We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2012

As I have discovered during my travels, Hampton Inn is pretty much a sure bet for a nice hotel at a fair price. This particular Hampton was a bit nicer than most. We stayed here as part of a college tour for one of my kids and the location is very convenient to Brown University (a 4-5 minute drive to the admissions office). The staff was exceptionally friendly and professional. We arrived in a rental car and we opted to valet park it with the hotel ($25) instead of parking it in the adjacent lot ($18). Based on other reviews I read on TA, I requested a corner room on the 3rd floor. It worked out well. Our tour at Brown wasn’t until 2:00, so we took the opportunity to sleep in…which meant we missed the complimentary breakfast. The young lady at the front desk called around to find a local place that we still serving breakfast (it was 11:00) and sent us to Tommy’s Place…a throw back to the 50’s diner/bar (tasty grub and dirt cheap).

This is a great place to stay if you’re doing business downtown or if you’ve visiting Brown University.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgerManAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

An attractive property in the center of downtown Providence, the Hampton Inn was a short walk to Brown and Providence Place Mall. The room was spotless and looked recently refurbished. The breakfast (free) was above average and was served in an historic dining room next to the lobby.
The staff was very friendly recommending shops and restaurants.
The only complaint would have to be the parking; at $25 a night, it was not a good deal.
Otherwise, the location and service makes the Hampton the best we've stayed at in Providence.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank achrisNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Fantastic location! Was in town with my partner, who goes to school at Brown. The hotels location within the City Center and within walking distance to Brown was fantastic!

In addition, the room (corner room, as we are Diamond with Hilton) was spacous, clean and bright with plenty of windows.

The breakfast area was clean and sufficient for a Hampton. Nothing extrodinary, but then no Hampton has an outstanding breakfast selection. It's free so I can not complain at all!

The room was quiet, and there was very little street noise to be heard. I'll definitely be staying again come February '13.

Room Tip: Is you can....get a corner room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My family & I stayed here for graduation weekend in May 2012 and were very pleased with our stay! I went to college in Providence and there isn't a hotel in downtown Providence with a better location and value. It's centrally located near the financial district in downtown Providence and is walking distance to all the main sights in the city: about 15 minutes to Thayer Street (near Brown University); 10 minutes to the Amtrak train station; and 10 minutes to the Providence Place Mall/ Dunkin' Donuts Center/ RI Convention Center, etc. The location is super convenient and really is hard to beat!

The rooms are slightly small; they're narrower than most Hampton Inn rooms I've stayed in, but it's not a surprise since buildings in that part of the area are smaller and older. Regardless, the rooms are new and clean and the bed is super comfortable! Wifi is free- you just have to enter the passcode they give you when you check in, as the system logs you off every 24 hours.

Valet parking at the hotel is $25/ day and the parking lot directly behind the hotel off of Pine Street is $15/ day, so we were glad the front desk let us know of that helpful tip!

The hotel retains its historic New England charm with a modern touch. The front desk is always helpful and attentive! The breakfast is plentiful and is constantly being restocked. Next time we're in Providence we will be sure to stay here again, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from an excellent one day/night stay at the hotel. It is a less than 10 minute walk from the Amtrack Station. Just go South along Exchange Street. We felt most welcome during check-in and there is hot tea/chocolate/coffee in the lobby the whole day. We took the hotel shuttle to Brown (recommended for the uphill journey) and then returned by foot. One of the most impressive Hampton Inns we have stayed at. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room faces a multi-storey carpark but we got early check-in. So I am not complaining.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at Hampton Inn for our daughter's Brown Graduation. It is easy walking distance to the Green and all of Brown. The room was clean, well stocked, and the breakfast is included. There are also nice restaurants in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed on a corner suite facing Weybosset. It was quite!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for Brown Reunion weekend and really enjoyed our time. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel due to the festivities, but found everything we needed while there...free breakfast, free wi-fi, and a shuttle that took us to the train station, all at a great rate. There didn't seem to be much going on around the hotel itself (the town actually seemed dead), but a close walk up to College Hill proved perfect for us. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Godfathr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,687 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 13 in Providence
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £107 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing