We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the historic area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Court Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right in the historic area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at the Old Court. Since there were no other guests the first night (midweek in early December), Chris offered us a free upgrade to a larger room. It is an old place but very comfortable. Breakfast was good - omelets, eggs Benedict were offered. The parking lot was small but no problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaDawgsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
39
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

I had the misfortune of booking a reservation at this B&B but then cancelling it due to the fact I was moving house that weekend.
I contacted the B&B the month before but unfortunately did it by phone and not E-mail.
I received a call the night I moved which was also the night we had previously reserved Despite the fact I explained to the desk person my situation, I was told they had no record of my cancellation and they charged me $220 for a no show.
I find it sad that this place was so unwilling to compromise or to give me some leeway .
Apparently in some places the almighty $ is more important than good will and customer relations. Quite pathetic .

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

What a great place - unbeatable location on Benefit Street for beautiful walks. Our room was large & well appointed, clean & comfortable. We had low water pressure one morning but it was great the next. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! Staff were very friendly & helpful, giving good local recommendations. Yes, the parking is compact but what do you expect when you're right in the thick of an old city? We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dsharc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2006

If you enjoy old B&B's you will like this. It is nothing fancy but the staff was friendly and the room we had was very large. Bathroom was very old but clean. Breakfast was included, it was decent. We were visting are daughter at RISD and they were nice enough to let her and a friend join us for breakfast at no charge ( nice touch). It is located on the nicest street in providence right near Brown & RISD.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2002

Well "old" is sure the word you would describe this place (its about ten years over due for renovations) that my wife and I stayed at this past weekend in downtown Providence. The beds were horrible and rooms dingy and in need of a paint job to say the least. The brass bed we stayed in was horrible and the breakfast was FAIR. The innkeeper was less than friendly and the parking was really bad if you have a nice car do not park it here do not go here. The only good thing was well its on a lovely street, Benefit St. But that is it. it is the only saving grace. I definitely would not stay again.




the brass bed we stayed in was

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Court Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Address: 144 Benefit St., Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > College Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel Providence
Old Court b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing