We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient central location”

Providence Train Station
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Convenient central location”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We traveled to/from Providence by Amtrak. The station was a very convenient starting point for our 4-hour visit to Providence, with almost immediate access to the State House. And because of its central location, it was easy to plan our walking route to end up there too. The external architecture of the station is not attractive. Inside, however, it is pleasant enough, and there are a few places to buy coffee. Thankfully, there is plenty seating available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    17
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter lives in Providence. When I come to visit we often take the train to Boston for a day trip. It is a nice relaxing ride and the people are usually friendly but always helpful. It's a small station with one gift shop and and one food/snack place but always has people. I recommend getting the Amtrak app if you want to take the train. It's not especially easy to navigate, but eliminates the potential for a line getting your tickets.

Helpful?
Thank TannFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very quiet”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I'm from NYC, and to me, this place is very quiet... Yeahp so quiet, sometimes, I wonder if it's really a train station.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abubacarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Not a landmark!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This is not a station you go out of your way to visit, unless you are a serious train spotter or need to get somewhere or coming from somewhere. My recommendation spend as little time here as possible.

Helpful?
3 Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average train station”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Pretty inside, easy to maneuver....not much to report! Not many food options, and parking is a bit of a hassle, but you can catch both Amtrak and MBTA from there. Times have changed, so schedule is often few and far between times that work!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Providence Train Station also viewed

 

Been to Providence Train Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing