We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Busy little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great public spaces. Nice lobby and bar. The outdoor bar by the pool was a nice surprise especially on a nice summer evening. The place was very busy. People in the pool, at the gym, hanging out at the bars. I don't know what its near, but its a popular hotel. I had a large king room with a fold out sofa bed. Very roomy and quiet.. The bath amenities were very nice. The place looks a little dated. Besides that, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ray55,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed our outdoor lounge, AQUA at the Providence Marriott, so much - it is a fun place to relax and is also very popular. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your room so much as well. I do hope you visit again soon.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    360
    169
    61
    31
See reviews for
381
249
52
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff at The Providence Marriott was very accommodating during our 2 day meeting. We did not experience any issues with the set up of our function and everything was on time. I plan on using this facility again for future meetings and I highly recommend this property for a business function.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear TYJJW,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your excellent comments with us. I am delighted to hear that your sales meeting was such a success. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests (overnight, events/meetings and in the community) with exceptional experiences. It was our pleasure to do that for your team. Thank you for your recommendation.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second year our swim team has stayed at the Providence Marriott. The proximity to Brown University where our team competed is great! The hotel is amazing: clean, modern, and the staff is always smiling and friendly, and very helpful. From the beginning of our team's travel plans, I dealt with Paul and then Victoria for our groups' needs. They were both wonderful to work with. I couldn't have asked for more caring and efficient customer service! I hope the event will take place at Brown University again next year, because our group can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear AG,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your excellent stay with us. I will be sure that Paul, Victoria and the rest of the team get a chance to read your review. The Providence Marriott has a lot of experience with sports team and I am pleased we used our expertise to take such good care of you.We also hope you return to Brown for your event next year. We looking forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Quite simply….. they make it easy and provide excellent customer service. We just concluded our third business meeting at the Providence Marriott downtown and yet again they made it easy. We schedule about 5 to 6 off site business meetings annually in different venues across the country. This is without a doubt our favorite location as they commit to a plan and then execute flawlessly. Kristin, Joanna, Bob and all of the staff at the Providence Marriott understand true customer service. I always receive great comments from the attendees about the politeness of the staff, execution of the day and quality of the food. It’s a pleasure to give the Providence Marriott our business and we will continue whenever possible. They have earned it once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2anystate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear norestraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted that your events have been so successful. Our team strives to make you look great and for everything to be executed flawlessly. I will be sure that Kristin, Joanna, Bob and all the staff are recognized for your excellent comments.
Take care and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Love the indoor/outdoor pool & Aqua bar! Especially delighted with the G Salon!! Had haircolor, cut, Mani/pedi, and even a facial the next day! Gina the owner went out of her way to make my salon/spa experience special. Raved about it so much, my husband went in for a haircut by Carrie. Who'd a thunk such a good salon would be in a hotel? The hotel was great too: restaurant, staff, ambience. Would definitely come often, if nothing else just to enjoy the pool & salon!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank norestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear norestraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so happy that you had a great experience at G Salon. AQUA, Providence's only poolside lounge, is a lot of fun and very relaxing. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. See you soon!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new britain ct
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just recently stayed and I must say no complaints this place is amazing great location not far from the mall ..pool amazing great drinks and restaurants .will stay here again in the near future..the staff was great so polite..zero complaints

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessa53103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear nessa53103,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased that you received 5-star treatment. Our outdoor lounge, AQUA, is very popular. The cocktail and dining menu at AQUA, Providence's only poolside lounge, is modern and fun. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again before the summer ends.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The professionals at this Marriott made me feel like I belong. The Marriott staff is by far the most welcoming to me than any other hotel I have stayed at during my years of travel. My co-workers and I can be very persnickety but the friendly and professional staff (Matt, Roland and Kelly to mention a few) consistently went out of their way to meet our needs.

Since it is often difficult eating healthy meals when traveling, I was particularly pleased that I could order a nutritious dinner of seafood, cooked several different ways, served with fresh vegetables, at the Blue Finn Grill. Although, I love the pool area but I did not get to use it as often as I would have liked.

I am sad to say that, after 2 years, my work in Providence is ending and I doubt that other hotels will meet the quality of service I received at this Marriott. I will particularly miss Chris Agostino, who spoiled us the most. He was always available to make sure our entire stay was pleasurable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear RW,
Thank you so much for your loyalty for the last two years. We hope you can visit us again soon. I am so pleased our healthy food choices at the Bluefin Grille helped make you feel like you could make wise choices for dinner. I will be sure that Christopher, Matt, Roland and Kelly are recognized for your excellent comments and for how well they took care of you. Enjoy the rest of the summer!
Take care,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing