We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location, mezza mezza service”
Review of Mediterraneo - CLOSED

Mediterraneo
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Federal Hill
New Bedford
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, mezza mezza service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What great food. Service was a bit off but the quality of food was right on target. My wife had lobster ravioli, badabing, and I had pasta bolagnese. We both tasted each others dish and gave them outstanding two thumbs up reviews. Valet parking was great, the service and personality of the valets, tremendous. They allowed us to walk around Federal Hill and leave the car in their lot after dinner. Some of those mediocre reviews you can just FUHGEDDABOUDIT. This place is outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spankems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    65
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
283 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Loud, Crowded, but Decent Food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Not a place conducive to quiet conversation, Mediterraneo is a bustling Federal Hill Italian spot, offering your usual assortment of reasonably-prepared entrees.

The Gamberi shrimp and calamari appetizers were indistinguishable from most other local restaurants, and leaned a little to the oily/greasy side. The pasta dishes were better than their entrees, with the tagliatelle bolognese and the gnocchi standing out a bit more than the Alfredo and their (pricey) lobster ravioli. Sides are a la carte. The entrees were overpriced relative to the quality. Nothing stood out as excellent, but there were no unpleasant surprises either.

Service is fast and efficient, as turnover appears to be the name of the game here. Diners are packed in very closely, making for a cramped atmosphere. Valet parking is available, otherwise look for spots on the back streets.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mthom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They always impress”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We frequently dine here, the Groupon/Living Social certificates have allowed us to eat here affordably & somewhat regularly, compared to infrequent "special occasion" only dinners!
The delicious food, professional/friendly waitstaff, and complimentary limoncello keep us coming back for more and never fail to impress!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had dinner here last month for the first time. Nice atmosphere, good service and pleasant staff. The food was very good and with a wide assortment on the menu. The dinning area is a little tight but still comfortable. Had a window seat by the road which I am told opens up completely in the summer for a terrace like atmosphere. (I will go back to experience that this summer.) Overall this is a nice Italian restaurant with very good food and service. One interesting surprise is at the end of the dinner they serve you a free drink. It's some kind of shot that tasted fantastic. I can't remember the name but it was a nice surprise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J88T88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Dinner”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I like the food. Service is SO SO. The Dijon Mustard Pork is a must try. We visited on a Sunday evening with a large group. I am assuming the service was not great because there were not too many servers being a Sunday. I will definitely go back soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Armaan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing