We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anywhere else ?”

Olneyville New York System Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 810 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: From lunch to late night, Rhode Island's original fast food favorite serving our famous hot wieners and coffee milk since 1946!
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else ?”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is the place all the others try to be. If you think they are only hot weiners think again. If you live in Rhode Island and have found yourself hungry around midnight after a night out you know what I mean. About that time they taste better than any high end meal. Thank God for places like this. All and all has anyone really had a bad hot wiener at one in the morning or anytime for that matter.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“The MECCA for NY System Weiners”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

There a hot weiners and there are Olneyville weiners. None of the others can compare with Olneyville.

It is the MECCA for this Rhode Island traditional signature dish. Olneyville has been featured on DINERS, DRIVEINS and DIVES, Man VS. Food and has received the JAMES BEARD FOUNDATION, AMERICAN CLASSICS AWARD. You can't beat that!

A New York System is not like anything else. It should be eaten with "the works" which includes a grilled weiner (not a hot dog) on a steamed hot dog bun covered with mustard, ground beef sauce, chopped onions and sprinkled with celery salt. The perfect balance of ingredients is like ambrosia! The first bite takes you to heaven.

We live in New York (you cannot get NY System weiners there) and go out of our way to go to Olneyville to have weiners whenever we visit Rhode Island.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigal1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must stop in Little Rhody”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you haven't had a hot wiener, you haven't lived life to the fullest! A Rhode Island tradition and one of the state's signature items, hot wieners all-the-way are an experience you'll never regret. Open late night, which is always a plus coming back from the city. Add a coffee milk...come on, you know you want to...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissChris109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hot Weiners are great”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was born in Rhode Island and when I was growing up there were Hot Weeny, as we called them, joints all around. Such is not the case now but if you ever get the chance to be in Olneyville stop in and get one. You'll probably have more after the first one but you might want to get some Tums as they can also be called belly busters. I stop and get at least two when I'm down that way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

There is nothing like a NYS hot weiner, nothing like sitting at the counter while you eat them[3 or 4 at least] and nothing like listening to the guys behind the counter banter while watching the weiner man do his magic with a dozen on his arm. Get them to go only if you must because the floor show is free. And, for heavens sake, don't forget the large Coffee Milk. I've been going there for 53 years and counting. I'm salivating!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bleue2cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olneyville New York System Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Olneyville New York System Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing