We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Providence
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Providence(Providence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dean Hotel(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
75
38
13
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
38
13
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfresh fruitempire roombrown universityperfect locationoff street parkingmiss marpleantique furnishingsdecent sized bathroomvisiting brownrisd museumbreakfast is servedbaked goodswithin easy walking distanceplace to staywhole foodsflights of stairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The old court has a great location and an even better staff.Max is a great host and his team...Cammi Patricia Lemmi Randy are all so friendly and hospitable that you really get a feel of staying in your own home.They can't do enough to make you feel at home and every request is taken very seriously.They serve great breakfasts.
My daughter was there for summer school and she was in and out of the house as if it was her home.The staff was concerned and caring.They gave very good advice on how to spend the day and what to see and do.I was there for two weeks so this was extremely useful.
Locationally it is brilliant as you are literally living on the"Mile of History"as Benefit street is called.Brown and RISD are right next door.The Providence Art club is right around the corner and the RISD museum is a short walk down the same street.Thayer street is a 10 minute walk uphill and is great for a casual dinner or lunch.The Providence Mall and Downtown are a short walk away.There are a couple of art galleries which are fun to check out.You might want to check out The John Brown House if you have time like I did.
Would always go back to stay at The Old Court.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are quieter even if you do have to tackle the staircase.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaspreet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. This Bed and Breakfast is located in quite possibly one of the best preserved neighborhoods in the country with blocks upon blocks of tastefully restored Colonial era homes to explore and admire. It's also only a few minutes walk from the beautiful downtown river canals and canal parks and plenty of shopping. (and if you're in Providence for the same reasons we were, its within walking distances to several of the city's top universities).

The Old Court itself is beautiful and includes many wonderful details. Our room included a historic stove used as decoration. Breakfast was simple but wonderful. The staff was attentive. The rooms were clean and inviting. I really can't say it enough, avoid the boring hotels and find yourself in a bed and breakfast like this one.

(one note of caution, parking in Providence is tight and the streets are [charmingly] narrow. The Old Court has a small parking lot in the back but it takes some skill to wedge into. We scuffed up the side of our rental car leaving the parking lot, but I'll blame that on my husband's driving).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ursulina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Booked the B&B for family for wedding and Max made our stay memorable with flowers and extra treats. The entire staff couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. We gathered in the "breakfast room" for family meetings and really enjoyed the "period" decor. In the heart of the historic district, waling distance to Roger Williams Visitor Center where we met with John McGiff (sp?) for a private tour. The B&B is near Brown, RISD and walking distance to the downtown area. Patty created wonderful breakfasts for us which included omelets, fresh fruit pancakes, waffles, French toast in addition the muffins, coffee cakes +++++. We loved it! Max was an excellent proprietor. He made sure all of our requests were handled. Tops in service!!!

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs, ask for a first floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Old Court a few years ago. This time, I spent several days there with my daughter. The people at this B&B, from the proprietor to the room service crew, are the most helpful and pleasant I've ever met. The rooms are comfortable, decorated a bit in the "faded glory" style. The breakfast is wonderful, and they'll make things to order for you, within reason. They leave fruit and cookies out all the time for snacks, and there is always juice in the fridge in the dining room. In a few days, you begin to feel like one of the family. Don't have an umbrella? They'll lend you one. Need information about something? They'll go out of their way to find it for you.

The location is ideal, on the East side, but near the river, with plenty of restaurants and cafés in the vicinity. We walked everywhere from there.

A little hint: The receptionist, Randy Bush, does stand-up comedy in clubs in the vicinity. We caught his act one night, and it was really great.

Room Tip: The sizes of the rooms vary a lot. Last time we were in a very small room; this time we had a larger room. Of course, the price varies accordingly.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvlenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were in Providence for a family wedding and many of us stayed at the Old Court which is centrally located in the historical area with walking distance to the Visitors Center where Park Ranger narratives are available. The manager, Max and staff, Randy and Patty of the B & B were most accommodating and served wonderful breakfasts in a spacious dining room which also served as family gathering space . We did have a room on the third floor which was quite a hike up and down but it prepared our legs for Providence hills. Some of the rooms in the B & B could use an updating in décor. I would return just for the hospitality, though.

Room Tip: The Milwaukee room could use some refurbishing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yankee070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews