We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to downtown & great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Christopher Dodge House
Ranked #1 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed overnight as a getaway. Having onsite parking was great and it was close enough to walk to Dunkin Donuts Center for a hockey game - and a stop at a brew pub on the way back. Our room faced the street and was quiet enough to sleep with the window open. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful! The breakfast room is a beautiful room for enjoying the morning sun too. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Christopher Dodge House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I were so impressed with our accommodations and stay here. Our room on the second floor had a high ceiling, fireplace, and an oh so comfortable bed. Besides the lovely breakfast buffet, we were offered an omelet with corn fritters. It is so well maintained and when we arrived the manager of the place was warm and welcoming. Gave us a great feeling.

Room Tip: I think our room was Room 4 on the second floor, but best check. Fantastic!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forevercurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We attended to Elton John concert and found this to be a perfect location, and feels just like home.
Called a cab to take us to Federal Hill and then the Dunkin Donuts Center was just a 5 minute walk.
Very comfortable and friendly.
The breakfast was homemade to order with fruit, pastries, and good coffee.

Perfect for a couple or GF wknd or even to rent the entire place for a bachelorette.

I would stay here again and avoid the elevator, parking fee and the expensive chain hotels

Room Tip: Room 3 on main floor, next to dining and sitting area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a one night stay here during our self drive tour of New England as we used Providence as a stopover between Connecticut and Cape Cod.This place has very useful on site car parking and is very handy for downtown Providence being only a short walk away. We were warmly greeted on arrival and shown to our room and the rest of the facilities which include complimentary hot drinks and cookies in the guest lounge. This is a nice place to stay. Our room was on the ground floor opposite reception and was plenty big enough and comfortable with easy chairs, TV and decent bathroom. The breakfast was fine with choice of hot and/or cold and there was plenty of it.
Being situated literally next to a 10 lane Highway,the hotel suffers from the consequences of constant traffic noise but we managed to overcome this and have a fairly restful night by using earplugs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the building from the highway may be quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

To celebrate my wife's birthday, we had the pleasure of staying at the superbly restored Christopher Dodge House. Purposefully selected for its reasonable price, charm and location in the heart of Providence, we were close to up-scale shopping, the Riverwalk and a number of excellent restaurants and locally themed bars. Our high ceiling room, original refinished wood floors, fire place, and very comfortable king bed & bathroom made us feel like we had stepped back in time with elegance and style. The staff were friendly, very helpful and maintain the rooms and all portions of the hotel to the highest standard of cleanliness. A sitting parlor with round-the-clock goodies and computer access is not to be missed. An excellent generously portioned chef-proud breakfast in an absolute must-see beautiful exposed brick wall room was a total delight. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lovely characterful B&B within 10 minute walk from the Mall and around 15 mins from the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in, provided us with a map of the area and answered all our questions we had. The rooms themselves were big and airy, decorated to fit with the period building and the bed was sooo comfy. They had a common room on the first floor which had a PC you could surf the web and print from (also wifi), books to read, microwave, fridge full of drinks and chocolate bars for a dollar, complimentary coffee and cakes. The breakfast room was next door and provided continental items with freshly baked muffins and cake and they offered a cooked breakfast special. A couple of the specials were the breakfast burrito and Finnish Pancake, both never tried before and they were lovely. When you walked in after a day sightseeing the hotel smelt of freshly baked goods, as it was pumpkin season there were tasty Pumpkin Spiced muffins in the common room and cookie jars by the front door filled, sweet jars on the landings so you could help yourself, a lovely homely touch. We were at the back of the hotel which over looked the interstate which was a little noisy to start with but quickly turned into white noise and didn't really hear it. It was such a friendly/homely place to stay, it is well recommended for anybody visiting Providence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fraggles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this charming house close to the capitol building, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of central Providence. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfasts were just too big for us. Plenty of choice, though, so really it was our own fault that we ate so much! A lovely place to stay in Pprovidence.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,702 reviews
Hotel Providence
#3 of 13 in Providence
1,103 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Dodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Address: 11 W Park St, Providence, RI 02908-5724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range: £123 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing