We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Providence Marriott Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
US$278
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$253
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$224
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dean Hotel(Providence)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
US$192
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Dolce Villa(Providence)
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveller rating
868
423
196
78
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
423
196
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkingbluefin grillethe concierge loungebluefishshuttle servicefront desk staffbusiness meetingthis past weekendthe entire staffupon checkbrown universitynew englandfitness centerfederal hillrhode islandaqua
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,408 - 1,413 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I'm a little delayed in writing a recommendation - but here goes. We stayed at the Downtown Providence Marriott location when I ran the inagural Rock and Roll half marathon in August 2011. We were VERY warmly welcomed by the doorman who couldn't do enough for us. If ever I met a doorman who enjoyed his job as much as he did meeting new people and ensuring their comfort in their stay - he was it. Even my 8 and 10 year old kids recognized how helpful he was and acknowledged it. Our room was located w/ a pool view. The room was very comfortable and provided us what we needed during our stay from modern amenties which was kept very meticulous. My kids enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and mom/dad enjoyed sitting poolside enjoying the contemporary poolside decor. If the hotel didn't have 'downtown' in it's name, you would truly feel you are in a serene getaway with mood lighting, live music and an outdoor tiki bar. On race day, unfortunately the rain came and I was not prepared accordingly with appropriate cover up until race time. An alternative is using trash bags to keep you dry while you wait. I had asked the front desk for a trash bag and she brought the largest trash bag you could find where my entire body was nearly covered and kept dry until the race started. Even funnier was when I went up to my room and came down a few moments later and noticed 50+ runners all in the same plastic attire. This hotel looks out for their guests and truly was a hospitable place to stay. We would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and you will enjoy looking out at a very eye appealing outdoor oasis
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandGirl713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear IslandGirl713,
It's never too late to hear about how much you loved your stay with us! Thank you for letting our Trip Advisor readers hear about your awesome experience. We will never forget the day of the marathon. The rain was intense! All the runners were very good sports about it. Glad we could loan you a "poncho". We're also very glad that you enjoyed your relaxation time with us. Our outdoor lounge (AQUA) is like an Oasis in the City. We agree with you - our guests really do feel like they've escaped when they spend time out there. AQUA opens in May. Hope to see you before the next marathon - if not see you in August! Happy Holidays! And Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just stayed here for three nights with my wife and three kids - this is one of the few hotels that willingly will book a room for five. Had a nice stay. There is plenty of free parking, wifi is free in rooms, lots of free papers (USA, WSJ and Providence paper), the gym is decently sized and equipped and the indoor pool is actually one of the better indoor pools I have been to. Our rate was also pretty great at only $99 a night. Tremendous value. The hotel is even pet friendly, we took out dog for a one-time (not per night) clean-up fee of $49. That part went only ok. The first night while fifteen minutes away at a family dinner of 17 at a Cranston restaurant I was called back by cell "for numerous complaints from guests of a barking dog in my room". Well of course, when I got there our dog was totally quiet. Probably our own fault for not acclimating our dog more to the hotel before ditching her for dinner out. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Downsides - bathroom is pretty small.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Circusboyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Circusboyny,
Thank you so much for spending your holiday with us. We are happy your four-legged friend could join you as well. Don't feel bad; sometimes the most well-behaved dog gets a little nervous at a hotel.
Thank you for mentioning our ample free parking and complimentary wireless. We've found that is what our guests are looking for in addition to our amazing amenities - like our awesome indoor pool. Glad you liked it!
Hope you have a very happy holiday season and when you visit family and friends in the RI area that you think of us.
Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just spent another week at this Marriot. We stay here whenever we go to visit family in Rhode Island. Thanksgiving week was a little slow at the hotel, but picked up on Friday after the holiday. The room was great, with comfy beds. The wake up call was on time. The free wi-fi was appreciated! I used the free hotel van shuttle to go downtown one night to see a play and it was a great perk. Free parking too! Refrigerator in room was also nice. We stayed on the concierge level and enjoyed access to the free snack and water every day. Can't say enough about this place. They recently remodeled the lobby and now have several areas to sit and chat with large tables to put things on, instead of just sofas and coffee tables. Had breakfast in the restaurant one day which was also quite good. You can read my past reveiws for more info.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the concierge level rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Welcome back Laura99!
We appreciate your loyalty and your excellent feedback about your stay with us. Now that we offer free wireless, we are hearing comments like yours about how much that is appreciated. We're so glad that you chose to stay with us again and hope to see you very soon.
Happy Holidays!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Providence Marriott Downtown has won our endorsement when we visit our son at Brown University. It's a typical Marriott and is much improved since a recent (2011) upgrade. Parking is free though internet is not free. With so many great dining options in Providence, we avoid the on site restaurant. On the half dozen occassions we've stayed there, rooms were super clean, staff very nice, check in fast. There's a Whole Foods less than a mile away. It is very close to Brown and RISD. In addition to being convenient to the schools, it's also just off of Interstate 95. Be sure to book early and/or use points/corporate rates to avoid the relatively high list price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view (or a pool view in the summer), otherwise you may be looking at a brick wall.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear sgerlak,
Your endorsement is what our hotel team strives for every day. Your feedback about our new reinvented lobby called the Greatroom is awesome as well! Next time you visit the Providence Marriott Downtown you will be even more excited to find out...we now have FREE wireless! We are also a great location for visiting colleges! :) Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been more disappointed. Guest rooms could use a major overhaul and these were the club rooms.

Restaurant is average with service comparable to that of a casual chain.

If you're not from the area (which most guests are not), the hotel is very inconvenient and driving or taking a cab or bus is necessary - especially at night.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank dba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear dba80,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us. Our hotel team works very hard to make each guest's stay special and memorable and different than a typical hotel stay. We're very sorry you did not feel that you experienced this. We hope you have a good Thanksgiving and a Happy Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews