We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Hotel Providence”
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
1 review
“Fantastic stay at Hotel Providence”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I spent five nights at the Hotel Providence. I was staying there to participate in the Certified Zentangle Teacher workshop. I was very impressed with the hotel, the amenities, and the staff. They did everything possible to make my stay the best!

The front desk staff were especially friendly, helpful, and interested in what we were doing. The restaurant supervisor did what she could to accommodate my food allergies. I requested a room in the quieter part of the hotel and the room I was in was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laffing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We appreciate your kind review on Trip Advisor, pleased that you enjoyed your room and the staff and found your restaurant experience enjoyable. The staff takes pride in ensuring that each guest has a positive stay with us and addresses individual needs to make sure our guests are comfortable. Hopefully, we will see you again attending another Zentangle event.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    297
    93
    55
    41
See reviews for
245
346
71
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just to pass on to travelers to Providence, R.I. I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Providence and the experience was warm, comforting with great, clean beds along with the meals and staff being superb.

The hotel has a history since the 1880's but all the amenities are there, top notch!

I highly recommend anyone anticipating a trip to the city. It is downtown, close to shops and the airport.

KCT

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your gracious Trip Advisor review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and found your accommodations comfortable and the restaurant to your liking. We hope to see you again, when next in Providence.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ended up here by happy accident and nada very nice stay. It is very conveniently located. You can walk to the Convention Center and to lots of restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. And the outdoor restaurant/bar had a jazz group playing on weekend nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickFLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, and pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and had the opportunity to listen to Joe Potenza, our creative jazz leader and his band. Looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilseck, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing place! We stopped over for one night. The room was beautiful and we had excellent service. Truly enjoyed the breakfast in bed service. Restaurant was excellent. We were in walking distance from restaurants and other sites. We received a discount, but it is worth the money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We appreciate your gracious compliments in the Trip Advisor review. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed your in room dining and restaurant experience. Thank you.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

There's not only one reason Hotel Providence is a FOUR DIAMOND property, but there are several reasons. My girlfriends and I stayed at the hotel for the three nights. The moment we stepped out of the taxi, we were greeted by the bell man who helped us with my luggage. The front desk manager greeted us and while we were waiting to be checked in, we had some hot coffee and biscotti that were in the lobby for guests. The interior design was beautiful, not to mention, the furniture and books that furnished that lobby could also be purchased! I appreciate that the staff was attentive to guests' needs. The guests behind me in line were from London and the staff had a clock hung with London's timezone. I'm definitely a fan of the personalized touches! The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and true to the pictures on their website as well. The housekeepers were friendly and everyone greeted us with smiles and hellos. My girlfriends and I decided to stay in and dine at the hotel's restaurant Aspire. We wanted to sit in the courtyard since the weather was beautiful. It was Reggae night and we had so much fun! Not only was the food amazing (the truffle fries are to die for) but the service and entertainment was superb. Overall, Hotel Providence is the total package. The area is convenient for us ladies because we were within walking distance to the mall and unique boutiques within the area. The dining options were endless and we saved money on transportation because we were able to walk to the bars and restaurants. I definitely recommend the hotel and I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We do appreciate your kind compliments in your Trip Advisor review. I am pleased you and your girlfriends had the opportunity to dine in our A-Garden restaurant and enjoy the music and the truffle fries! It appears you all had a wonderful weekend together and we are delighted that we could play a role in making your time together memorable. We look forward to your returning to Providence.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Best service and the best room I've seen at a mid-range price ($207 for a two-room suite that was huge and well-furnished). Staff was very friendly, genuine, and prompt. Front desk picked up on second ring every time. Called down to find ice machine and person who answered offered to bring ice to the room and did in a matter of a few minutes. Bed was divine. Steps from everything in a young, vibrant, human-sized city located on a river and a harbor, a couple blocks from Brown University, RI School of Design. VERY gay friendly town and hotel. A real standout.

Room Tip: When reserving, wise to ask about street fairs, outdoor music, etc. Certain rooms face streets where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foster W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful Trip Advisor review. We are so pleased that you found the service from our staff to your liking and that the location of the hotel was convenient to all of the places you wanted to visit. We are most proud of our staff and I will pass on your gracious compliments to them.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice atmosphere,great food and excellent service.Constantin was very professional, warm and inviting. Although he was busy, he did not rush us, instead allowing us to enjoy the night.
The Cod with quinoa was great and the bread pudding was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your compliments about the food and our server, Constantin, are much appreciated. It will give me great pleasure to relate your wonderful compliments about the cod, quinoa and bread pudding to the executive chef and the pastry chef and their kitchen brigade, and to let Constantin know how much you appreciated his excellent service. Hopefully, you will visit Providence again; we look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,537 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Property: Hotel Providence
Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing