We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Noisy Noisy!! Don't Plan on Sleeping Here --- a least on a Friday night!”
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Newport, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Noisy Noisy Noisy!! Don't Plan on Sleeping Here --- a least on a Friday night!”
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Nice Hotel, Attractive room, great bed and linens, nice bath, I went to bed around 9:30...Then the party started! Between the clubs and the street traffic complete with shouting and yelling, horns and police sirens it woke me at 11. Turned the TV up a little and closed the drapes. That worked till the bars closed at 2 AM. A complete repeat of the noise but a double the volume! It lasted until 3 AM. At 4:15 all the folks staying at the hotel Continued the parties with nonstop room hopping and door slamming. for the next 45 minutes. I just got up, took a shower and left. I could've called the manager, but it was a situation from which there was no escape. One positive point, all the noise from the party atmosphere almost completely drowned out the church bell in the steeple 100' away and precisely level with the 5th floor. I had been concerned about that bell earlier in the evening
One of the

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    297
    95
    55
    41
See reviews for
247
347
71
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Just stayed one night recently at Hotel Providence and loved it. The rooms were very clean, the staff was very helpful. The location would be perfect, except for the obnoxiously loud bells from the church next door. I read other reviews and figured they were exaggerating....they were not. The bells woke us up bright and early in the morning and not only did they ring what seemed like every 15-20 minutes...they played a FULL song at around 8am..a FULL one! Also, my only other complaint is that the walls are REALLY paper thin....we heard the guy in the room next to us playing loud adult movies and having "visitors" all night long...it was funny at first, but after HOURS of the noise, it got kinda weird.

But honestly, I'd stay there again. Book through PerfectEscapes.com and you'll get free breakfast for 2, Late Check out and early check in (if available) and a free room upgrade! We got upgraded to a nice deluxe room that was huge and very very comfy! And no, I do not work for the hotel or perfect escapes.....Just passing along the good info!!

PS the young lady that works at the front desk is AWESOME!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingActor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This hotel is so charming. It is tucked into downtown Providence, The service is friendly. The rooms are so beautiful, with every ammenity included. They even put a computer cable in the desk drawer in case you can't connect to the internet wirelessly. They have valet parking, so you don't have to try and find a spot. This hotel reminds me of hotels we recently stayed in in Italy. The beds are so comfortable, the rooms spacious. This hotel is definitely a find.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classicgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I was in Providence to attend a concert at the Providence Performing Arts Center which is located at the end of the street (about one half city block) from the Hotel Providence. The location of the theatre, small shops, and music/bookstores provided for a good weekend of recreation and entertainment without having to get back into the car. The hotel staff were very attentive; the decor warm and inviting yet also subtle in elegance. The wonderful touches: original artwork; extremely comfortable beds and quality linens; generous full length mirror, full iron and ironing board; huge terry cloth bathroom ......and the ringing of church bells on Sunday morning. Plus the package "deals" included coupons good for meals (up to a &75 value) at the Aspire Restaurant (attached to the Hotel P.) .....Arriving an hour early was not a problem -- staff were ready and welcoming! Check out time was in the early afternoon.... Very nice!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelProvidence, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location, customized service, and amenities. Our team takes so much pride in executing the art of excellent service. We truly enjoy the challenge of keeping our unique, independent hotel intimate and special while providing service that's on caliber with high-end chain hotels/ boutiques. Your kind words are much appreciated, and put a smile on many faces here at the Hotel Providence. Hope to see you again soon!

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Had a great stay at this comfortable hotel and staff was very nice. Really found Providence to be charming and frankly, this surprised me. Plenty of great restaurants in town. Plan an extra day in the area if you're traveling on business and have the time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisacataway,nj
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I am very satisfied with staying at The Hotel Providence. They have excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reubinedde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I had a great stay in this hotel, although, due to paddys day falling while i was there I was not the quitest stay. The staff were wonderful and the food was lovely.

Just check if there is anything like that going on in town before you book

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelProvidence, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you were here for the downtown Providence St. Patrick's Day celebration! The hotel is located near some lively Irish pubs that draw a crowd of people on the holiday, so I apologize if noise issues detracted from your stay.
Also, I wanted to make you aware of some of the exciting events that Providence has planned for the summer. Perhaps we can entice you with more than green beer!
The two-day Providence Art Festival is Saturday, June 13th, and the very popular Sound Session Music Festival is from July 18-24th- not to mention all the events we have planned nightly in our restaurant, Aspire. Please visit our Facebook page for more details! Hope to see you this summer in the city!

Patrick Jordan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,547 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Property: Hotel Providence
Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing