We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mostly great service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. The staff was very accommodating. The business center is very useful, open 24 hours, and boasts free printing, computer use, and internet. The hotel room also includes complementary WiFi for one day, more if you're an HHonors member. There was a minor issue with the valet parking, other than that, my experience was excellent. Would stay at Hampton Inn & Suites again the next time I'm in Providence. Teja, from the front desk, was especially helpful to me during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MidnightBlue974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us. I am happy to hear that your stay went great! Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, especially the specifics. It is always great to be able to reward staff members with a job well done when they get pointed out by our guests. Teja is a great worker and takes so much pride in her job, I am happy to hear she made an impact on your stay. Thats called Hamptonality!!! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    301
    82
    12
    12
See reviews for
373
216
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were in town for an event and chose to stay here because I've had good experiences with Hampton Inns in the past. Their website says they provide transportation to local attractions.....not the case at all. We asked multiple times and were told that the shuttle only goes to the airport. Very disappointed. Thankfully we had good weather so we were able to walk. There were a few staff standouts but all in all not enough to make up for those that seemed as they had something better to do. Oh and our room was tiny. When in Providence stay at the Omni!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. I am so sorry that your experience was not up to standards. We try our best to accomodate guests looking to go to area attractions if our shuttle is available, however our website states that our shuttle offers transportation to and from local transportation hubs (airport and train station) I do sincerely hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and thank you again for your feedback. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days while attending a workshop at Brown. Great location, VERY clean, friendly staff…we couldn't have been more comfortable. Our room had a mini-frig (not sure if they are in all rooms). Complimentary breakfast had lots of healthy options and a nice rotation of selections. If you plan on parking overnight consider using lot behind hotel ($10/night cheaper than hotel valet).

Room Tip: Older building, so elevators are a bit slow. We loved being on the 2nd floor so we could simply skip...
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't like that they are still using small plastic bottles for room toiletries.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flannery_Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are located in the heart of downtown Providence, All the downtown hotels charge for valet parking and we are amongst the lowest rates. There are also parking lots adjacent to the hotel that offer rates as low as $14 overnight and they are in the immediate area. The lots range from $14 to $22 and they are an available option if you do not choose to valet park. I hope this helps upon your next stay to our property, as we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntington, wv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very impressed with this property, especially for the price! Property was immaculate, staff excellent. Minor complaint: the parking/valet pricing at 25.00 or 15.00 to self park. Maybe because it was the weekend and financial district empty but parking not difficult at and lot is attached. But all in all great stay .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmh091309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are located in the heart of downtown Providence, All the downtown hotels charge for valet parking and we are amongst the lowest rates. There are also parking lots adjacent to the hotel that offer rates as low as $14 overnight and they are in the immediate area. The lots range from $14 to $22 and they are an available option if you do not choose to valet park. I hope this helps upon your next stay to our property, as we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came to attend capeverdian fetival of their independence day. Hotel is in walking distance of park, where festival took place. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Room was nice, although view from window was to parking building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for kind words! We love taking care of our guests and we value your comments and use them to help us be the best hotel in Providence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came to attend capeverdian fetival of their independence day. Hotel is in walking distance of park, where festival took place. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Room was nice, although view from window was to parking building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for kind words! We love taking care of our guests and we value your comments and use them to help us be the best hotel in Providence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Caldwell NJ, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You should not have any problems with this hotel at all. They are professionals through and through. Check-in, room condition, courteousness and helpfulness of this crew made for a nice visit to Providence. I would encourage repeat business. Don't break the bank with more expensive hotels in Providence if you don't have to. This is the one you want!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are so happy you that you picked our hotel and enjoyed all of our amenities! We hope you come back to stay with us soon. We know there are many choices in Providence, but we are happy you made the right one by staying with us! We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,356 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
1,118 reviews
Hotel Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing