We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Rivers

New Rivers
Ranked #57 of 794 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I want to return to this restaurant soon, my meal was delicious!!!' I had the soft shell crab special and they did it perfectly! There were several dishes I want to try but didn't have time on this trip.

Wait staff was knowledgable and accommodating. We felt welcomed and not rushed.
The interior was cozy and easy to reconfigure for different group sizes, with smaller tables in the center of the room. There is also convenient parking on site.

Helpful?
Thank NJGardenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    8
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I would be here every week if I lived in Providence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved everything about this restaurant. Excellent food, warm, unique, casual atmosphere. I wish I had more time to try everything on the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrunswickBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New Rivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very, very good restaurant. The food is always excellent with many seasonally varying dishes that keep things lively. Contemporary American food. The space is packed, but broken up into multiple small rooms that give diners an elegant but 'homey' feel. Service is outstanding. The bar offerings and wine list are planned very well. Reservations a must.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great! Awesome place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience for the two of us. She had the risotto balls, I had the pork chop. Highly recommend the Brussel sprouts and French press coffee afterwards. Small menu, but fabulous food none the less. Good service and great atmosphere made a memorable evening. Will return for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Wjthomps63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Best Meal we had in Providence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were looking for a good place to have a slap up meal so my daughter and I tried New Rivers, which she had heard was excellent and she heard right. Dinner at New Rivers was the best meal we had in Providence, a lovely fine dining experience. We had the the roasted butternut squash and apple bisque and crispy squid as starters - absolutely delicious. For entrees we ordered the agnolotti and gnocchetti and were swept away in savory delight. The evening was crowned by two truly exceptional desserts: the mouthwatering warm double chocolate brownie, mint brownie ice cream, salted caramel sauce and the equally mesmerizing lemon tart. The ambiance was easy, gracious, friendly and charmingly atmospheric. The servers were excellent and up to first rate fine dining standards. As I said, best meal in Providence.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Rivers also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Been to New Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing