We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique property.”
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel while in town on business, but would happily return. The room was well-appointed and the staff was friendly and helpful (even when I needed my car EARLY on the morning of my departure). The area is quirky and fun (welcome to the arts district) even if this traveler was too tired to enjoy the neighborhood. Even with valet parking, the cost is comparable to the chain hotels that dominate downtown.

A-bar, the adjacent bar offer a great half price wine and appetizer menu during the week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Mandatory Valet Parking $28, in room current movies $17, bottled water $4, pricey breakfast menu. My discounted room turn out not to be such a bargain. If you are looking for value, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lovely hotel, surrounded by great bars and restaurants. We only stayed the one night, but there was plenty to do around Providence. The hotel was very clean, and staff were friendly. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a junior suite. We loved our room, it was very spacious, very comfy bed, large bathroom. The hotel has a great location. We walked everywhere. Short walk to Federal Hill where there are so many great Italian Restaurants. The staff at the Hotel Providence are the Best. We had breakfast at their restaurant. It was excellent and the wait person was terrific. I would highly recommend this hotel. A very good value for the price. The assistant Manager (Daniel) was very professional, we had a littlr problem with our pick-up from the airport, but he took care of everything for us. He was very professional. If we ever return to Providence RI, we would stay at the Hotel Providence.



alue for the price. The assistant manager (Daniel) was very professional, we had alittle problem with our pick-up from the airport, but he took care of everything for us and did make it up to us.
.

Room Tip: Do not select a room on the church side because of the bells ringing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner, the dog and I stayed one night here for business/travel. What a great hotel! The workers at the valet parking were always courteous and nice, check in took less than 5 minutes (plus she didn't even charge me for having our dog with us!), and the room was clean and spotless. The bathroom was renovated and shiny, and the water speed was great. There's even free & fast wireless internet in the room! We looked out the window and could see tents where the beer garden probably happens on weekends and we can see why it might get loud, but it was dead quiet all night. There was even a small area set up just to welcome dogs. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms and ones facing the back to avoid loud noise from the bar across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brosernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Bar an restaurant closed for a wedding the night we stayed. We had a drink in the room. A glass of lukewarm white wine and a bowl of nuts set us back over $80! Other than that, room was super, bed very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Westminster wing seemed to suffer from all-night drunken student noise from outside, though this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was very impressed. Well-appointed, boutique feel but not too small. Lovely, and beautifully furnished rooms. Spacious bathrooms with nice marble floors. Staff not overly friendly but perfectly polite. Would stay again. Great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YZ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,939 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#7 of 13 in Providence
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#6 of 13 in Providence
925 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Price Range: £84 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing