We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Christopher Dodge House
Ranked #1 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Mansion”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed in a ground level room, as we wanted twin beds. It was smallish - but it was large enough for us and our luggage and included a small refridgerator. The bathroom was also small but very nice and up to date. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. There was yummy pastry, yogurt, juice, etc., but then there was a hot entree which was offered. It was a delicious frittata the morning we were there and it was excellent. It was a couple of minutes from the Capitol building and about 5 - 7 minutes from Brown, which we were visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    63
    26
    13
    1
See reviews for
64
156
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just spent one night here as we were driving from Cape Cod back home to Tennessee. Very clean. The staff were very friendly. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. The house is beautiful. Breakfast was outstanding. Location was great and an easy walk to Brown University and the downtown area. Only negative was the interstate noise, which was fine since our air conditioner ran and drowned out the noise. Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the house and Providence.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We only had a one night stay but found the Dodge House to be clean, friendly & in a very convenient location near the Capital building. Breakfast was excellent in their bright, cheerful breakfast room & there were juice and cookies available around the clock. Only negative was the traffic noise in our room on the east side which faces I95. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay. We'll be back, & be sure to get a west side reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

A beautiful old home, exceptionally clean, and a great breakfast. A short and easy walk to the downtown area and the Providence place mall. We spent 3 nights there and found it to be a great location to Newport and Boston, both places an easy drive from the Bed and Breakfast.
Staff was great,very friendly, room was large with a nice bathroom. WiFi worked excellent and free!
Will stay again next time in New England. I highly recommend The Christopher Dodge House. Also, did not have any trouble finding it from the Providence airport.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UMatt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Christopher Dodge House - we had a room on the second floor that accommodated the three of us. The staff separated the king bed so that we each had a twin. Breakfast was to die for, homemade cookies set out as snacks were delicious as well as the other treats. Room was clean, large, and very comfortable. Location was superb.

Room Tip: No elevator so keep this in mind when selecting your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Still a great place to stay. We stayed here last year when we visited Providence and decided to spend 2 nights here again this year - one night on our way in and one night on our way out. We spent one night in room 6 and the other in room 5. Both of these rooms are are on the opposite side of the building from the freeway. It was great to open the windows at night and not have to hear the traffic. Very comfortable rooms and building, close to downtown and eating. We walked down to view Waterfire and then came back to have tea and cookies. The staff is very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttandst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed there for a night this summer during the first leg of our RI trip. The Inn is central to Providence and easy to find with a GPS. It is pretty close to the high way and you can see the captilal from the parking lot. There was not that much noise at all and parking was easy on the day we were there.

Staff friendly helpful, food was good would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatraymondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,479 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Dodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Property: Christopher Dodge House
Address: 11 W Park St, Providence, RI 02908-5724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing