We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good! A few things keep it from excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, Vermont
Level Contributor
266 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“very good! A few things keep it from excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting colleges in the area. We chose it because we got a good AAA rate with free breakfast for 2(they wouldn't budge to include another 2 breakfasts for our kids).

I don't quite understand the negative reviews of this hotel. We've stayed at ALOT of places over the years, and this is a really good hotel! It doesn't look old to me. The lobby is very attractive, as is the pool bar area. The room we stayed in is typical size, not small at all. The bathroom is typical as well, although there is no exhaust fan. I just don't get hotels that don't have exhaust fans in their bathrooms. The air conditioner is very efficient.

The pool is a nice touch; both the indoor/outdoor, but also the ability to lounge around and have food by the pool.

The buffet breakfast was phenomenal! I was very impressed with the variety of fresh fruits and breakfast entrees. They also have an omelet station.

My big pleasant surprise was the free wireless service! This is not indicated on the web site. In fact, the web site states a 9.95 charge! So I was relieved. And the free printing service came in handy, as my daughter had to print off a paper she was writing for school.

Of course free parking is a real treat. We had no problem finding a parking space. I was a little concerned about hearing that there have been alot of break ins into cars, but I was very grateful that the hotel let us know.

The free shuttle is a nice touch as well--we were able to go to Providence Place with no problem.

The best part of the experience was the staff--incredibly professional. Very attentive and appropriately pleasant. They are obviously well trained.

Now the not so good, which prevents an excellent rating. They have a nice snack shop, but it is not stocked with anything that would be needed in a pinch: aspirin, feminine hygiene products, and the like. Given this hotel is nowhere near a drug store, that would be good. I also don't get why such a nice hotel would only have double beds. We were traveling with two teenage girls, and squeezing the four of us into two beds was challenging. I don't think this hotel welcomes families with children. Tht was evident on their web site--no place to include kids on the reservation. Also, a cot is 20$ extra a night!!! The hallways outside the rooms are not well ventilated. They were in fact humid on humid days. Very uncomfortable

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefultraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear carefultraveler55,
Thank you for your great review! We are always striving to rate excellent and your feedback is truly appreciated. It seems like you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Our breakfast buffet is renowned and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed it so much. We continue to be the only hotel in Providence that offers complimentary parking. Our free shuttle service is also a bonus and we're happy you were able to utilize it. Hope to see you again soon and thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    369
    172
    61
    31
See reviews for
388
252
52
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, ny
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel offered many amenities and is located centrally to Providence and within walking distance to many attractions. It was clean and upscale, and offered the most extensive breakfast buffet I had ever seen. It has an onsite restaurant as well, and and indoor/pool area with a patio for drinks and or for lunch.... it was amazing.

Room Tip: Loved the rooms overlooking the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Jan M,
What an outstanding review! Thank you for highlighting the amenities of the hotel like our great location, our connecting indoor/outdoor pools, our poolside lounge - AQUA and especially the Bluefin Grille. We are so pleased to hear you were so impressed with the breakfast buffet. I will be sure to share your comments with our hotel team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I really struggled with a 2-star or 3-star rating. 3 may be pushing it since this hotel has seen better days. If I could, I would give it 2.5.

While the lobby and restaurant appear to have been redone, the rooms are something to be desired.

*The elevators are no where near the lobby and you have a good 5 minute walk to the back area of the hotel to get to them.
*The elevators and small and slow. Was always waiting at least 5 minutes for one.
*The walls and doors of the room are thin. It was very easy to hear what was going on in the room next door. The door did not have the traditional "heavy" feel that comes with a hotel door and I could hear everything going on in the hall.
*Internet was wireless and the speed was fairly slow.
*Bathroom was small and dated.
*No 24-hour snack area. Even the Courtyard has a 24-hour market to grab a snack....but not here. Market closes around 8 and room service was done by 11.

That being said, there are a couple good things.

*Traditional Marriott bed with the comfortable mattress and sheets.
*The workout facility was pretty good....newer machines and a good selection of free weights.

I travel to the area about every 6 to 8 weeks. I have traditionally stayed out in Lincoln closer to my office but decided to try "in the city" for a change. Based on this hotel I will probably head back to the Courtyard in Lincoln as it is newer and a more comfortable stay. When you add the nightly rate in, sorry...not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_In_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Jeff_In_Dallas,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We're glad you enjoyed our newly renovated Greatroom (lobby) and our restaurant. We are also please to hear that our fitness center, Club Pace, suited your work out needs. We have recently upgraded our equipment. And, of course, the Marriott REVIVE bedding is luxurious and super comfy.
We do apologize that you were not satisfied with the hours of operation of our food outlets. Our gift shop is open until 10 PM every night with the exception of Sunday in which it closes at 9 PM. Room service is available Sunday - Thursday until 11:00pm, until 12:00am on Friday and Saturday. Our four elevators are centrally located however, we do apologize that you felt it was too far to walk.
We hope that next time you are in the area you try for another stay in the city. Providence is awesome in the summer. Thanks again for your time and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
500 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We came to Rhode Island to attend a wedding in Bristol. From the minute we checked in, we knew this was a great hotel. We are Platnium Marriott members and we had booked part of it on points and part of it on a Travelzoo special. The lobby is very nice, large, open and busy! There is a coffee shop, a salon, a fitness room. The front desk is very welcoming and accomodating. We want to thank Michelle who gave a great tip on the restaurant Agave in Bristol! The rooms were roomy and updated. We were on the Concierge level. The lounge was really great, fully stocked and always friendly. During the times it was closed we had the breakfast buffet in the lobby, it was very good, with omlette station and all! The servers here were outstanding as well. Through the Travelzoo deal, we had a $50 credit that we used at Aqua Pool Bar. This was fantastic. The pool is indoor/outdoor and is beautiful, and the Aqua bar area is so nice. I felt like I was at a resort. The service there was fantastic as well. We really enjoyed our poolside drinks in very hot weather. The shuttle service is great and will take you anywhere in the area. I can't say enough about this hotel. It is one of the best Marriotts we have stayed in. Cheers to the management for such a great property. You won't go wrong here, plus the free parking is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear loribob67,
What a wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you had such an excellent stay. We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences with our Trip Advisor readers. I have shared your review with our management team. We will be sure to acknowledge Michelle as well - we love her too!
Thanks again and we hope to see you again before the summer is over. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights for a baseball tournament. Checked in was smooth and room was clean, pool open 6am -11pm, mall was in walking distant, beach about ½ hr. drive. Only down side no complementary breakfast, this would have been nice seeing that tournament game times start early the boys could have grabbed some fruit or bagels as we ran out the door. Overall a nice stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseballmom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Baseballmom33,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share with other Trip Advisor readers. While we do not offer complimentary breakfast with our standard rate, we do offer many different packages that do include breakfast. Check them out on our web site next time you are planning a trip to Providence. You can find them listed on the tab called room packages next to standard rates tab - based upon availability. Hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great location. Everything is within a short walk or via the free shuttle service.
A discount card is given to each guest and brings a very nice discount at most area restaurants..

Room Tip: Bldg C has the best access to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTretick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear MikeTretick,
What an awesome review! Thank you ! Thank you! We hope you can visit us again soon. Glad you enjoyed the City Advantage card...we think it's cool too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for one night in a room with two double beds. The check in process was efficient and the concierge made a recommendation for a restaurant, dinner reservations and arranged a shuttle within the first ten minutes of our stay. Drinks by the pool made the trip a little vacation. There was quite a bit of AC noise poolside and I have to say it was nearly as loud inside. The hotel is easy to locate from the highway and has ample outside parking. We really appreciated the shuttle service.

The room was very clean. We were a little surprised by the size of the beds as they seemed a bigger than a twin, but smaller than a double. A little tight for two.

Breakfast was not included in the stay. You are offered the choice of a breakfast buffet or you can order off the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainemom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Mainemom3,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to provide quick and efficient service so that your stay can be spent enjoying the wonderful amenities of the hotel (like the connecting indoor and outdoor pools, our outdoor lounge, AQUA or the spa) and not planning what you will do next - although we make sure that is a great experience too! Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing