We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great location, walking distance to everything. Easy on and off access from the interstate. Very clean rooms and helpful staff. Everyone greets you upon entering the hotel.
The restaurants recommended were all excellent A+. Overall a great experience & would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Kdoll08,
Thank you for recommending our hotel and for choosing to stay with us! Our location can't be beat - close to most attractions on foot - or better yet, on these chilly winter days, a quick complimentary shuttle ride. So please to hear you loved our restaurant recommendations. There's a lot to choose from in Providence - including our award-winning Bluefin Grille. We hope you have a joyous holiday season and we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this Marriott. Service was outstanding, someone always around to help. Had dinner at the bar both nights and the food was good. Drinks a bit pricy, even higher than some in the NY area. Bar area can be noisy at times since it so open, but depends on the crowd. Was very busy both nights I was there, a sign of a popular place to stay. Will definitely be back and recommend to anyone who has business in the downtown Providence area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunsets4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sunsets4evr,
Thank you for your 5-star review. Your feedback is very valuable to us and I will be sure to share your comments with our whole hotel team. Our hotel is lively and a very popular place to stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisor readers. We hope you have a safe and happy holiday season! Thank you for the recommendation and we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Couldn't be better!!! It started with a great check in at arrival. Our room was in perfect order, thank you Maria L.The Hotel does a wonderful job. Breakfast was everything you could want and more, best Hotel stay and breakfast in Providence.


Thank You

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Kathryn M,
Thank you for your fantastic review! Your feedback is so important to us. I share each and every review with our hotel team. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again very soon! Happy Thanksgiving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

For the past 8 months I have been traveling on business every week and staying at the Providence Marriott Downtown. It has become "home away from home" because the hotel service team has been extremely considerate, proactive and outgoing in making sure my stays are comfortable and safe. Each service team member greets me by name and makes me feel welcome each day! This hotel service team is truly exceptional!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Jean R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel with our TripAdvisor readers. I am delighted to know that you feel welcome and safe when you stay with us. Your 5 star review is greatly appreciated. Thank you and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Marriott Downtown Providence simply just meets expectations time and time again, took a long weekend over Halloween and despite a potential wind storm everything met the usual top standards, preferred bedroom provided, preferred dining table reserved and the usual extended family welcome that only the Marriott provides so well.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quieter during the winter as Aqua Swimming pool is closed. Free parking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Eugene1958,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel. I appreciate all your excellent feedback and will share your comments with the whole team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been staying in this hotel every week, Monday through Friday, since January 2013 for work. I have not once encounted an issue. The staff is extremely friendly and bends over backwards to assist myself and my other co-workers that stay at this hotel. Everyone remembers my name and always makes a point to ask me about my weekend or how work is going. Being that I stay at this hotel so much, the staff has really made this feel like a second home.

The gym is great, location makes everything walkable, rooms are always clean.

A special thank you to Irving, Roland, Todd, Emily, Jonathon, Chrissy, Sam, and I know I am forgetting some but you are all the best!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Caitlin D,
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our TripAdvisor readers. I will certainly be sure to share your comments with my team. Thank you for the recommendation and for choosing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

In the past six months, I've stayed here several times for work. The service is amazing -the staff here is probably the friendliest I've encountered in 200+ hotel nights a year. They are extremely helpful and competent; everyone, from the front desk guys to the maids to the general manager, go above and beyond to provide a great stay. I can't stress enough the superior service I've consistently received here!

The rooms are pretty big and very functional and the hotel has nice amenities (the outdoors pool is great in the summer and the indoors pool is OK for a swim during the colder months and the gym is pretty decent, too). It has an on-site restaurant which is reasonably priced (not cheap but decent prices) and the food is great. The hotel location is convenient. Even though it is not right downtown, it is only a 5-10 minute walk away and there's a mall and a Whole Foods within walking distance and there's a free shuttle that goes to places nearby (1 or 2 mi from the hotel).

The only thing I don't really like about this hotel is that the bathrooms are pretty small and the AC units are really loud. In spite of this, I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it for both business and leisure travelers.

Room Tip: Get a room without connecting doors if you're looking for something quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Mariana B,
Thank you for recommending our hotel and giving us a 5 star review. Thank you also for your detailed feedback about how well my team takes care of you when you stay with us. I am certain you will continue to choose our hotel when you stay in Providence. Thank you again for taking the time to recommend the Providence Marriott and our fantastic service and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,875 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,240 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 13 in Providence
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £106 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing