We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT BOTIQUE HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT BOTIQUE HOTEL”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a junior suite. We loved our room, it was very spacious, very comfy bed, large bathroom. The hotel has a great location. We walked everywhere. Short walk to Federal Hill where there are so many great Italian Restaurants. The staff at the Hotel Providence are the Best. We had breakfast at their restaurant. It was excellent and the wait person was terrific. I would highly recommend this hotel. A very good value for the price. The assistant Manager (Daniel) was very professional, we had a littlr problem with our pick-up from the airport, but he took care of everything for us. He was very professional. If we ever return to Providence RI, we would stay at the Hotel Providence.



alue for the price. The assistant manager (Daniel) was very professional, we had alittle problem with our pick-up from the airport, but he took care of everything for us and did make it up to us.
.

Room Tip: Do not select a room on the church side because of the bells ringing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    283
    86
    53
    40
See reviews for
213
326
68
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner, the dog and I stayed one night here for business/travel. What a great hotel! The workers at the valet parking were always courteous and nice, check in took less than 5 minutes (plus she didn't even charge me for having our dog with us!), and the room was clean and spotless. The bathroom was renovated and shiny, and the water speed was great. There's even free & fast wireless internet in the room! We looked out the window and could see tents where the beer garden probably happens on weekends and we can see why it might get loud, but it was dead quiet all night. There was even a small area set up just to welcome dogs. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms and ones facing the back to avoid loud noise from the bar across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Bar an restaurant closed for a wedding the night we stayed. We had a drink in the room. A glass of lukewarm white wine and a bowl of nuts set us back over $80! Other than that, room was super, bed very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Westminster wing seemed to suffer from all-night drunken student noise from outside, though this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was very impressed. Well-appointed, boutique feel but not too small. Lovely, and beautifully furnished rooms. Spacious bathrooms with nice marble floors. Staff not overly friendly but perfectly polite. Would stay again. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YZ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I didn't spend a ton of time in the hotel. It has nice decor. The walls were thin. I was traveling for business and was next to a room with kids and could hear everything. There are only about 20 channels, no showtime. The deadbolt on my door didn't seem to be working and although I reported it, they didn't fix it. The bathroom was nice. I stopped by the coffee bar in the morning and asked for cocoa or teaand was told they had neither, it is really just coffee.The bed was so high that I had to work to climb in (I'm 5'3") and the mattress was a little hard. Overall, serviceable but not luxurious.

Room Tip: try not to be near the elevator. views are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilsescully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise.
When we got there - without a reservation - the hotel was fully booked, except for one small room which is cheaper than the rest of the rooms.
At first, I was afraid of how small the room was, but I must say that this was one of my best stays this year. The room was small, but cozy (and better than in most hotels). And, the best part is the bathroom: it is huge, super clean, and full of amenities (must say: best bathroom in my life!)
Staff is great also!

Room Tip: Room 500 is the one that I stayed. Small but cozy and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel was charming, quiet, and clean. It was the most beautiful hotel I have ever been. The staff was wonderful. However, I slept about 2 hours only on the night I stayed. There is a crazy noisy dance club or cafe or something across the street from the hotel, from which constant boom and thud noises spilled out. People were yelling and screaming right outside of that place as well. It continued until 2:30 AM. I was nearly sick with tiredness. I will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torch408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,356 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Property: Hotel Providence
Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing