We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good location nice hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and is close to wll providence has to offer. My only complaints would be the breakfast was a little sparse by 9 and the air conditioning was a little wonky in the rooms. No way was it 69 degrees. The entire staff here was excellent and extremely helpful, especially the front desk and shuttle driver.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was more than pleasant. We strive to exceed your satifactions. We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    313
    91
    14
    13
See reviews for
395
225
56
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This particular branch of Hampton Inn feels more like a nice city hotel than the typical Hampton Inn at every airport and suburban business center. We had a nice view, the parking, while not free, was convenient, the breakfast was good (and free) and the block was attractive. This will probably be a good choice if you are visiting colleges in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review!!! That is exactly what we aim for with our Hampton Inn & Suites. We have such a unique property and we strive to give our guests exactly what they expect from Hampton but with an awesome city vibe at the same time! So glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paxton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a great stay at the Hampton Inn in Providence RI. From the pleasant and helpful employees to the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. The valet person was just as accommodating.and the hotel is in a fantastic location Keep up the great work, we will be back soon!! Mark and Kathi Fontaine

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you guys for that 5 star review and your kind words about the staff and property! We are so happy you enjoyed everything we had to offer and we hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were visiting the Brown University, and the Hampton turned out to be a great option. You can walk to Brown, takes 15 minutes, walk to the Amtrak station if you have light luggage, everything is close by. Given the price range - the rooms are good sized, well maintained, breakfast is what you would expect in a place like this. Staff was friendly, there is Coffee/Tea in the lobby at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev_Shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It is nice to hear about your time in Providence! It really sounds like you enjoyed yourself! With our location in the heart of downtown Providence, most places are within walking distance which is an awesome plus! Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel does everything it says on the tin - it's location is excellent, wi fi was free and efficient and we had a pleasant hot breakfast . The free of charge business centre was well equipped with computers and printers. Our suite was spacious with a better than average shower. The outside of the hotel is very attractive .
For me, it was the decor and soft furnishings in our suite that let this hotel down . Our room was drab and depressing . Yes, I understand that it is a question of taste and that those red drapes, old fashioned armchair/sofa and dark brown furniture were probably chosen to be in keeping with the historic character of the building But to me they simply looked ugly and out of date
And Hampton Inns procurement department really needs to move up a notch when choosing towels . Ours were far too small and non absorbent .
The staff were pleasant and efficient especially the valet , Although rather an 'average' hotel there were enough pluses to just nudge it into the 'very good' class .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I appreciate when our guests taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad your enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon, we truly love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The entire staff at this hotel was professional and accommodating from valet to front desk to other staff. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and neat. I would stay at this hotel again whenever in Providence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the 5 star review!! As always, at the Hampton Inn & Suites, we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Parking in the back of the hampton is only $15 for the night so avoid the $25 valet listed on Hilton's website. We were upgraded to a corner king suite on the 4th floor facing the front of the building (Room 401). The room and whole hotel were in great condition. The building is a historic location with all the modern touches you would expect at a hotel, microwave, fridge, new furnishings, etc. The river is 2 blocks away, close walking distance to good restaurants, cvs drugstore, bars, and some late night food marts. Only downside is not in the hotels control, trash pickup on Monday morning was very noisy around 6am. If I am in Providence again in the future this will be on the top of my list for hotels. Thank you hampton for another great experience!

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if you have status
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Well Thank You! I am so happy you chose to stay with us and got to experience the Hamptonality first hand!! Thank you for the review and hopefully we will get to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,625 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 13 in Providence
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing