We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christopher Dodge House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
US$310
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$253
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$191
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
US$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dean Hotel(Providence)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
US$214
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
218
71
30
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
71
30
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomb bgas fireplacehot dishcookie jaroverflow lotoverflow parkinglovely bed and breakfastcandy barsthe ground floorbaked goodsceiling fanroad noisesitting roomyogurtparking on sitenice alternative
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Christopher Dodge a house is beautiful. Our room has bricked walls, a beautiful gas burning fireplace, gorgeous dark wood floors, with nice mission stylish furnishings. The bath is on the small side and the toilet is a little slow to flush. The location is right across the freeway, literally from the Rhode Island State House and the fun Providence Mall, the WaterFire attraction, and the overall amazing downtown area. You can literally walk just about anywhere within ten-fifteen minutes. However, as I mentioned is literally next to the freeway. Our room is on the side of the house where the freeway is so we are constantly hearing the freeway, I'm not sure how the rest of the rooms are in terms of sound.
At breakfast this morning, they had a set breakfast - an egg strudel, a veggie as well as a ham version - in addition to a continental breakfast fare. They also very willingly made me some scrambled eggs with greens to accommodate my dietary needs. The food was delicious and we enjoyed sitting in the common dining room with the other guests.
Bottomline, comfortable B & B, with a great location, if you don't mind the traffic noise 24/7. Next visit to the area we might consider something else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DebChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we want to thank you for providing a review. You gave a great description of your room and we can see that we share a love for historical homes and decor. It was built in 1858 and has great historical charm inside and outside of the home. And the location is ideal for those visiting downtown Providence. And our chefs truly appreciate the feedback about breakfast.

We do have rooms that are located on the side of the house that is away from the city. Definitely give us a call for your next visit to Providence and we will provide accommodations for you on the quiet side of the house.

Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned home from Providence for RISD Graduation. A lovely little place to call home for a couple of nights! The bonus plan was having a manager who grew up in Morgan City not far from my hometown. Not sure about the complaints of city noise, we were in a fabulous room overlooking the city at night and we thought it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bulldogmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Louisiana friends. It was a pleasure having you with us. It was refreshing to have someone from the home state to chat with. I just wish we could have had more time to connect. But we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate your review. If you happen to make your way back to Providence, we would love for you to stay with us again. Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B&B has some of the best staff that I have seen, very welcoming and informative. Our room was nice, but right across from the office allowing for a lot of traffic and noise. The breakfast was good, the warm dish changes daily - just ring the bell and they will come take your order and make deliver when ready. The other items are come and go. Our room did have AC and our bathroom was clean and updated - also loved the gas fireplace. The carpet and some areas throughout the house could definitely benefit from some updates, but overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: You will want to stay on the lower floors due to carrying your luggage up and down stairs, but would avoid the room across from the front office and doorbell.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you with us. Your feedback was truly important to us and much appreciated. Our staff members were encouraged by your kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I loved the idea of staying in a New England B&B. Was looking forward to lots of charm and delicious breakfast. The staff provided the charm, but the house itself was unforgettable. There was musty smell in the main entrance (which we'd had a hard time finding) and in our room.
While in Providence, it is a far walk to the actual town and there were no services nearby. But the real problem was the noise. Rooms look over the highway and the sound was disturbing. I couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeCDHouse, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear guests. Thank you so much for the feedback. We appreciate it very much. We are truly sorry to hear that your night was not restful and we would really love to speak with you. If you could please give me a call at 401-351-6111 and ask for Rae, that would be great. Or you may email to my attention at info@providence-inn.com.

We do apologize that you were not able to locate the Main Entrance. The office is located on West Park Street and is indicated by the sign "Office" that is above the door. There is also a doorbell for our guests to check-in and is indicated by a sign as well. However, we will definitely consider the feedback to see if any changes need to be made.

We do have rooms that are located on the side of the house that is away from the city. Guests are always welcome to request these rooms upon booking the reservation. They can do so by calling or emailing us directly, or by requesting the rooms in the notes area when booking an online reservation. These are subject to availability.

Our property is located .28 mile from the State House of Rhode Island, .42 mile from the Providence Place Mall, .54 mile from the Train Station, and .72 mile from the Rhode Island Convention Center which are all located downtown. However we do understand that some of our guests may need assistance with walking. Our front desk staff work with a few Taxi service companies. They provide calls and reservations for taxis when needed. We also provide a list of Taxi companies to each of our guest and these are located in each of our guest rooms on the desks.

Once again, thank you. We are always striving to give our guest the best experience possible and your feedback is much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Rae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We've stayed here off and on for 8 years, since our son was at Brown. The rooms are cheerful and comfortable and very homey. We love the fireplaces that heat the room in winter. (They are electric, I believe). It's very quiet, except for hum of traffic from a highway, but we've never found that to be an issue. The breakfast is excellent. There is an array of cold items and usually one hot, cooked to order item that the staff will fix when you order. On our last stay, the hot item of the day was scrambled eggs and kielbasa, nicely presented. I made a sandwich for lunch with the kielbasa and an English muffin. The pastries are particularly good. All the staff are friendly and helpful, but non-interfering. In the past they were able to change a king bed into 2 twins, when necessary. And some rooms have a day bed if you have a child with you. The only drawbacks are stairs to climb and long walks or driving to any activities in town or campus. It really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ejwo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeCDHouse, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

It is always a pleasure having the both of you with us. We truly enjoy your company. And thank you for such kind words. It's great feedback for our staff to know that they have been providing excellent service consistently throughout many years. We look forward to seeing you again. Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews