We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel had free parking and great shuttle service. Best service from any hotel over 6 days. Only 1 local beer on tap - and it was out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_good_night_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,433 - 1,439 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

Came to Providence marriott for the weekend from CT with husband, 2, 5 yo. Parking was easy and free. Front desk staff friendly, check in easy and fast. Was given a pool side room, wonderfull easy access to pool, bar, outside...first floor pool access a MUST for this family. The room was clean, nice bedding, great view of court yard. bathroom very small but nice..only one person at a time size. The Pool outside is great as well as inside, very warm water and outdoor pool connects to indoor pool. Around the pool are very comfy chaise lounges...the wait staff around the pool are very attentive and my pina colodas were delicious. The kids lived in the pool all weekend which was pretty clean and warm. The patio also has a very relaxing comfortable smoking area with a fire pit. There are small living room areas all around the pool including cabanas for relaxing. We even got to toast marshmellows on the fire pits. Ofcourse the kids loved it.
The grill restuarant on site is pricey but good food. Staff very friendly and helpful. The location of hotel is good...we walked to the mall and the fire on water show..took 10 min. The hotel offers a free shutle which was all booked. The walk is scenic, safe, and easy. The fire on water show on the river is no big deal. More interesting to see the thousands of people who go to see it. The
The hotel offers a breakfast buffet included in our room which is awesome...has everything you need, fresh fruit, waffles, made to order omlettes, even fresh salmon.
Now on Sunday the hotel has a 401 party which was my highlight. It free to guests and open to the public. The pool patio area turns into a very lively party. There was a live DJ, dunk tank, grill for hot dogs and hamburgers(pricey) the drinks are flowing, gorgeous people everywhere, everyone dancing...couldnt ask for a better weekend. My only wish is that i was 10 years younger and was single!!! I Recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Thank you for your great feedback about your stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and time spent out at AQUA, Voted Rhode Island Monthly's Best Outdoor Lounge - 2009. We hope you get a chance to come back and visit us soon! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed for the weekend and had a lot of fun. The pool area and fitness center were very nice. The pool was heated and the whirlpool was relaxing. There was drink service at the pool and the lounge chairs were as comfortable as a 5 star resort. At night the pool area became a great nightclub. The beds were very comfortable. It was conveniently located and the price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlgrlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us and had fun at AQUA, Voted Rhode Island Monthly's Best Outdoor Lounge. The summer is not over yet so we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Providence Downtown Marriott from June 13th to 15th and had a fabulous stay. We went to Providence to spend a weekend away to celebrate my birthday. We originally were going to stay at the Courtyard Marriott because of the proximity to the Water & Fire show but are so glad that we stayed at the Providence Downtown Marriott instead. The location is so close to downtown, an easy walk or with the complimentary shuttle service a quick ride. This hotel also has complimentary onsite parking. The hotel knew it was my birthday and delivered a beautiful and delicious slice of birthday cake to our room along with a birthday card. A very nice surprise. We had two breakfast meals at the Bluefin Grille restaurant and they were both delicious and plentiful. We also enjoyed my birthday dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent. The waiter knew it was my birthday and gave me a complimentary birthday dessert. Another very nice touch. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer and more helpful. When we checked in we were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the pool area on the concierge level. The room was clean and very comfortable.The pool area is so nice and there was a pool party on Sunday with a DJ which was very entertaining. All in all, the weekend was excellent and extremely enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Providence or would just like to have a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arubanancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Thank you for your feedback about your wonderful stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We're so happy you chose to spend your birthday with us. We strive to make each special occasion a Memorable Moment for our guests. Please visit us again soon before the end of the summer so you can enjoy AQUA, Voted Rhode Island Monthly's Best Outdoor Lounge! Happy Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Had a fantastic room to suit a family and the children loved the indoor/outdoor pool. The staff were exceptionally helpful, particularly the gentlemen on the concierge desk. Ate in the hotel twice and the food was lovely. Room very clean. Location was great, we could walk into town and to the train station for day trips out.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2009

Thank you for your comments about the Providence Marriott Downtown. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests about their stay and this information is shared with our associates so that we continue to deliver memorable guest experiences and a high quality of service. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My son graduated from Johnson & Wales University in Providence R.I on May 23, 2009. We arrived around 12 midnight from NJ. We had booked a few months ago because of graduation and had the "Sam Adams Special". We went right up to our room. Very nice with two double beds. A few minutes later a knock on the door brought our complementary ice bucket of six bottles of assorted S.A beer, a S.A silver bucket with two S.A beer glasses and a S.A bottle opener. A 6:00 AM wake up call arrived on time. We also had two complimentary buffet breakfasts downstairs, which was wonderful. The free shuttle service to graduation was such a help! Great Stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2009

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We share your feedback with our associates so that we can continue to deliver memorable guest experiences and exceptional service. We are pleased to hear that our signature Samuel Adams Getaway helped make your stay more enjoyable. It is also great to know that the services we provide made your stay more enjoyable. Congratulations on your son's graduation from JWU! We hope you return to visit Providence soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

The good
- Rooms refurbished in the last 3/4 years
- Lovely pool area for a city hotel in and outdoors
- Nice Gym
- Parking free - yes free
- There is a mini bus services that really helped us get around the city for free!
- 10 minute walk to downtown
- Staff were generally a cut above your average, nice and wanted to help
- Right on I95, EXIT 23

The bad:
- The bathrooms are so small, you can barely get one person in there and you have to close the door in order to do that
- Right on I95 and train route - noise!
- Older AC units in the wall that did the job just so loud at night!
- They have refurnished, but the rooms have original doors and AC units and ceiling panels - ashame really as this spoils the attempt
- 1980s building that is not nice to look at really

I would go back, but I might try the Westin downtown. We paid $249 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2009

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. It is important to us to hear from our guests so that we may share their comments with our associates to continue to deliver memorable guest experiences and exceptional guest service. We appreciate your honesty about how you felt about your stay and will share all you had to say with our Executive Team. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,939 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#7 of 13 in Providence
1,375 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,254 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £114 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located nestled between the historic East Side and downtown Providence. The only hotel in Providence with free parking and connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive getaways available - perfect for families, couples and friends looking to take a mini vacation! Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals Spring - Fall. Creative food & beverage offerings and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). This hotel is know in the community for legendary customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing