We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Providence Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dean Hotel(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Providence(Providence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alpine Motel(Providence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveller rating
869
423
197
78
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
423
197
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkingbluefin grillethe concierge loungebluefishshuttle servicefront desk staffbusiness meetingthis past weekendthe entire staffupon checkbrown universitynew englandfitness centerfederal hillrhode islandaqua
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,196 - 1,201 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time on a brief overnight stay for a Waterfire event. The brick and mortar was fine- clean, spacious room, bustling lobby, cocktail bar, restaurant- all things you expect in any nice hotel. What made the difference here was the people. Everyone, it seemed, had a smile on their face, said hello, and were happily going about their job. Management has somehow instilled a team mentality and has all the staff working together, going in the right direction. I would sum it up as workers having the right "attitude". It was infectious, kid of like "Hey, everyone around here is happy, having a good time, we are too". Go for it- you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Kevin M,
Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel team is focused on creating brilliant travel experiences for our guests. I am very pleased to hear from you that we achieved that. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Bathroom was a not well cleaned and lobby bathroom...shivers. Housekeeping can't be everywhere all the time but come on!

Restaurant service was pretty slow. I had to go back to chase the staff.

Pillow was lumpy.

All in all, a little disappointing, even for a business hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear trripman,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I do apologize that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of our hotel. I will take your feedback to our team and we will use your comments as a training tool. Your feedback is valuable to us. I do appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels. I travel constantly for work. I'm on the road more then I'm home sometimes. A nice quiet room and comfortable bed is all I'm looking for and this hotel had that and more. Pleasant staff, good room service options, clean rooms, and most of all quiet. Thanks for a great stay, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Brent W,
Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience with us and for giving us such an excellent recommendation! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at Marriott in late September for weekend. First impression was that the lobby was
pretty lively. Asked for a higher floor with a view of the city and they met our expectations.
Arranged an anniversary dinner for us that evening in the Italian district, with the hotel van dropping us off in Federal Hill promptly in time for our reservation. We ate out in the courtyard as it was a beautiful night with pleasant temperatures before heading to the Water Fire show. After
dinner, we headed down to the river and walked around for a few hours. When we were ready to
go back to hotel, we should have called for the van, but instead decided to walk back to the
Marriott. It was a little longer than we had anticipated and not many people around, but at
the same time, we felt completely safe--just a little tired.
The next day we used the van to drop us off and pick us up from the Brown University area,
and later for dinner. Although the hotel is outside the central district, if you make use of the van, it
is very convenient. We never had to move our car. The pool area looked very nice, but it was
a little too cold to sit out. Marriott was nice enough to give us a complimentary cocktail to celebrate our anniversary. They went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi-town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Chi-town,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel. Our staff strive to make sure our guests' experiences are extraordinary - especially when they are celebrating a special occasion. Our complimentary shuttle service is very convenient. I'm so pleased to know that this amenity helped make your stay more relaxing. Congratulations on your anniversary! Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Over the last 30+ years I have stayed here many times and this was the best of the visits. The staff made the difference as the facility while updated remains a spread out collection of smallish rooms on six floors with parking that can be far from your room. Upon arrival the front desk clerk personally served as bell man and provided not only service but hotel tips on parking, ice, restaurants etc. Later arranging a late check out was a breeze and our breakfast experience at the Bluefin found us grazing on a large buffet. The size of the bath is an issue but clean, comfortable bedding is the standard and the pool / workout facility is large and well appointed. We enjoyed a welcome reception in the lobby, newspapers including the Sunday paper etc.

Room Tip: Fifth floor near main elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear brownman6,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel. We are so pleased to know that our exceptional service, our award-winning restaurant, the Bluefin Grille and unique amenities made such a big difference to you. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We strive to make our guests' travel experience brilliant! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews