We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pinehurst, NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful. My 17 year old stayed there by herself for two weeks to attend a course at RISD. I came up to visit at the end of her stay. It is in a very nice, safe neighborhood. The B&B is ideally located for RISD or Brown University. The breakfast (included) was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    36
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
39
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I thought this was a decent B&B. It is old-fashioned and has a vintage feel but it basically has everything you need. The breakfast was fine. The location is great - right near Brown and RISD if you are visiting for graduation - walking distance to both.
Won't blow your socks off but well priced option for Providence.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank septemberfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I stayed at the Old Court for one night while visiting Providence for a job interview. Luckily, my room was paid for by the potential employer, since this would have been out of my price range otherwise. However, for your money, you get a lot, and to some people, it might be worth the price.

My room was on the third floor (walk-up), but I didn't mind. I had a beautiful view of the State Capitol building and downtown skyline. My bathroom was a bit small, but nice enough. The was large with a rather old-fashioned brass bed, not plush by any means, but comfy enough for my needs. I used the wireless internet, which worked well. The building seemed to have rather thin walls (like old buildings do), and sometimes I heard other guests talking on the phone. The stairs were creaky-- definitely felt like an old house. It was winter, and the heat worked fine-- I wasn't cold at all.

I had breakfast downstairs, and it was delicious, and omelet, I think. There was also a large range of cereal, fruit, milk, juice, other things. The cereal, milk, and juice were available 24/7 in a fridge in the dining room for guests to help themselves, which provided me with a nice little late-night snack the first evening.

Location is what makes this place, whether you're doing something downtown, at Brown, or at RISD, you're pretty close to the center of things, without the need to necessarily cross through the chaos of Kennedy Square to get over to College Hill (as you would need to do from the Biltmore or the Westin). Benefit Street is too beautiful for words. Given the snow during my visit, I was grateful to be in close walking distance to everything I needed.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I needed to leave my luggage during the day, and they happily made space for it in a hidden corner of the office. Also, I needed to print some documents, and when I asked the person at the desk about finding a Kinko's, she immediately stopped her work and told me just to print on their computer-- no charge. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vonschwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

As others have said - it is an older but clean place to visit.
Breakfasts were excellent and filling with no complaints here being a big breakfast eater.

We had to go for some quiet strolls even though the weather was frigid - if we find our way back to this area again - we will consider staying here.

  • Liked — Attention to our needs
  • Disliked — Everything was fine
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utravelwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at the Old Court. Since there were no other guests the first night (midweek in early December), Chris offered us a free upgrade to a larger room. It is an old place but very comfortable. Breakfast was good - omelets, eggs Benedict were offered. The parking lot was small but no problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaDawgsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I had the misfortune of booking a reservation at this B&B but then cancelling it due to the fact I was moving house that weekend.
I contacted the B&B the month before but unfortunately did it by phone and not E-mail.
I received a call the night I moved which was also the night we had previously reserved Despite the fact I explained to the desk person my situation, I was told they had no record of my cancellation and they charged me $220 for a no show.
I find it sad that this place was so unwilling to compromise or to give me some leeway .
Apparently in some places the almighty $ is more important than good will and customer relations. Quite pathetic .

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

What a great place - unbeatable location on Benefit Street for beautiful walks. Our room was large & well appointed, clean & comfortable. We had low water pressure one morning but it was great the next. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! Staff were very friendly & helpful, giving good local recommendations. Yes, the parking is compact but what do you expect when you're right in the thick of an old city? We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dsharc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,050 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Court Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Address: 144 Benefit St., Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > College Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel Providence
Old Court b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing