We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley Hotel and REDRUM”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stanley Hotel and REDRUM”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Took our nephew to Estes Park for 3 days - stayed at the Stanley Hotel. Like other reviewers, it is older but that is half the charm. Since it was built in the early 1900s and they wanted to keep it as true to original - no AC but they have ceiling fans. Most rooms do not have screens so leaving the windows open all night can be tricky. We booked a Deluxe King - comfy but not a room to just lounge in. The hotel has Nightly Ghost tours - interesting for the believers. Some of the young people on our tour acted a bit over the top. Worth it to see the other buildings on the grounds and hear the stories about supernatural encounters. The Shining plays all day/night on one of the channels - so if you haven't seen the movie it's an added treat. Small gift shop. There is a patio open for cocktails/dining.....delicious and moderately priced.

Room Tip: Apparently Room 227 is haunted as well as others on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomHumpback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    715
    403
    226
    106
See reviews for
604
1,155
77
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had reservations to stay two nights, a Friday and Saturday night. Upon checking in at around 4:00 PM, a very courteous and informative young lady explained amenities, dining options, and directed us to proper attractions. She also encouraged a reservation for dinner if we were planning on dining at the in house restaurant. We found our room and once settled called to secure previously mentioned dinner reservations. The hotel restaurant telephone receptionist promptly informed us that the reservations are booked solid for several WEEKS! Why encourage a "let down" phone call? Nonetheless, we went to dinner "off site". That night when we returned to the room, showers were in order. While the supply of towels and necessary toiletry items was adequate, the black curly hairs found in corners of shower/bath were rather disgusting. Nonetheless we practiced necessary sanitary measures and went to bed. The room has no air conditioning, but I understand it is an historic venue and keeping it in original state is important. After leaving windows open all night (in our room), we had acquired a sense of value for the 75 degrees we finally found (cool). Upon leaving room for days activities, we opted to close blinds to block out heat causing rays of sun and try to conserve the cool air we worked hard to capture all night. Upon returning that afternoon, we found the housekeeping (who did a great job cleaning up) opened all blinds and left open, allowing the room to reach nearly 90°..... Needless to say that night of sleep was worthless as we tossed and turned in the hot room, after again leaving the site for dinner. One of the draws to this facility was the on site dining option, which we never had access to. While I appreciate the nostalgia of keeping the original historic value, sometimes the quest to make a buck smudge out the actual enjoyment your customers deserve. I feel like we were just another reservation so the "no vacancy" sign could be hung.

Room Tip: Don't stay on top floor in summer.. No AC and heat is more of an issue than you'd expect in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GRETCHRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the most beautiful place on earth. The hotel was fantastic! It is suppose to be haunted. The hotel was so gorgeous. Historic. We had a condo with a hot tub. Bed so comfy. Bathroom was huge and grand. Fireplace was beautiful. So very clean. This is my happy place. Staff was so helpful and nice.
If I had to find a negative it was the phone in the kitchen didn't work. Bit the one in the bedroom did so no big deal.

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is located in a beautiful location in Estes Park, and within several miles of Rocky Mountain National Park. It is known as the location at which some of the movie "The Shining" was filmed. For those that are interested, they have several tours, including ghost tours. Our room was nice, but lacked a dresser or anything with drawers, so clothing had to be kept in suitcases. The bathroom had been updated, but the bathtub was very slippery with no non-skid strips or non-slip bathmat. We also could not keep the water from leaking from the shower no matter what we did. The staff was very nice and helpful, but frequently the one hand did not know what the other was doing. These are relatively minor things, but kept me from giving it a 5 star rating. We tried to eat in the restaurant once, but we were unable to get a reservation. The coffee shop on the lower level was good, but a bit expensive. The WiFi was good and fast. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here in this very scenic location.

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms have their pluses and minuses. In talking with other guests who were there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lzrdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuinta, CA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in a third floor room, which was lovely and spacious. The hotel is a beautiful and very well maintained historic hotel within 10 miles of the Rocky Mountain National Park. The front verandah is a great place to relax with a drink and a good book. The hotel bar is fun and dinner in the dining room was excellent. Abigal Prow in Reservations was particularly helpful.

The only drawback is that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and the noise from the patio was so loud we had to close the window, which made the room very hot. I would still stay there again because the charm out weighs the lack of air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the central patio/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce City, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would give them 5 stars if it wasn't so busy!!! This is a great old hotel that has an awesome history. They have 2 buildings one is the main hotel which is very busy or the coach building only a few hundred steps away. This is much more private and a short walk to Estes Park.

Room Tip: The 4th floor if you like ghost stories
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property and interesting history. Close to Rocky Mountain National Park and downtown Estes. Note rooms are quite small, if a roll away bed is required there is literally NO room to walk around. Room rates are quite high during peak season. Booking a ghost tour is a must.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank photog81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
462 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing