We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seasonal, local, creative, amazing.”
Review of New Rivers

New Rivers
Ranked #54 of 800 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Seasonal, local, creative, amazing.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a wonderful place, intimate, inviting and relaxed. The staff is delightful to interact with, very knowledgeable about the menu, drinks & food sources. They do a fantastic job sourcing local ingredients and preparing them in delicious, creative ways.

Insider tip: $1 oyster Tuesdays ;)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BodhisMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    27
    8
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I recently had dinner with friends and we all loved our meals. I had corn chowder and roasted chicken, both of which may have been the best I have ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I want to return to this restaurant soon, my meal was delicious!!!' I had the soft shell crab special and they did it perfectly! There were several dishes I want to try but didn't have time on this trip.

Wait staff was knowledgable and accommodating. We felt welcomed and not rushed.
The interior was cozy and easy to reconfigure for different group sizes, with smaller tables in the center of the room. There is also convenient parking on site.

Helpful?
Thank NJGardenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I would be here every week if I lived in Providence”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved everything about this restaurant. Excellent food, warm, unique, casual atmosphere. I wish I had more time to try everything on the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrunswickBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
Level Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“New Rivers”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very, very good restaurant. The food is always excellent with many seasonally varying dishes that keep things lively. Contemporary American food. The space is packed, but broken up into multiple small rooms that give diners an elegant but 'homey' feel. Service is outstanding. The bar offerings and wine list are planned very well. Reservations a must.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Rivers also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Been to New Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing