARKS. We stayed in the Lodge which offered a B&B experience and did not allow children so it was nice and quiet. The main hotel offered a nice restaurant and bar. Staff at the lodge was very helpful. The breakfast at the lodge was wonderful with homemade baked goods. We loved our stay and particularly that this very nice hotel was so close to the national park.

Room Tip: If traveling without children, definitely ask for the Lodge. This might not be the best hotel for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beware if you opt for the ghost package when you make your reservation. Having never stayed at the Stanley I guess I was a little naive in thinking the ghost tour was part of the ghost package ... it's not. The frustrating part for me was, we called several times in the few days before our stay to find out when our ghost tour was scheduled. Since the tours are not associated with the Stanley, and no one ever seemed to be in the tours office, no one could give me any information. I was not told in any of these calls to the Stanley that we likely did not have reservations for the tour, though I explained each time that we had purchased the ghost package.

The ghost package does guarantee a room on the 4th floor, supposedly the floor with the most paranormal activity. So, imagine my surprise when I checked in and was told very cheerfully we had been "upgraded" to a room on the 3rd floor! After getting a supervisor involved and her doing a lot of talking to herself, they finally "found" a room on the 4th floor for us.

The hotel is a lovely historic hotel and maybe it was just the unusual heat for that region that soured the experience, but we won't be planning any more stays at the Stanley for several years.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ihearteureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked 2 nights with the ghost package which guarantees a room on the 4th floor and some Stanley ghost souvenirs. The room was a decent size, clean and somewhat updated (bathroom a little outdated). There is no AC but the room had a fan unit, ceiling fan, and a portable fan which we put the dormer window. With only one window, air circulation is a challenge and found ourselves opening the hall door while chained to create flow. That helped immensely. The property was very beautiful as a classic old hotel.
We did have an experience on our first night. There was a heavy thud at 1:45 am (I was awake) and upon further inspection, found a feather pillow in the middle of the floor in the hallway to the bathroom. Since we had photos of the room upon check-in,we realized that it had "fallen" off the open closet shelf and landed about 4 ft away. The next am we tried to recreate the falling and each time we tried, the pillow hit the hangers, jingling them (not heard that night), and fell within the closet, never rolling out (if feather pillows could roll!). If we go back, it will not be on the 4th floor!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel in CO tourist town. No ghosts showed in each of two of our "haunted rooms" we paid a premium for, however, we did awaken to a drunken groom on the floor one night who was promptly arrested in the wee hours of the morning (but felt bad for his bride-perhaps someday she will haunt the place!) Staff was friendly and courteous with excellent patio service. Only one queen in each of our haunted rooms (407 and 428) and as the hotel is old, no air conditioning. Nevertheless, a lovely stay. The exercise room is wisely located in an upper floor with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jauntingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing