We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown hotel. The front desk staff cheerfully accommodated our early check-in on Sunday afternoon since our plane had us arriving shortly after noon. There is a lovely lobby and even rocking chairs outside if you like to gather outside of your room. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast in the concierge lounge and chatted with Estelle! What a great asset to the concierge lounge! We also would like to acknowledge a great member of the housekeeping staff. So friendly and accommodating of our requests! Unfortunately, I cannot recall his name, but he is hearing impaired, so if you see him and recognize him, give him a wave and I am sure you will be delighted with his pleasant attitude and service. We did have an issue with the toilet handle falling off, but I called down and they sent someone up to repair it right away. My one area for improvement is similar to the ones noted in many other reviews, please have someone collect the room service items that folks leave in the hall when they are done. It makes the hallway look dirty to see those dishes laying there for 12 hours or more.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srwsrwjlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear srwsrwjlw,
Thank you for your excellent comments. I have already shared them with our team. Estelle is truly amazing and we're pleased that she took such good care of you. We are also very happy you had the chance to meet Julian, our houseman. He is a role model to the housekeeping staff (and the whole hotel) for his level of service and genuine care for our guests. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to recognize our associates. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Providence Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

This Marriott gives you what you'd expect from a good first class business property in the central core of a city. If by chance you are here for a meeting or conference and must eat your meals here- you're in luck. Someone here knows their way around the kitchen. We had sessions in one of the meeting rooms, and had lunch brought in, and it was so good I stayed in for dinner rather than heading out to the downtown area (which I'm told also has terrific options..apparently Providence is well known for this).

This hotel is withing walking distance to the lovely downtown area,including a good sized mall for shopping. It's also fairly close to Brown University and some very cool architecture.

If you are a fitness enthusiast: the fitness room is very up-to-date with large TV's at each station that actually work. There is also a pool that is large enough to swim a few laps, but very warm. Like a hot tub. So - if you're headed that way and want a giant hot tub, this is an added bonus.

All in all a very nice stay at this property.

Room Tip: It's a quiet location-didn't notice any particular benefit from one location or another.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear RFMSP,
WOW! Thank you for your amazing feedback about your visit to our hotel. I will pass along your comments about our culinary team. Our Executive Chef, Franco Paterno, has been with us for over 25 years. He and his team are awesome! Hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

When we stay in Providence, this is our hotel of choice. The staff,s friendliness, the cleanliness, the outdoor pool area are all our favorite attractions. The King-size beds can't be beat but are not always available. Can't wait for our nest get away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjchicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear tjchicca,
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your loyalty and are happy that you continue to choose the Providence Marriott Downtown when ever you visit Providence. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I loved the indoor/outdoor pool and workout room, but these did get crowded in the afternoon with local people. I asked for a quiet room and got a corner room with a king-size bed...great. Linens were good and furnishings fine. Had some minor problems with housekeeping...they had not checked the drawers after the last guest left, and there were men's underwear and clothes in the drawers! When I tried to call the front desk, the phone didn't work! After I recovered from the Twilight Zone moment, I got a very nice hotel employee to help. I stayed two days in order to attend a reunion in Pawtucket...great location since I could zip on and off Rte. 95 right near the hotel. Lots of free parking. The staff was attentive, and even sent me a fruit platter because of my problems with housekeeping. Very nice. Also, highly recommend the hair salon in the hotel. Did a fabulous job with my hair!

Room Tip: Don't go near the pool area....there are parties at night!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkellyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear gkellyNewYorkCity,
So glad you had such a great stay! We are happy to know that the issue you had was resolved quickly. Thanks for the mention of our G Salon & Spa. They do awesome work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here in early July 2012, our first time in Rhode Island. We got an exceptionally good price for a three night stay through a website. Very busy hotel. Our room wasn't ready when we got there, so we asked if the front desk could recommend a restaurant close by, and he did, but none of the places he recommended were open! When we returned from the restaurant, (having found a great place ourselves), the concierge who met us outside was really nice and friendly, took our luggage and told us to check in before we parked our vehicle (free parking, yay!) so we could park close to a more convienient entrance. I was a little concerned by the sign when we checked in, from the police/hotel, advising guests to lock their vehicles and be careful because of break-ins. Desk clerk assured me it was just a reminder to be smart and not leave valuables in your car. I would've believed it was just a reminder if I didn't see signs EVERYWHERE with the same message. Made me think the area wasn't the safest. Now I realize that break-ins can happen anywhere, anytime, and that a wise person would not leave valuables in their vehicle, but the number of signs was concerning. The AQUA indoor/outdoor pool was very nice to look at, but was so crowded we didn't go in there at all. Didn't eat at this hotel so can't comment. Free Wi-Fi definite plus. Room was clean/bathroom fine. A bit slow at cleaning up the hallways, some room service trays were left outside the rooms overnight and into the next morning. Close to Providence Mall. I would not stay at this hotel and pay the posted rate, but for $70 a night, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Mavis10,
Thank you for your great comments! Glad you had such a fantastic stay. We understand that warning our guests that leaving valuables in view in their car is not wise can seem distressing. GPS theft is an issue in cities all across the country. We feel it's our responsibility to remind our guests not to leave their valuable in plain view in their cars. I do apologize that it made you feel uncomfortable. Thanks again for taking the time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is an old hotel that has not kept up with the times. Although 'downtown' it is inot in the city center. I found this an advantage for my trip. Because the parking is free and you are away from the congested traffic. The highpoint is the pool and exercise room. It serves as a health club for the locals. That is nice because it means it is well equipped and well kept. But that means it is busier than most hotel fitness centers. The indoor/outdoor pool is very large and the water is kept at bath temperature (too hot for some but not me). The concierge room is awkward to navigate around but the evening and morning food were up to Marriott standards. I stayed a week and the service had no complaints about the service but I was not wowed either.

Room Tip: Be careful if on the 6th (top) floor. When I checked in I found the 6th floor is not connected thro...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secondtimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Secondtimothy,
Thank you for choosing to spend a whole week with us. We are pleased to hear that you were quite satisfied with your stay and thank you for your great comments. I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to be wowed by us. I only hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can really WOW you this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

As a Marriott Elite member who travels 37 wks/yr nationally, and internationally, I wanted a fair assessment of this hotel: 3 point average is pushing it; 2.5 is more like it. My experience of this hotel is a little bit of everyone elses combined. Based on my week stay here, I concur that all reviewers (good or bad) are pretty much right on!

Understand that this is new england: old and expensive! This hotel is no different. Upon check-in we (& several other families) also waited a few hours for a room... that did not bother us; the hotel might have been busy or short staff. Quite disappointed that our Marriott Elite status was'nt recognized though as we had saved points for this vacation. We ate at the lobby restaurant while waiting; food was decent, average, somewhat pricey to others/average to some. Athmosphere was cozy yet busy at that time.

Their claim to fame: AQUA indoor/outdoor pool which can get crowded at certain times due to bar/lounge social area. Free hotel parking & internet/wi-fi a plus. Free shuttle within 1.5 miles radius; great if you are here for Brown University. Convenient location if you want a place right off the freeway exit.

Don't expect southern hospitality. Service is lackluster at times; some front desk staff are friendlier and willing to go that extra mile than others (it really all depends on the individual you get). Same with housekeeping. Our bathroom needed major sanitizing: smells like pee from previous inhabitants, the tub and grout needs a dose of bleaching. Maintenance: My personal judgment of a hotel's cleanliness and upkeep is by how clean or filthy their vents are. Our room fridge was broken and was replaced promptly by another broken fridge. The side entrances could use heavy duty powerwashing, new light bulbs, the cigarette & trash receptacles needs to be emptied. There are food trays on the hallways. We happen to have a (cheap lightweight) wooden door that doesn't fit properly to the jamb. Room is basic, adequate, clean (depends on your standard of clean), overall room & hotel decor is drab. Outdated hallways needs new carpeting.

Generally, not up to par with "Marriott" standards (hmm, it might be a franchise?). Like one reviewer says there are "too many little things" that prevents giving this hotel a top notch review and it is certainly way overpriced (if you paid $200+ per nt). Nothing fancy here - only the price. However, after reading all comments, the satisfied customers that gave decent reviews seemed to have paid more reasonable rates (i.e. if I paid $75/nt at this hotel, I'd say "wow, great deal" as well with raving reviews). In short, the price justifies the quality, vice versa, however you want to look at it.

Lastly, I love all the "diplomatic responses" by this hotel's public relations mgr after each and every tripadvisor comment. It shows they care and are paying attention. Unfortunately, all that apologizing and reiterating the positives, doesn't change the fact that another summer is gone and we saved & spent money on a sucky stay!

Room Tip: Borrow the key and inspect your room first... make sure everything works and it is to your liking !
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear minniemae,
Thank you for such a thorough review. We respond to every comment posted because we do care. Every guest comment is an opportunity to grow (good or bad). When we receive good or great feedback - especially when one of our associates is mentioned, we use that to identify and praise our key people. Nothing says you're awesome like seeing it in black and white. And when we receive comments that tell us we need to fix something or do something better or differently, we take that opportunity to do just that. We truly respect what I our guests have to say. I thank you for sharing your comments from our claim to fame to those not worth bragging rights. I'd like to thank you as well for your loyalty to Marriott. As always, please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further: jdahler@marriottprovidence.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,701 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 13 in Providence
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £126 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing