We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great margaritas”

Viva Mexico Cantina Grill
Ranked #99 of 799 Restaurants in Providence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great margaritas”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Love the atmosphere of this place! They have great margaritas and the food is decent as well. I would recommend stopping in if you want a good margarita.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkateGirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great patio and authentic food!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Loved sitting on the patio drinking fresh margaritas and eating wonderful, authentic food. The service was absolutely amazing...we loved our server.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but still looking for great”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Chips and salsa don't come with the meal. The cheapest option -- chips plus red and green salsa, and bean dip -- costs $4.50. The hard shell taco seems to have been fried with the beef in it (Sonoran style), which is a plus. The cheese enchilada was fairly good, though I would probably prefer it with red (rather than green) sauce. The "quesadilla" was more like a flauta and had little filling. The carne asada tacos were the best items, are a good value, and are plenty filling. But, the corn tortillas were a touch dry and the meat could've used some marinading. I'm sure we'll be back when we're in the area, but probably won't go out of our way to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AncientMarineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Selection, Great Flavor”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A friend and I ate here twice while at a convention, good prices and solid down home Mexican cooking- most Mexican restaurants in the US are pretty cookie cutter with their menus. Shredded Goat, excellent Mole, melt in your mouth pork , home made tortilla chips, fresh salsa. I love to eat and I was too full to have desert, and that menu looked great. Service was quick and restaurant was clean even though very busy. I will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyC65_Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Flan in Downtown!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

FLAN. If you visit Viva Mexico, you MUST get the flan. The traditional milk flan is so amazing, I visited Viva twice in one week to have it. Addicting? Yes. You've been warned.

Thristy? Order the Doña Elia Margarita, named after the owner. It's concocted with Milagros silver tequila, triple sec, mango juice, homemade Tamarindo & Sour mix. I asked the bartender to make mine spicy, on the rocks. Refreshing with a kick!

I can't wait to come back for more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyWhite03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Mexico Cantina Grill also viewed

 

Been to Viva Mexico Cantina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing