We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay & free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Driving in from NYC, free parking was definitely the selling point for me on this 2 night stay.

The price included breakfast which was very good, make own omelets and such. The room was large and had a king-sized bed which was very comfortable and bathroom with all amenities.

A short walk to a more central area which included the mall where there were some good restaurants to eat at, and of course the water fire during the summer was nice to see and had a great atmosphere. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jquinn887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear jquinn887,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Providence Marriott Downtown with our Trip Advisor readers. We are please to be the only hotel in Providence that offers free parking. It is a great value. We are also pleased to know that you booked one of our overnight packages that included breakfast. Our breakfast buffet is awesome - especially the omelets.
We hope to see you in the near future. A partial schedule for WaterFire has been released with more to come as the season draws near. Hope you are having a Happy Spring! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We just stayed here (last time was about 15 years ago). If you want a base for touristing in the Providence area, great weekend special rates. Staff was friendly, no issues with accomodations.
Restaurant was excellent - we originally planned to eat somewhere on Federal Hill, but liked the first night at Marriott we went again second night.

Since I tend to be restless during the night when not sleeping at home, I get up frequently, and noticed that the security regularly patrolled the parking lot. So, even though downtown, I think it is a safe spot.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel means some rooms are a hike; if this is an issue, let desk know you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephForthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Joseph Forthill,
Welcome back to the Providence Marriott Downtown! Thank you for your raved reviews. We appreciate that you took the time to share the details of your experience with our TA readers. I'm glad you were so satisfied with the quality of our restaurant, the Bluefin Grille, with our security and location and that you enjoyed our staff. Please do not let another 15 years go by without visiting us again! We're the place to be in the summer. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for a family function in Providence. We are now Marriott Elite. We had room 655 This was a busy weekend at this hotel. Quick check in at 3:30 on 3/16. Friendly personal staff. Our room had a musty smell, we kept the fan on. All the hotel guests on the 6th floor were quite noisy.

On3/18 we had breakfast. Good service. They handled the large group.

We would stay here again, great location. Not the room we had, 655.

Very friendly staff,clean hotel.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Teach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Teach1977,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay last weekend. I will have our team look into the issue of the musty odor in your room right away. I apologize for that and hope your fan helped you with the odor. Overall, I appreciate that you felt the hotel was very clean and overall your stay was very good. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant the Bluefin Grille and our staff left a positive impression. Congratulations on becoming a Marriott Elite Member! We hope you will visit again very soon and thank you for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference. The rooms are very nice. They are big and the mattress and pillows are very comfortable!

The pool area was really nice. There was a hot tub indoors and the pool was actually half inside and half outside. It was pretty cool. The patio was really nice with gas powered fire pits scattered about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcaiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Dcaiani,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our Trip Advisor readers. The weather has been outstanding and we plan to open our outdoor pool next month - our indoor pool is all year. AQUA, our outdoor lounge, will open in May. We hope you will visit us again since you enjoyed yourself so much! Happy Spring!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The rooms are BEAUTIFUL and well kept. The hotel is much nicer than one would expect from the outside view. I'm glad that we stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QC0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear QC0805,
Thank you for taking to time to share your comments about your experience during your stay with us. We are pleased that you found your room to be beautiful and well kept. We hope that when you visit Providence again you will think of us. We're gearing up for summer and will be opening our outdoor pool next month. Our outdoor lounge, AQUA, will open in May. We hope to see you this summer - if not, sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Always enjoy our stays at the Providence Marriott Downtown. The service is excellent, and the amenaties are first rate. Bluefin Grill is the in-house restaurant, and we love it for its food, ambience and service

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear William L,
We are glad to be your favorite Providence, RI Hotel. Thank you for your great comments. Hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This Marriott looks OK, is reasonably well situated and is blessed with very warm andf helpful staff. The problem is shoddy construction of the building itself. The rooms are small, cramped with all of the furniture, and very poorly insulated for noise. I heard a lot from both my next-door neighbour (in spite of the absence of connecting doors) and my upstairs neighbour - clearly not their fault but that of cheap construction. And harshly slamming doors in the corridor all night (the hotel was hosting a convention). I expect (much) better from a business hotel. The very least one hopes for is a good night's sleep. No such luck!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Frequenttraveller076,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. We, too, feel blessed for our amazing staff. We have a super friendly team and hope our guests feel the same way that you did. I do want to address your unfortunate experience with noisy neighbors. There's nothing worse when you just want to get some sleep. I apologize for your experience and hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,876 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,241 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 13 in Providence
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £105 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing