We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel, but crowded and loud.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still a good hotel, but crowded and loud.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

During the day they do tours of the hotel. Looks like there is a tour every 15 to 20 min all day. I was expecting something a little more towards the upper end of the spectrum and instead is felt like a tourist attraction instead of an hotel. Not a lot of amenities and if you want dinner in the hotel make a dinner reservation when you book your room. If you want the Shining experience this is your place, but there are better rooms fro less money in Estes Park. The one "Shining" stand out was the service from the people working there. One person really stood out fro her customer service skills and knowledge of Estes Park, Jessica Armor. Jess thank you again for all your help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor, the tourists don't seem to go above the 2nd floor much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byrnebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    688
    379
    205
    96
See reviews for
574
1,092
74
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First off, Estes Park is a summer town, there is no such thing as quiet or sparsely populated areas during the summer months. We have stayed at the Stanley in summer, winter, and fall and there is a huge difference from season to season. The rooms are historical, which adds to the stay. The lobby is beautiful, and there is a coffee shop downstairs (though there is a small cafe very close as well-right by the safeway) We recommend the Stanley to anybody that is heading to Estes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a room on 3rd floor in the lodge. Elevator was not working, so we had to lig our bags up the stairs ourselves..no bellhop either. Sofa bed was not made up, no ac, and floor fan sounded like a jet engine. Room had no cross breeze. Bathroom was very well done, and very attractive. We had prepaid the room, so the young man at the desk explained we did not have a receipt...surprise, they had charged my Visa again. An email to the GM quickly remedied that situation. We had stayed there last year and really enjoyed our visit, but this visit will be our last for awhile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janlyn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Well I always wanted to stay at the hotel as a student in college in Colorado but never could afford it. Forty years later I planned our national park tour with a three night stay at the Stanley which we looked forward to very much. The hotel was a little expensive so I thought it would sort out the folks that couldn't afford the room costs, not to be snobby about it I was looking for a little more catering to after all its vacation. Late night and early morning the lobby was quiet and you could enjoy a coffee or cocktail in the lobby without someone photographing you or being overrun by ghost seekers. During the day it is packed with visitors and folks on ghost tours they do their best to keep unregistered guest off upper floors but some slip upstairs and seemed to always be outside our room which was 215 which is right next door to the haunted 217. The service at the hotel was excellent once they realize you are a guest and not just visiting. I,m for the ghost tours because of the money they bring in and the building is a hand full to maintain so the money well used. The rooms didn't have AC and were a little stuffy in the heat of the day but cooled off nicely at night and were comfortable for sleeping. It was very clean and the linens were nice. My rating on the shower is a 6 out of 10 mainly because of the pressure was good but it fit the hotel style which is historical.
I would love to stay again maybe more in the fall when the kids go back to school and the aspen's our turning gold. The historical value of this place is great with photos of the days gone by lining all the walls and a grand steam car right in the lobby. Nice stay would recommend especially in Fall. Nome

Room Tip: Stay away from higher floors no AC in hotel. Stay away from 217 everyone on ghost tours wants to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My best bit of advice for anyone looking to stay at the Stanley is NOT TO STAY IN THE SUMMER! As other people have written, there is no air conditioning. The windows open, but we happened to be on a side of the hotel that got no breeze or air circulation whatsoever. The thermostat for the heater was over 90 degrees during the night. We had no sleep and all needed additional showers in the morning from sweating all night.

Some other things, although minor, that the hotel should address: no literature on the history or ghost stories. If they just put a little flyer together, they could save so much time and bother from people. They've put their hotel on the map as a haunted hotel, but unless you want to pay for the tours, you're out of luck on doing any exploring of the hotel. Most of the cool areas are closed off from guests. I guess it's another way to get money from you on the already overly priced rate. Another little glitch are the bathrooms. Although nicely tiled and modern sinks, there is no shelf in the shower. That forces you to put all of your shampoos, washes, and even soap on the floor! Ewww.. I just put the soap dish in there, but that really is something they could easily fix. The staff is not as welcoming and friendly as they should be given the prices. If you pay that much, you have an expectation of being treated as a guest and not a bother. The restaurants don't offer many kid friendly options. Elk-meatloaf is not appetizing to most kids, so we ended up having to drive downtown for food.

Keep in mind with the no A/C, there is also no closet. They give you a few hangers to hang on some hooks from the wall.

The only cool thing about staying here was watching The Shining in the room. Other than that, there is no reason to actually stay the night at this hotel, unless you want to lose some weight sweating all night long.

Room Tip: If staying in the summer, choose a room that will get a breeze. Otherwise, ask for a different room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandyinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

First, yes, there is no A/C but hardly a cause for the amount of wailing in some reviews as temps are in low 80s (at most) with no humidity during the day and low 60s or high 50s at night. Being from the South, it was very pleasant. We had good service (even checked in early) by both hotel and dining staff. Of course, the hotel is very interesting with great views. My friend said it was his favorite place we stayed during our WY/CO excursion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stay at historic hotels frequently and don't mind the quirks (e.g., in the Stanley's case: no A/C, bathroom doors that don't close properly, among others). But the service at the Stanley is absolutely horrendous, which was particularly frustrating during our stay given the expensive rates for peak season. Some examples: (1) We arrived at 3:45 for 4:00 check-in, but our room wasn't ready. The desk clerk said he would call when it was available, which never happened. (2) The hotel has no complimentary newspapers, not even at the restaurant during breakfast. The general manager sent a welcome e-mail on our arrival, which said that guests should contact him should they need anything. I responded with a comment that newspapers are a common - and appreciated - hotel courtesy, but he never replied. (3) We bought a breakfast package, and I asked twice (front desk clerk and restaurant hostess) about how it worked. Both told me that all breakfast charges would be reversed upon checkout. Of course, I only was told at checkout that there is a $30 limit. (4) This is minor, but the room didn't even have a Do Not Disturb sign; I had to order one from housekeeping. As noted by other reviewers, the Stanley Hotel appears to value its day visitors far more than guests who actually stay at the hotel. Tour guides seemed knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The other hotel staff were anything but. Two exceptions: Bartender Jimmy, who knew his whiskeys cold, and Leo in Cascades Restaurant who made a special trip to the coffee shop to get me a muffin, which wasn't on the restaurant menu. In summary, the glamor of the hotel compensates somewhat for the miserable service. But people who expect to get something for $300+ a night in hotel costs will find their money poorly spent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ontheroadoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing