We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with value for money.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
288 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great location with value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Only a year old (is a combo of what used to be The Old Colony Bank and a small chapel) the hotel is new, nicely furnished and surprisingly quiet.
Noting the cost of local downtown hotels here (The Westin, Biltmore etc) this provides an excellent affordable alternative.
Being downtown, parking is always expensive - and one might see the $25 additional (valet only) parking costs a little steep but this is not totally unreasonable.
Very pleased to be treated with politeness from staff at all levels - from valet to cleaners to all the desk staff.
The usual Hampton Inn breakfast area is a little stark re the decor and the sound echo when crowded but this hardly deflects from the fact that if you need to stay centrally this an excellent affordable choice without all the unnecessary 'Westin frills' that add so much to the cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    294
    80
    11
    11
See reviews for
363
214
53
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

After 3 nights I think that was a nice experience to stay at Hamptons Inn and Suites.
Very sympathetic complimentary breakfast,wireless iternrt and of course very central location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

I arrived at the Hampton Inn quickly due to the fast and friendly shuttle service from the airport - it's such a great perk. I was in RI for my sister's heart surgery at Rhode Island Hospital and this hotel helped me feel less anxious under such a stressful situation. The staff was super friendly and even remembered my name. They really made an effort at each stage of my stay, which you just don't find that often at hotels anymore. I was allowed an early check-in, the staff was swift and very friendly/professional. The room was spotless, and I am a clean freak. The bed was so comfy, I actually slept soundly. A great stay overall, especially for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambursky/Victo... s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

My flight was delayed and these nice folks went to the airport twice just to pick me up! Good old US Air, never again, delays, delays! Anyway on to the hotel.

The front desk staff was patient and accomodating. The shuttle drivers were excellent and most helpful. A great property, good location, good value! The rooms are new and well kept, the staff great (I said that already), great value!!

An excellent choice!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinnywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

I traveled to Providence, RI with my 12 yr. old son to see a show and attend one of his friend's sporting events. After a 3 and 1/2 hour Amtrak train ride from NYC, we arrived in Providence at 10:30am exhausted! It was way before check in time but we were able to check into a beautiful king sized w/ sofabed room! The room had a fridge and microwave which is great when traveling with a kid! The check in was super easy and the desk staff were so sweet. They asked us questions about why we were in Providence and actually listened to my son explain about his friend's hockey game for over 10 minutes! They offered us tons of tips, maps and informed us of their hotel history and the free shuttle service.
After resting for a bit we headed to Providence Place Mall (which is great but you see one mall, you've seen them all) and the shuttle was waiting for us. The driver, I believe his name was Jay or Ray, could not have been nicer. He told us so many Providence stories and even gave us his number so we can call him directly to pick us up! We used the shuttle service at least 4 more times and we didn't get the same driver each time, but they were all super sweet and eager to help. It seems all the staff here was eager to help and really did their jobs well. I saw no rude staff and bored looks like in some other hotel staff in other cities.
We also checked out the Providence Performing Arts Center which is about 3 blocks away and a beautiful small theater. Was blown away by it's beauty. Loved how the city is full of kids & teens riding around on skateboards after dinnertime! There is also water everywhere and the town seems so quiet and friendly all over!
Providence was a great city and this hotel is a gem in it! I know it has a few more hotels a bit more extravagant, but this hotel was just as great, I'm sure. Super sweet & helpful staff, great with kids, loved the free breakfast (even my son did and he's a picky one), Internet connection worked great and most importantly for me, it was a super safe area and environment! Can't wait to go visit this great city again and will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dymphna_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

I totally agree with all of the former comments. The hotel is in pristine condition, the breakfast was great, shuttle was as quick as they could be and driver was friendly. The entire staff from maids to front desk, shuttle driver, valet and breakfast were incredibly friendly and helpful. The only negatives were the huge cost to park ($25 a night) and the temperature of the room at night, warm outside and could not sleep because room was too hot. Apparently a.c. is turned off and this seems to be a consistent pattern at Hampton Inns. But all in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trans54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
274 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

What a GREAT hotel. Perfect staff and location and they will do anything for you. Located right in the center of the downtown, across the river from Brown University. Nearby are good restaurants and shops and you can safely walk anywhere. But the only down side, if you have a car, is the $25/night parking fee they charge. BUT, right behing the hotel is a parking lot with nice people running it, and they let you park there for $5 overnight (until 1 the next day) and then $13 more for another day. The hotel has a shuttle driven by a nice guy named Pete, and will take you anywhere you want to go at night, and he even gives you his cell # and you just call Pete and he comes to get you too! Amazing. My only complaint about the hotel is the rooms are hot...they turn off the air in October and it's only heat now. But it was almost 70 degrees outside and we could not get the room cool at night. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay and Providence is a gem...if you haven't been there, go. Highlight of our New England trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing