We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Good, But What's Up with Those Showers?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dean Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All Good, But What's Up with Those Showers?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Dean is so fun, from the moment you turn to its small, but glitzy entrance, to the bubbly staff at the tiny front desk, to the coffee bar and lounge just beyond, and the "alligator" gate in the old-school elevator (I fought that thing for the first three days of my stay before I saw a housekeeper shove it so hard it stayed open. After that I was fine.)
There is interesting art everywhere. Then you arrive in your room, which for me was a double queen one night, then I switched to join some friends for the rest of the week in a double bunk bed room. That was a scene. I felt like an old Kuala bear climbing up and down the ladder to my bunk. Somehow, four women did work around each other in this space that was much smaller than the double queen.
But what was truly funky was the no door, no curtain shower that was so small I found it best to stand outside the shower and just "dip" half of me into the spray when I needed water. The shower head is huge, and because there is a large ventilation tube that is tiled over but runs right through the tiny shower, that head is pushed perilously close to the edge of the shower right near the opening. So of course the bathroom flooded whenever anyone took a shower. It was especially terrible if someone had to wash their hair.
But the lounge next to the coffee bar was charming, and was a great place to take a book and read. The barrister there recommended a nearby bakery that was outstanding for breakfast, Ellie's.
The hotel staff is extraordinary. For instance, I had two heavy boxes of literature I needed to get to our booth at the Convention Center, a block away, so two staffers grabbed them (including the front desk person) and carried them to an escalator inside the Center for me. I didn't propose that solution -- they did. The hotel's manager, Mary, is wonderful, and such an interesting person to talk to I recommend you take some time to do this.
The Dean is a great hotel. The beds are the best I've ever slept in, and the down comforters are perfect.

Room Tip: Find out how big the room is before you book it -- there is a wide variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraFairEcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your incredibly thoughtful and thorough response. I'm sorry you experienced such a difficult spritzing with our shower setup. It's certainly something we are working to fine-tune as we've noted consistent comments on customers experiences.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    220
    105
    46
    21
See reviews for
125
286
65
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Dean was a very memorable and extremely pleasant experience. Designed with implacable taste, with hardware and furniture designed by local artisans, The Dean has a very comfortable and cozy feel to balance it's sleek, minimalism and rustic industrial style. We have stayed in many of the top hotels in NYC (Standard, Wythe, King & Grove, Gramercy) and I'd say without a doubt that The Dean Hotel ranks as good (if not better) than all of these. It lacks the pretension, busyness, and inflated prices of the big city hotels, and it's sense of design was a lot more intimate and cared for. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the amenities, the adjoining restaurant (Faust), and coffee bar (Bolt Coffee) made this hotel one of the best that we have stayed at (hands down). The only criticism that we could think of came from my wife, who wished that the rooms had a hair dryer a few more toiletries (very easy to fix). I had a GREAT experience here and I wish this little boutique the very best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willbike03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the incredibly kind words and thorough review. Its wonderful to hear that all of our hard work is being appreciated! We definitely look forward to seeing you again soon and hearing your thoughts on the various improvements to follow!

P.S. - There is actually a hairdryer in a storage bin underneath your bed, along with an iron, ironing board, and directions for Laundry Services. Apologies that this wasn't brought to your attention sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Dean is 100% on point! I was put up here for work and could not have been happier. The entire staff was beyond helpful. A huge shout out to Mary at the front desk :-) She was truly amazing from the moment I arrived until the unfortunate time I had to depart. The rooms are spacious, the beds are extremely comfortable, and the in room styling is sexy. All in all, The Dean is THE place to stay in Providence. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks very much for the kind words! It's always nice to make a new friend. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Providence!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I can't image a better location for walking around Providence- almost exactly between College and Fed Hills. It's a very cool hotel, but I do agree with some reviewers who believe there is a little style over function going on. Shower heads could have been placed further in to avoid much of the water issues.

Bed was too soft for my liking, too. That said, it's a nice hotel for the price, and has a lot of extras we enjoyed. Did not miss the absence of a phone or closets. Light fixtures were very attractive and we loved the tiny old elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks very much for the review travelbug! I'm sorry the quality of the sleep wasn't to your liking but glad that the experience wasn't ruined because of it. We appreciate the feedback on some of the design aspects too. It's been a wonderful labor of love rehabbing such an old building.

Cheers,

Aarin B. Clemons
Brand & Culture Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Love this hotel!!! Logan, from the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and very minimalist styled but very comfy. No closet but who needs it? There's hangers and hooks for clothes. The bed and pillows were so comfy. Walking distance to the great restaurants, small shops and the big mall. The Faust, german-restaurant, get their fries with curry ketchup! To die for!! Must go to the Birch too...highly recommended, very pricey but worth it! Ok why did I gave it only 4 stars??? Our first night, Logan upgraded us to the King Suite at the 5th floor. Very very nice! We told them we read their article from the Architectural Digest and would love to stay there for a night. But I fell in love with the room (even though they have a bathroom issues but didnt bother me, a good reason to have clean towels everyday) so I told my boyfriend that I won't go anywhere else. So we went downstairs and tried to get another night at the same room. Logan wasn't there :( so the other guy gave us room# 307. Big mistake!!! Don't get me wrong, i love the room which got a queen size bed, the shower is much better and bigger...BUT...the noise!!!! I couldn't sleep. My boyfriend tried to turn on the TV so it won't bother me much, but it didnt work. Short story is I watched George Bush Family Album twice on Fox News because I can't sleep!!! I highly recommend this chic hotel, really, just avoid room #307, or bring an ear plug, or hope Logan is in the front desk to help you.

Room Tip: Avoid room# #307. 5th floor is the best!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marieagustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Marie,

Thanks for the review and the kind words! I'm glad that you enjoyed the first leg of your stay and sorry that we couldn't keep you in the same room when you opted to extend! I'm not quite sure where the noise came from which kept you up but I'm more than happy to make sure you don't get put in that room again as it left a sour taste.

I'm glad you enjoyed Logan's service and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Aarin B. Clemons
Brand & Culture Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had heard great things from my friends who had stayed there- they were all very right! We live in NYC but travel to RI often to visit my parents. Not only are they Pet friendly, but the rooms are simple and chic, bed is so comfy and the hotel offers a wide variety of watering holes and hang outs.. After a day at the beach we didn't even leave the hotel at night... there was no need... the boom box was such a fun atmosphere! Really reminiscent to Korea town karaoke. I will never stay anywhere else in PVD and I cannot wait to rebook for our next trip! my only regret is I didn't get a chance to eat at Faust- next time! Probably in a few weeks!

Room Tip: The Queen room is perfect for a couple and our puppy... but next time I will spend more and get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words! Our little hotel is the product of big ideas and a collaboration between ASH NYC & The Steel Yard here in Providence! So you are right on with your review title! I'm really glad you enjoyed the space and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Feel free to reach out to me directly should you need any further recommendations or choose to voice any further questions or comments!

Cheers,

Aarin B. Clemons
Brand & Culture Director
Aarin@TheDeanHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hi everyone!

I just got back from spending the weekend in Providence, Rhode Island. I was so impressed with my lodging that I had to write about my experience as soon as I could.

I read about The Dean Hotel in various periodicals and made a conscious effort to make my way to Providence.

The decor of the hotel is absolutely stunning. It's whimsical and fun. The rooms are effortlessly chic and well done.

I personally am a huge fan of rain showers and the European set up is great as well.

During my very short stay, I was able to experience Faust, the restaurant attached to the hotel. I sampled several small dishes and was happy with each of my selections. My favorite was the asparagus salad. An absolute must!

The next morning, I grabbed myself a mocha from Bolt Coffee Co. and sat underneath the neon sign to catch up on my e-mails and gather my thoughts. The coffee bar was superb and the attention to detail was excellent.

My overall opinion of this hotel is quite high and I recommend everyone to stay at this hotel if you're in the Providence area.

My tip is simple: Go to the hotel and take it all in. Relax! You won't regret your decision.

I will more than likely head back to the hotel before the summer ends.

Room Tip: You must eat at Faust. Make the time to check out this restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsettingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your enthusiasm and kind words! We've been working hard to give this city something it can really call its own and its wonderful to hear that its been well received.

Feel free to contact me directly should you have any further questions about the design, or simply want to voice any other questions or comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Aarin B. Clemons
Brand & Culture Director
Aarin@TheDeanHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Hotel Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dean Hotel

Property: The Dean Hotel
Address: 122 Fountain St, Providence, RI 02903-1847
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean is a 52-room boutique hotel housed in an c. 1912 Building that has been sensitively restored in 2014. The Dean is located in the heart of the Downcity neighborhood, directly adjacent to the Rhode Island Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, and within close walking distance to Brown, RISD, Johnson & Wales, the State Capitol and many corporations and historic sites. The Dean features a wide variety of room types, from cozy bunk beds to lush king suites, all outfitted with custom furniture and vintage finds from Europe and beyond. The Dean is host to Bolt Coffee in the lobby library, the Magdalenae Room, a European-style cocktail bar, Faust, a German beer hall and the Boombox, a karaoke den with a bar and private singing rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing