We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Providence RI!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to stay in Providence RI!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is a great place to stay at a reasonable price for the central location. The staff is nice and it is a well maintained facility. The central location makes it a great place to stay for conferences or dining out at really good restaurants. Access to this hotel is easy and the valet parking is convenient. The room we had was very quiet and the breakfast provided in the morning was palatable. I will definitely consider this facility for my next trip to Providence.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you very much for kind words! We love taking care of our guests and we value your comments and use them to help us be the best hotel in Providence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    302
    82
    12
    12
See reviews for
373
216
53
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Providence, whilst visiting from Australia to see our son who is studying at RISD. The Hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful with all our inquiries about getting around the city and recommending places to visit and to eat. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel for a very long time. The complimentary breakfast offered many options and the complimentary tea and coffee (24 hrs) in the lobby was appreciated, along with the baked cookies in the afternoon and the free WIFI in the rooms. Our room was very quiet (room 308). The complimentary shuttle to the train station was greatly appreciated for our party of 6 with 12 suitcases. The location of the Hampton to RISD and Brown university is excellent, while still being a great location in the Downtown district and so close to Providence Mall. I would definitely recommend The Hampton Inn and Suites and would gladly stay again if I was to return to Providence.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property and great location. We look forward to your next return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here due to their proximity to Brown University (walking distance) and the fact that they offer a shuttle to nearby locations. They also offer a shuttle to and from the Providence airport for a reasonable fee.

The lobby is beautiful, and the breakfast was your typical free breakfast. The front desk staff were nice. We had asked for a quiet room, which they said they gave us, but somehow it was very noisy. The whole night we could hear various noises: elevator bell, people's voices, television, doors opening &b closing, and so on. As noted in previous reviews, I suspect that the walls are thin at this particular Hampton Inn, and we were simply stuck with the results.

The other thing we experienced was that the room key needed to operate the elevator was not very effective. We often had to try 3 or 4 times before we could get it to work.

Otherwise, everything was up to par - comfortable beds and so on. I just wish it were quieter!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeny-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad that out of the many hotels in Providence, you chose us. We appreciate the feedback and the next time you stay with us, we will be happy to keep you away from the elevator and so you don't have to hear the day to day moving within the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the shuttle service and complimentary hot breakfast buffet and all the choices we have. Our staff takes pride in providing great service and we hope to have you back so we can take care of you upon your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Location is great, but be prepared to add $25 per day for valet. Elevators are room key access only, and every time we walked by one, people we're having issues getting them to work. We just used the stairs. Our room was on the second floor next to noisy parking garage. Nephew couldn't play his Xbox due to AV jacks being removed. WiFi was slow, too. Breakfast buffet was okay and convenient. Probably won't stay again unless it's the only option.

Room Tip: High floors! Lower floors have loud parking garage right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
I am very surprised that your stay was not a great one. Our hotel is in the heart of downtown Providence which at times can be noisy, but expected in a metro city. I am very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. We are a top choice in this downtown area and are rated number 1 on Trip Advisor out of 12 hotels and it is because of our beautiful historic hotel, great customer service and all the extra amenities we offer. I apologize for the valet parking fee of $25, but there are other options in the area that range from $14 (directly behind the hotel) all the way to $25 for self parking at other local lots. All the downtown hotels charge for parking and I wanted to let you know we are amongst the lowest rate. I hope this helps and that you do come back for another visit, as we would love to meet and exceed your expectations upon your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent two nights here just before Christmas. It didn't start well. Our agent had accidentally booked us into a *different* Hampton Inn, outside town (not helpful for us as we can't drive), and the reception staff weren't able to transfer our booking.

Reception staff were as helpful as they could be (the mis-booking wasn't their fault, after all). Once we managed to re-book and check in, things improved considerably. The room was clean, nicely furnished and a good size.

The hotel is very well located, walking distance from Brown University and downtown bars and restaurants. Service was friendly and helpful.

It's a fairly standard chain hotel - nothing exciting or quirkly, but reliable, good quality, and exactly what you'd expect in terms of service.

In short, I would stay here again in the (admittedly unlikely) event I'm in Providence again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
I am so happy that we were able to work everything out for you and get you to our hotel where you originally wanted to be! Our staff works very hard at making every request a priority and making sure you are happy and 100% satisfied with your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and if you do return to Providence, we thank you in advance for making us your choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hampton Inns are very standardized of course, and like McDonalds there are few surprises. Still this property is well situated to Brown University with a particularly pleasant staff. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: There is a bit of street noise so choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you! We are a cookie cutter Hampton as far as the standards, but that is where it ends! We are so fortunate to have our hotel built in an old bank from the early 1900's with all the original architecture. We have cathedral ceilings, crown molding, beautiful marble floors, anything but cookie cutter! We take special pride in our outstanding service and look forward to making each and every guest's stay perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

With exception of the parking it is great hotel for the money. We did valet and they were right on it when you needed your car. $25 plus tips.Includes breakfast and coffee out all day. Room was nice a little small but still comfortable. Everything you need is walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! There are lots of choices for where you can stay in Providence and we are the top choice on Trip Advisor because of our loyal guests, like you! Parking can be tough in the city, but we are one of the lowest priced for valet out of all the hotels. Also, just so you know, there are parking lots all around us ranging from $14-$22 if you do not want to use our convenient valet. I hope this helps for when you return, as we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing