We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College tour at Brown University ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Very helpful courteous and accommodating staff. Shuttle service to Brown University or anywhere within 1.5 mile radius very convenient if you are visiting the university or want to go to downtown for dinner. No charge for using the business center stations and for B&W printing.Swimming pool and gym a great plus. Breakfast is expensive but bar food and dinner at Bluefin reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and good size but the bathrooms in the rooms are in desperate need for upgrading especially the shower heads and bathtubs. Overall a very good stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Konstantinos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear KonstantinosV,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting Brown University. I am so glad that our complimentary shuttle service was such a convenient means of transportation for you. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant, the Bluefin Grille. I do hope you can visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great public spaces. Nice lobby and bar. The outdoor bar by the pool was a nice surprise especially on a nice summer evening. The place was very busy. People in the pool, at the gym, hanging out at the bars. I don't know what its near, but its a popular hotel. I had a large king room with a fold out sofa bed. Very roomy and quiet.. The bath amenities were very nice. The place looks a little dated. Besides that, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Ray55,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed our outdoor lounge, AQUA at the Providence Marriott, so much - it is a fun place to relax and is also very popular. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your room so much as well. I do hope you visit again soon.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff at The Providence Marriott was very accommodating during our 2 day meeting. We did not experience any issues with the set up of our function and everything was on time. I plan on using this facility again for future meetings and I highly recommend this property for a business function.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TYJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear TYJJW,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your excellent comments with us. I am delighted to hear that your sales meeting was such a success. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests (overnight, events/meetings and in the community) with exceptional experiences. It was our pleasure to do that for your team. Thank you for your recommendation.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second year our swim team has stayed at the Providence Marriott. The proximity to Brown University where our team competed is great! The hotel is amazing: clean, modern, and the staff is always smiling and friendly, and very helpful. From the beginning of our team's travel plans, I dealt with Paul and then Victoria for our groups' needs. They were both wonderful to work with. I couldn't have asked for more caring and efficient customer service! I hope the event will take place at Brown University again next year, because our group can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear AG,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your excellent stay with us. I will be sure that Paul, Victoria and the rest of the team get a chance to read your review. The Providence Marriott has a lot of experience with sports team and I am pleased we used our expertise to take such good care of you.We also hope you return to Brown for your event next year. We looking forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Quite simply….. they make it easy and provide excellent customer service. We just concluded our third business meeting at the Providence Marriott downtown and yet again they made it easy. We schedule about 5 to 6 off site business meetings annually in different venues across the country. This is without a doubt our favorite location as they commit to a plan and then execute flawlessly. Kristin, Joanna, Bob and all of the staff at the Providence Marriott understand true customer service. I always receive great comments from the attendees about the politeness of the staff, execution of the day and quality of the food. It’s a pleasure to give the Providence Marriott our business and we will continue whenever possible. They have earned it once again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travel2anystate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear norestraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted that your events have been so successful. Our team strives to make you look great and for everything to be executed flawlessly. I will be sure that Kristin, Joanna, Bob and all the staff are recognized for your excellent comments.
Take care and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Love the indoor/outdoor pool & Aqua bar! Especially delighted with the G Salon!! Had haircolor, cut, Mani/pedi, and even a facial the next day! Gina the owner went out of her way to make my salon/spa experience special. Raved about it so much, my husband went in for a haircut by Carrie. Who'd a thunk such a good salon would be in a hotel? The hotel was great too: restaurant, staff, ambience. Would definitely come often, if nothing else just to enjoy the pool & salon!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank norestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear norestraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so happy that you had a great experience at G Salon. AQUA, Providence's only poolside lounge, is a lot of fun and very relaxing. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. See you soon!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just recently stayed and I must say no complaints this place is amazing great location not far from the mall ..pool amazing great drinks and restaurants .will stay here again in the near future..the staff was great so polite..zero complaints

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessa53103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear nessa53103,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased that you received 5-star treatment. Our outdoor lounge, AQUA, is very popular. The cocktail and dining menu at AQUA, Providence's only poolside lounge, is modern and fun. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again before the summer ends.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,967 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,383 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,267 reviews
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 13 in Providence
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £119 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located nestled between the historic East Side and downtown Providence. The only hotel in Providence with free parking and connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive getaways available - perfect for families, couples and friends looking to take a mini vacation! Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals Spring - Fall. Creative food & beverage offerings and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). This hotel is know in the community for legendary customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing